Recent Searches
Clear

Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour

|
Athina, Greece
Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Watch one of the most majestic sunsets in Greece with a half-day twilight tour to Cape Sounion. Travel along the Saronic Gulf and Athens Riviera to the cape, which sits atop a sheer sea cliff and was a sacred site in the ancient world. Tour the Temple of Poseidon, dedicated to the mythological god of the sea, and see the sun dips below the horizon and several islands in the distance.
  • Sunset tour to beautiful Cape Sounion from Athens
  • Take in stunning views of the Athens Riviera and Saronic Gulf along the way
  • Visit the ancient Temple of Poseidon perched high atop a dramatic sea cliff
  • See up to seven different islands from the viewpoint on a clear day
  • Watch the sun dips in the Aegean sea
  • Free hotel pickup and drop-off included
Saved to wishlist!
Transport by luxury air conditioned bus
Professional and licenced guide
Hotel pick-up and drop-off (selected hotels)
Entrance fees
Gratuities (optional)
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Athanasiou Diakou 26 , Athanasiou Diakou 26, Athina 117 43, Greece

Our office is located 3 min walk from Acropolis metro station, beside Royal Olympic hotel. We offer free pick up service from selected Athens centrally located hotels. Please call +302109233166 at least 24 hours before your travel date in order to confirm your pick up time.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.Complimentary pick up/drop off service from/to Athens centrally located hotels.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Departure time of the tour depends from sunset time and is as following:  1-18 May at 17:45, 21 May-8 Jun at 18:00, 11 Jun-21 Jul at 18:15, 23 Jul-17 Aug at 17:45, 20 Aug-7 Sep at 17:15, 10 Sep-21 Sep at 17:00, 24 Sep-30 Sep at 16.45.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 42 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Keytours - Greece
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It is a long way on the bus out to the Cape." See review
  • "It had rained all day the day of our tour and we were worried that the weather was going to spoil our trip." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
57 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 57 reviews
star-5
Gorgeous views!
Brijend_S
, Jun 2022
The sunset along the coast was gorgeous, with the temple in the backdrop. I thought it was very worth it. The commute from Athens is very long and you are essentially paying for the view and pictures.
star-1
Terrible experience
Gideon_M
, Jun 2022
Unfortunately has a bad experience. Advert says it's hotel pick up but it’s not. They message you after you book saying you have to be in a certain location. By the time we read the message on the site and got to the location we were 15 mins late. The bus has already left and they refuse to give us refund. Absolutely terrible business policy. I cannot possibly recommend this to anyone
star-4
Beautiful Site. Perfect...
evamichener
, Jun 2022
Beautiful Site. Perfect timing 🌄 My only complaint is the temperature on the bus was extremely cold.
star-5
Surreal Sunset
Daniel_B
, Jun 2022
Pictures don’t do this justice! It’s a nearly 2 hour bus ride to Cape Sounion, but the tour guide provides history and information the entire ride! You learn so much about different areas of Athens during your drive that you probably wouldn’t have learned otherwise. Once you arrive, get ready for breathtaking views! It’s a beautiful evening, truly. The temple is unique and stunning … then there’s the sunset. A sunset you’ll never forget! It’s also so much cooler on the cape (you can understand why the Gods loved it so much). Couldn’t recommend this more. Only wish there was more time for dinner at the nice restaurant.
star-4
Sunset at Souion
koula62
, May 2022
Very informative guide , enough time to take as many photos as you want. The only thing as the office didn’t acknowledge my hotel, I had many emails telling me to go to different hotels for pickup (way to far away) and different pickup times. Staff member at my hotel cleared up for
star-4
The scenic drive was...
Sandhya_R
, Dec 2021
The scenic drive was lovely.The sunset and Temple of Poseidon were spectacular. The drive was too long each way and it would been nice if they had stopped at some scenic overlook points along the way.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback about our Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half-Day Tour. We feel happy you enjoyed your time with us and please be sure that we always take our guests' comments into serious consideration as we continuously try to improve our tours. Best Regards, Marianna Papakosta
star-1
Total disappointment
Shelly_B
, Oct 2021
Key Tours left us waiting for an hour to be picked up, then we spent another hour picking up more people. After 3 hours we arrived 5 minutes before closing and sunset. The headsets also did not work, so we didn’t have any explanation of what we were looking at until the ride home. The location is only 1 hour from Athens, yet we spent the whole day riding around instead of visiting the site.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback about our Temple of Poseidon tour. We feel sorry we didn't meet your expectations during your tour with us. Please note that during that day, many main roads in the city centre were closed by the police and that's the reason for the delay. Please accept our apologies and we hope to have the chance to rectify this in the future. We remain at your disposal for anything else you may need. Best Regards, Marianna Papakosta
