Recent Searches
Clear

Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua

star-4.561 Reviews
|
Antigua, Guatemala
Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Pacaya Volcano is one of the most active—and most popular—in all of Guatemala. Stationed some 8,000 feet (2,500 meters) above sea level, this destination is an ideal spot for travelers who want an easy hike, epic views, and some memorable stories. This tour allows you the comfort and ease of pre-arranged transportation to ensure you get the most out of your hike.
  • Transportation to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua
  • See one of Guatemala's most active volcanoes
  • Hike to the top with a professional local guide
  • Take in the views from the top of the volcano
Saved to wishlist!
Trail Guide (Not full English)
Hotel pickup (selected hotels only)
Collective transportation Antigua-Volcano-Antigua
Entrance fees Q50.00 per person
Food and drinks
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We can pick up in any centrally located Antigua Hotels, Air BnB and family homestays. We don't pick up in the villages around. You are purchasing a collective service, this means several people will join the tour. This means that the van will experience some delays caused by travellers that are not ready in time, or gave a wrong address. Please be Patient.
PLEASE SEND US YOUR HOTEL NAME OR HOME ADDRESS TO CONFIRM THE RESERVATION.
DUE TO COVID RESTRICTIONS, OUR VANS ARE LIMITED TO HALF THEIR CAPACITY.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 12 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum age is 8 years
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Voyageur Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Hike to Pacaya Volcano from Antigua.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Be prepared to be in a vehicle for a long time." See review
  • "The trip was well organized and a great value !Definetily worthy doing if you are up for a hike!If you are in fair shape without knee issues you should be fine" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
61 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews
star-5
Best tour!
Dajhane_G
, Aug 2021
Would highly recommend this tour! About a hour hike up and down and a hour ride from Antigua there and back. Tour guide Catalina and bus driver were really nice! I had a good time. I rode a horse her name was princess! I would do it all over again. Had to pay extra Q50 to hike and Q100 to ride the horse one way.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you very much for your comment. We love to know that our clients enjoy the tour!
star-4
Good half day trip
Marvin
, Mar 2020
Got up early to get this early morning experience but it did take 2 hours to get there. Be prepared to be in a vehicle for a long time. The hike was pretty easy and it was a really gorgeous view at the top. Got some nice marshmallows and guide was great. The ride back was also long but fantastic as we got to see Fuego Volcano and it was lively active! Overall I would say good.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great View, Challenging Hike
Jennifer_D
, Mar 2020
If you are not an avid hiker I would plan on taking a horse up the volcano. We ended up buying horses not that far in and enjoyed the rest of the trip. View from the top was amazing and we saw lots of lava flowing and spewing from Pecaya. Also I would recommend you bring a flashlight if you are doing the tour at night and something to cover your face with while you walk down. The path is very dusty in dry season and it was hard to avoid breathing it in.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
I lava’d it!
Kell
, Feb 2020
Transport picked us up on time outside of our hotel. The ride to Pacaya Volcano was smooth. The guides were informative and kind. And the views of the volcano incredible! Make sure to take some snacks, water, and warm layers as it gets chilly at the top. Suggestion for tour operators: Perhaps it would be easier to set up a central pick up location? It seemed we went in circles in central Antigua to pick everyone up.
star-5
A wounderfull hike
jpascott
, Feb 2020
The trip was well organized and a great value !Definetily worthy doing if you are up for a hike!If you are in fair shape without knee issues you should be fine
star-3
Good workers, terrible hike
tjbatts1989
, Jan 2020
Our transportation was late picking us up, however once we were on board, things went smoothly. The drivers were pleasant and our guide was great. He was knowledgeable and attentive. The hike itself was terrible. If you are not in good shape I wouldn't suggest it.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi Tjbatts., sorry you had a tough time with the hike. Regarding the pickup,... when the service is a collective transportation, it involves several people to be picked up, and that means several minutes to pick up ecerybody. And then you have some people that are not considerate, and take to long to leave their hotel. For this we are sorry, but that is the nature of collective services.
star-5
Excellent hike with excellent guide!
246marieevep
, Dec 2019
I have enjoyed this tour: amazing landscapes of beautiful Guatemala and the guide was super knowledgeable! I recommend!!
star-5
Must see
Jennifer A
, Oct 2019
The best tour ever! The driver was the nicest man I’ve ever met. The tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. Well worth the money!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
The volcano is beautiful
svsiella
, Sep 2019
As other reviews have noted, they really push the horses on you by going quite quickly in the beginning and the park-provided guide also will target those that look fat or unfit saying "take a horse, it is easier" even if you are not slowing the group. However, this does not reflect on the tour operator: the shuttle was very nice, the driver was an expert and did not take risks, was on time, very courteous. The volcano was erupting, with billows of smoke and steam and chunks of molten lava. Very very cool; we were lucky. No live lava trails can be seen during daylight (there are overnight trips here) so don't expect that. I recommend signing up for Pacaya via this website.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you Svsiella!! We are very happy to hear from you!!
star-4
Amazing volcano, ok tour
Greg D
, Sep 2019
Firstly, Volcan Pacaya is amazing. The hike was nice, the views were beautiful. We got to see flowing red lava and even poke it with a stick. If you are in decent shape this hike will be brisk but easy. The biggest. challenges are the sand which makes walking hard and dodging all the horse manure. The logistics are where this tour loses it. First, they were 30 mins late, then they made us switch buses and with construction traffic the drive took 2+ hours to get there. Second, we were in a group of all native spanish speakers and our guide did not even try speaking English to us (though I booked an English guide). Then the drive home took 3.5 hours in traffic in a bus with no AC. Some much for a half-day tour.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thank you Greg for your comments. We are taking notice of your suggestions, to try to improve our service!

Explore Similar Things to Do