Get a glimpse of what life was like in the early days of Tasmania at the Franklin House. It was built by Britton Jones, a former convict and successful businessman. Franklin House is known for its use of imported Australian Red Cedar. It was also home to one of the colonies leading private schools from 1842 until 1866.
Knowledgeable volunteers are happy to share information, but visitors can explore the house, garden, stables and nearby St. James Church at their own pace. The on-site tearoom gets rave reviews for Devonshire tea and homemade scones.