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A great trip! The sunset...
Fangbiao_L
, Sep 2021
A great trip! The sunset is spectacular and really enjoy it. The guide is very friendly and helpful.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour. We are happy we met your expectations and we hope to see you soon on one of our future tours. Best Regards, Marianna Papakosta
star-4
beautiful sunset on the temple site
philip_n
, Jul 2021
The tour was good and the drive to the location was fantastic. Recommend this tour for the tour of the site and overall experience.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for sending us your feedback regarding the Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour. We are happy we met your expectations and made your time worth it. Hope to see you soon on one of our future tours. Best Regards, Marianna Papakosta
star-2
Paulie's travel
Pauliestravel
, Oct 2019
Long drive to see very little. Site is great but with some poor organisation we only got to spend very little time there. Tickets were not pre-purchased which was a surprise. If you have limited time in Athens don't waste time doing this trip.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback about our Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half-Day Tour. Although we receive excellent reviews for this tour, your opinion is respected. We will take your comments into serious consideration as we continuously try to improve our tours. Best Regards, Marianna Papakosta
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fabulous time visiting Cape Sounion
jdb42470
, Oct 2019
We had an absolute great day traveling down to Cape Sounion. It had rained all day the day of our tour and we were worried that the weather was going to spoil our trip. However right as we arrived at the Temple of Apollo the clouds parted and the sun came out. We were able to get some really fantastic sunset photos with the temple behind us. If your going to be in Athens, definitely do this tour/excursion, it will be something you remember for the rest of your life!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your precious time to leave us your review of our Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half-Day Tour. We are happy to hear that you found your recent tour with Key Tours exciting and well organized. Hope to see you soon in one of our future tours. Always at your disposal, Marianna Papakosta
star-4
Sunset
Paul H
, Sep 2019
It is a long way on the bus out to the Cape. That being said I would still recommend this tour. Lots of beautiful scenery on the way out . Our guide was very informative. The bus was comfortable. We didn’t have to walk far to find a viewing spot . The wine at the end was a nice touch .
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Sunset at Cape Sounion
jwheless
, Sep 2019
This was a great tour, on the way there Demetrious did a great job of explaining the historical significance of the cape and what we would see. He is great! The drive was beautiful. Would highly recommend and is a nice short trip out of the city.
star-5
Stunning Views
mtyone
, Sep 2019
Stunning views. A must see when in Athens. Guide was very informative. Great views of the coastline the entire ride.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Trip
Eduardo_B
, Aug 2019
Great trip, worth every penny . The tour guide was excellent, helpful knowledgeable, and most important, very attentive to all our needs.
star-3
Good tour
Satyabrata M
, Aug 2019
The journey through the coastal route was the highlight of the tour. The guide was boring and her English was horrible. Sunset views were great.
star-5
Sensational sunset
Trip42501278516
, May 2019
Lovely tour and a sunset not to be missed. Great value and well organised. An essential experience when visiting Athens
star-5
Our tour guide, Anastasia, was very...
Riki L
, Aug 2018
Our tour guide, Anastasia, was very knowledgeable. She gave us a lot of information on the long bus ride. The cape at sunset was stunning!
star-3
This was a good tour to see some of...
Brett_A
, Oct 2017
This was a good tour to see some of the coastline south of Athens and to see and spend some time at Sounion. The bus was comfortable and the guide was quite knowledgeable and was willing to answer any questions the group had. Be aware that this was NOT a sunset tour and there was no wine included in the tour. we arrived back in Athens at around 6pm and sunset was a 7pm. I would still recommend the tour for the site but the title of the tour was misleading.
star-3
Beautiful sunset and then a choice...
Amy F
, Sep 2017
Beautiful sunset and then a choice of white or red wine at the end. Not sparkling wine while watching the sunset. Wine was after and not very tasty tasted like vinegar.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour
Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour

star-457

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.25

star-4.5464

2 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$57.95

star-559

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$166.35

star-4470

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$54.73

star-53

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$147.06

star-4.57

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$53.66

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$147.06

star-437

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.52
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations