Cathedral Museum (Dommuseum)
Salzburg’s cathedral is on the south side of the River Salzach and has Romanesque foundations, although today its appearance is exuberantly Baroque as it was rebuilt after a fire in 1598. Mozart was baptized here in 1756 and held the post of court organist from 1779, writing much of his early music to be performed in the cathedral.
The Cathedral Museum (Dommuseum) is found on the upper floors of the cathedral, and features vaulted and stuccoed galleries with patterned marble floors all lavishly decorated with stags’ heads and exquisite furniture. It is dedicated to telling the story of the cathedral’s 1,300-year history and exhibiting religious art from the 15th to 18th centuries. Treasures in the collection include cabinets of curiosities squirreled away over centuries by Salzburg’s former ruling archbishop princes, glittering gold icons and relics, the priceless 8th-century Cross of St Rupert and a gold-and-purple enamel peace dove made in the early 13th century in Limoges. The cathedral and museum may now also be visited during a tour of the newly conceived DomQuartier Salzburg, which showcases the city’s Baroque charms and includes entry into several other museums.