Recent Searches
Clear

Acropolis Walking Tour, Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Center

star-4.5332 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Athens, Greece
Acropolis Walking Tour, Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Center

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Delve into the history of ancient Greece on this Athens walking tour. With an expert guide, stroll around the historic heart of Athens to see Syntagma Square, the Parliament Building, and the ancient ruins tucked around the slopes of the stunning, UNESCO-listed Acropolis. Check out fascinating archaeological exhibits in Syntagma Square and admire awesome views of the Parthenon as you view the Theater of Dionysus, Odeon of Herodes Atticus and other sights. With revealing commentary from your guide throughout, this walking tour of Athens will delight history buffs. Please note admission to the Acropolis is at your own expense.
  • Guided walking tour around the ancient Acropolis of Athens
  • See archaeological exhibits in and around Syntagma Station
  • Get to know Athens while exploring Syntagma Square and and other important attractions
  • Enjoy spectacular views from the Parthenon at the top of Athens' acropolis
  • Learn about each of the monuments from a professional local guide

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour adds context to your Athens experience with a local guide providing commentary.
Saved to wishlist!
Local licensed guide
Skip-the-line service
Athens guide magazine
Athens map
Entrance fees to the sites visited payable in cash on the day of the tour
Gratuities (gratuity rates in Greece are around 10% of service cost)
Hotel pick-up and drop-off
Food and drinks
Syntagma , Athens 105 57, Greece

MEETING TIME:15min prior to departure time DURATION: 3h&30min MEETING POINT:INSIDE Syntagma metro station Our staff, holding an orange Athens Walking Tours sign, will be inside Syntagma Metro Station, at the big hall, next to the ticket validating machines. Please be there 15 min prior to the start

Acropolis of Athens , Athens 105 58, Greece

The tour will and at the top of the Acropolis Hill were you can take your time taking pictures.

Begin your Athens walking tour at Syntagma Metro Station in central Athens. Greet your guide and head inside the station museum to explore what’s on show.

View the impressive exhibits, discovered during building work on the station. See the most prized items including tombstones, remnants of a 5th-century aqueduct, pottery, and even a 2,000-year-old beehive.

Afterward, walk with your guide to the nearby Greek Parliament Building on Syntagma Square. Snap photos of the handsome building as you hear about its past as a royal palace.

Then, delve further into historical Athens. Walk along the charming streets and admire the elegant architecture and sites such as the Zeus Temple.

Continue along traffic-free Dionysiou Areopagitou Street around the Acropolis’ slopes. As you walk, absorb the breathtaking views of the Acropolis and Parthenon, and pass the ancient Theater of Dionysus and sites such as Philopappou Hill, the Odeon of Herodes Atticus, and Mars Hill.

Your tour ends at the Acropolis summit. Before leaving, you may wish to ask your guide for further tips for sightseeing in the city.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Syntagma Station
Syntagma Metro Station Museum
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Hellenic Parliament
Watch the Change of the Guards
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Change of Guards
Watch the Change of the Guards
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier
Pass By:  
National Garden
Walk through the National Gardens
Pass By:  
Zappeion Conference & Exhibition Center
Zappeion Hall
Stop At:  
Temple of Olympian Zeus
Get a guided tour inside the Temple of Zeus
Duration: 25 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Acropolis
Get an 1.5 hour comprehensive guided tour inside the Acropolis and all its famous monuments
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Theater of Dionysus
Dionysus Theater
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Herod Atticus Odeon
Herodeion
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Propylaea
Propylaea
Pass By:  
Temple of Athena Nike
Nike Temple
Stop At:  
Parthenon
Parthenon
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please note that the tour itinerary may be subject to change
  • IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT BABY STROLLERS: Please have in mind that baby strollers are not allowed on the Acropolis, archaeological site and that there is no cloakroom at the side entrance we use to enter. For your own convenience, it is recommended to use a baby pouch instead of a baby stroller.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Small group tour: Max. 18 participants per group
  • Please make sure you have cash (euros). If you are entitled to reduced entrance fees, please hold a valid ID or Passport for verification of age and nationality to purchase the tickets. We buy the tickets for you in advance, in order to avoid lining up.
  • Tickets Cost covering the Acropolis with all its monuments (Parthenon, Erechtheion, Nike Temple, Propylaia) and also Dionysus theater and the Temple of Zeus:
  • April 1st to October 31st
  • Adults 25+: 28 euros
  • Citizens from non-EU countries between 6-24: 14 euros
  • European citizens 65+ : 14 euros
  • European citizens under 25 years of age are entitled to free entrance to all sites visited during the tour
  • All children 5 years of age and under are entitled to free entrance to all sites visited during the tour
  • November 01 to March 31
  • Adults 25+: 14 euros
  • Citizens from non-EU countries between 6-24: 14 euros
  • European citizens 65+ : 14 euros
  • European citizens under 25 years of age are entitled to free entrance to all sites visited during the tour
  • All children 5 years of age and under are entitled to free entrance to all sites visited during the tour
  • Comfortable walking shoes, sun-screen and a hat are recommended
  • Dress according to weather
  • Bring a bottle of water
  • The Covid19 Measures set by the Greek Government frequently change. Thus, it is advisable to check local restrictions applicable to indoor and outdoor activities.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 18 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Athens Walking Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Acropolis Walking Tour, Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Center?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Acropolis Walking Tour, Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Center.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Acropolis Walking Tour, Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Center?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Acropolis Walking Tour, Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Center.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Acropolis Walking Tour, Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Center?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Acropolis Walking Tour, Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Center.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The tour covers the essentials and really worth the time and the price." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
332 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 332 reviews
star-4
Good tour - long morning
Megan_C
, Jun 2022
The tour hit everything it promised to see in the description. Our guide was very detailed, and she knew a lot. It was very hot day so by the time we got to the Acropolis, the entire group was exhausted. It is a very long morning especially in the heat. If you want a very detailed tour - this one is for you. For us, it wasn’t our cup of tea. We would have liked a more concise tour so that we remembered a bit more. The Temple of Zeus really isn’t worth the money especially when you can see everything you need to from outside the fence. The Acropolis is also the last stop of the tour so if you are doing this in the heat of summer know that you will be climbing up to the Acropolis at the peak of the day for heat (noonish). Overall, it was a good tour but in the end it just wasn’t for us. This was nothing against the guide or the company.
star-3
Athens walking tour
flgrad
, Jun 2022
The sites Parliment, Natl. garden, Acropolis, Parthenon were amazing. Our guide was very enthusiastic but unfortunately we all could not understand her very well.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear guest, we are happy you liked the sites you visited! Of course, we are also very sorry for your poor guide experience! Usually this is hardly the case; we are being praised about the excellent English our guides speak. Our quality assurance department will look into the matter right away! We would really appreciate it if you could provide us with more details by email or sms. Thank you once again for your feedback!
star-5
Great introduction to sites of ancient Athens
Ian_W
, Jun 2022
Guide’s very well informed narrative bringing the sites to life. A very good introduction to the sites included in the itinerary.
star-4
Very Nice Guide
Lindsay_K
, Jun 2022
Was a very nice tour. I persoanlly wish there was more time up at the Acropolis and there was more Greek mythology. But our guide was extremely knowledgeable, would stop in the shade and made the ascent to the top seem like nothing.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We are really glad you enjoyed your experience. You selected a comprehensive tour of the Athenian historical centre, including both the contemporary and the ancient parts of the city, with time properly divided among the different places of interest. Of course, we do have purely mythological tours, as well as private tours available where our guests can choose the preferred amount of time they wish to spend on each site. Thanks for sharing your positive review; it means a lot to us! Have a great day, and hope to see you again in Athens!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Greek Gods and Athens Life
William_C
, May 2022
Great experience with Magda as our guide, with tales of Greek mythology right up until the present day and Athens’ history and urban life.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Very glad you enjoyed your experience, dear William! Thank you for your warm review! Hope to see you joining us again soon!
star-2
Poor experience
kerrypeluso
, May 2022
The tour guide was an archeologist but definitely not a skilled storyteller. Shared facts without any enthusiasm. Was difficult to hear on the audio -particularly while walking. We have went on tours all over Europe -Italy, France, Spain.... First time that my husband ever complained during a tour. She was very rude when he explained that we couldn't hear well but then tried to stop walking before speaking so we could hear better. First time, that we ever stopped a tour early -- There was five us. It was a strain to listen and the information was presented in a flat, factual way. The presenter seemed irritated that she had to do the tour. --I plan the activities and everyone wants to cancel other Greece tours after this experience.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Kerry, we are sorry you had this frustrating experience and thank you for sharing it. We have to say we are surprised by your comments, as Ioanna, your tour guide, is an especially experienced professional, and a genuinely kind, caring and particularly respectful individual who absolutely adores her job and constantly receives praises and 5-star reviews. In fact, many guests from your group wrote enthusiastic reviews about this specific tour. Of course, we will be addressing this feedback with the team so we can learn from it and do better in the future! We again apologize for any inconvenience this caused you, your husband and your company. We hope you will rethink cancelling your activities, as unfortunate incidents do happen and sometimes they are the result of mere human miscommunication and misunderstanding. Have a great day!
star-4
Great Tour (very uneven walking)
Sara_R
, May 2022
This was a great tour for only 3.5 hours. Our guide Hermes was very knowledgeable. Since I have a bad ankle it was hard for me since the ground is so uneven (all over Greece). I ended up forfeiting the Acropolis given my personal limitations.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for your feedback, dear Sara. We are glad you got to enjoy most of the tour. We hope that next time you'll be able to climb Athens' sacred hill too. We use the south slope entrance which is much more even compared to the other entrances. You can always choose a private tour option in which we will fully adjust the itinerary to your needs, accommodate more stops, and help you in any way we can. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Acropolis is waiting for you. Get well soon!
star-3
Go another route…not accurate price and inexperienced guide
Abby_M
, Apr 2022
Our tour guide seemed very anxious and new. She was unable to answer questions by other travelers, repeatedly said her boss was yelling at her and that it was the worst day ever. The tour was advertised as $45/person but it was actually $75/person. When we showed up we were told an additional $30 would need to be paid in cash. When we stopped half way to get our headsets, it was pretty disorganized and we witnessed the yelling our guide had mentioned by her boss. We would not recommend.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Abby! First of all we are grateful for your honest feedback. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Usually we receive 5-star reviews about how our tour guides' professionalism, and how they go above and beyond to ensure a perfect experience for our guests. Rest assured that we are taking all necessary measures to address this issue immediately. Regarding the inaccurate price advertisement you mention, it is explicitly stated in each tour option, as well as in the confirmation letter you receive after booking, whether or not entrance fees are included in the tour price. It is possible that you may have glossed over this part when you booked the tour. Last but not least, we do have all-inclusive tour options available where you can pay all entrance fees upfront. The reason we have both options available is because in some cases there are visitors who are entitled to free admission, or they have already purchased online their tickets before booking the tour. In any case, we offer to all guests a free-of-charge skip-the-line service, in other words we purchase the tickets for you beforehand so that you don't have to wait in long queues. This complimentary service gives you immediate access to the sites listed on the tour. Once again, we want to thank you for sharing your valuable comments. We hope you will give us one more chance to prove to you why we have such a high review rate! Should you want to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us! Have a great day!
star-5
Highly recommended
Rachel_L
, Apr 2022
Great trip, Hermes, our guide, was very knowledgeable and interesting. Got to see some of the best antiquities in Athens finishing with Acropolis
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Rachel! We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us — and we agree, Hermes is truly a gem to have on our team! We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Until then, stay safe and have a fabulous day!
star-4
Great, but a little long.
Katie_A
, Mar 2022
The only reason it doesn’t get 5 stars is because it ran a bit long and we were exhausted and starving. The information was great, maybe a bit too long.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Katie, thank you for feedback! It is always good to know how we can improve. The tour details including the duration, are explicitly mentioned on our webpage and in the comfirmation letter you receive, once you book the tour. Moreover, our guides make regular stops during the tour and make constantly sure that all guests' needs are well taken care of. Last but not least, we are committed to providing a diverse selection of tours, and that is why our tour range is quite wide, and includes many private and semi-private options. We strive hard to make every guest experience enjoyable and we hope that next time, you'll stay 100% satisfied! Until then, stay safe and keep traveling!
star-5
Great tour
Philipp_P
, Oct 2021
The guide was lovely and passionate about the subjects discussed. The tour is comprehensive to review the most interesting places in Athens.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Kimon is the best.
Bruce_P
, Sep 2021
We were lucky to have KIMON as our guide. He is terrific, very knowledgeable about the area. We had great time with fun and laughter. Highly recommend this.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Bruce, we love your warmth and enthusiasm, it is what keeps us going! Thank you so much for this uplifting review, Kimon will be glad to read your comments. He is indeed a very well-educated and devoted professional, as are all our guides. We hope to see you back in Athens soon, for even more knowledge, fun, and laughter!
star-5
Absolutely perfect.
Jane_B
, Sep 2021
Our guide Sissy was fabulous. So knowledgeable and humorous. She made the whole experience so great. Our favorite part was the Acropolis and the rock where the Apostle Paul preached.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Jane, we cannot thank you enough for your kind review. It is so rewarding reading such comments from our satisfied guests. Sissy is indeed amazing, as are all our exceptional guides. We will be very happy to welcome you again to our beautiful city for another interesting and fun experience! Keep traveling!
star-3
Ok but a bit less irony would be welcome
Michael_M
, Jul 2021
The Ebzon changing of the guards was very interesting. The walk up to the Acropolis was also impressive. Guide was just a bit too ironic with respect to the Greek economic situation to be funny.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Michael, we are very glad you enjoyed the changing of the guards at Syntagma Square, and of course, your visit to the Acropolis. However, we greatly regret the fact that you found your guide to be ironic with respect to specific comments on the Greek economy, and we do apologize if we made you feel uncomfortable or uneasy in any way. May we simply state, just for the record that our guides are selected carefully in order to represent the company and they are all remarkable professionals, cultivated and very well-educated. They never mean to be impolite, let alone offensive to guests, because that would be against their professional ethics since their job is to be the best possible ambassadors of their country to foreign visitors. However, we have to accept that sometimes people cannot communicate effectively what they mean to say. Especially when people from different cultures meet, it is easy for a benevolent comment to be misinterpreted or misunderstood. Language, sometimes, instead of a communication tool it can easily become a misunderstanding instrument. We do want to thank you for your valuable feedback and rest assured that we will look into the matter very thoroughly and take corrective action, if necessary. We would therefore appreciate more information from you regarding the specific incident with as many details as possible. Thank you once again, and we hope that next time we welcome you to Athens to be able to provide a most engageable, all-fun activity!
star-5
Athens and a good guide: a combination for a perfect tour.
Liviu_D
, Jul 2021
Amazing views, monuments and history. Plus a very professional, knowledgeable and friendly guide. Thank you, Kimon!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We are always happy reading that when our tours finish leave behind only satisfied guests with beautiful memories. We are very glad that you enjoyed both the tour and your assigned tour guide. Thank you so much, for sharing your pleasant experience, and we count on seeing you back to Athens soon. After all, we have many more fun and informative tours for you to explore!
star-5
Highly recommend
Susanne_S
, Jun 2021
Our guide Artemis was wonderful! We loved all the Greek history lessons and stories behind what we were seeing on our tour! Highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We very much appreciate your positive feedback and thank you for helping to spread the word about our Acropolis tours. Maybe next time you can try our iconic food tour or even our famous cooking lessons! We do hope to welcome you again very soon!
star-5
Great tour
Jackie_L
, Jun 2021
Tour leader was very knowledgeable and answers questions readily. She was considerate of her followers. She made an effort for all of us to stand in the shade while she was explaining or giving us background and history.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We are delighted you had a good time; reviews like yours make our day. Our guides, apart from licensed and knowledgeable, are also thoughtful and caring, and go out of their way to make everyone feel comfortable and really enjoy the whole experience. We hope to see you again in one of our tours! Until then, be well!
star-5
Great way to explore all monuments around the Acropolis
Amish_G
, Mar 2020
Our guide Kimon was very informative. He kept the tour light with witty remarks and conversations. Would highly recommend it!
star-5
Athens
Michael_R
, Feb 2020
Our guide Marilena was charming, knowledgeable and very personable. Gave great history/details of sites and answered our questions. Allowed us ample time to explore. Enjoyed experiencing Athens on foot.
star-5
Acropolis in February
Amrik_M
, Feb 2020
Excellent tour and guide and comprehensive itinerary from Syntagma Square to Acropolis and concludes with the museum.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Acropolis Walking Tour, Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Center
Acropolis Walking Tour, Including Syntagma Square and Historical City Center

star-4.5332

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$47.82

star-5265

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$64.82

star-5133

7 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$34.00

star-428

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$41.44

star-4.5115

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$82.88

star-4.5473

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$34.00

star-559

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$96.70

star-00

35 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$28.73

star-557

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.38
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations