Recent Searches
Clear

Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach

star-4.5221 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Belfast, United Kingdom
Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Visit the UNESCO World Heritage-listed Giant's Causeway on this full-day tour from Belfast. Traveling on a coach with extra leg room and a maximum of just 19 passengers, you can admire the scenic landscapes and see sites such as Dunluce Castle, the Dark Hedges, Bushmills Whiskey Distillery, and Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge. Any entrance fees are at your own expense.
  • Full-day tour from Belfast to the Giant's Causeway
  • Have plenty of time at the World Heritage Site to take photos and walk around
  • Stop by other attractions like Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge and Dunluce Castle
  • Enjoy traveling on a smaller-group coach for more leg room and less people to wait on at each stop
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Local guide
Coach transportation
Free access to the Giants Causeway
Gratuities
Lunch
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Charge to cross the Rope Bridge (optional)
Jurys Inn Belfast , Great Victoria St, Belfast BT1 6DY, UK

Tour will depart at 9.00am sharp Check in 10 mins before departure BT1 6DY

9:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Your day trip starts at a central meeting location in Belfast, where you board your small-group coach for the drive to the Giant's Causeway in County Antrim.

Follow the scenic Causeway Coast, visiting the Dark Hedges and Bushmills Whiskey Distillery before stopping by Dunluce Castle for photo ops. When you arrive at the Giant's Causeway, enjoy free time to explore the area of basalt columns—an interesting natural wonder.

Continue your tour to the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge and Larrybane Quarry, and then travel along the Antrim Coast Road and make a brief stop in Carnlough. Your tour ends with return to Belfast for drop-off.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Giant's Causeway
We visit the Giants Causeway were you will have the opportunity to learn the Myths and Legend of Finn McCool and walk in the footsteps of Giants while admiring this quite unique World heritage site access to the Causeway is free of change
Duration: 1 hour 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Bushmills Distillery
Our stop at Bushmills Distillery the oldest licensed Distillery in the world will allow enough time to visit the gift shop and Whiskey tasting (optional) Open Monday to Friday.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Dunluce Castle
We stop at a vantage point were you will have the chance to get photographs of the castle and surrounding area which has some of the most beautiful scenery in Ireland.
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Glens of Antrim
On your return journey you will be able to sit back and relax as we drive through the beautiful Nine Glens of Antrim and pass through many quaint little towns and villages in this area of outstanding Natural Beauty
Stop At:  
Causeway Coastal Route
We will return to Belfast via the Coast road which is said to be one of the most scenic drives in Europe.We will stop for a comfort break in the small fishing village of Carnlough for 15 mins which is also a Game of Thrones Location. In Season 6 of Game of Thrones, journey to the medieval fantasy world set in the ancient lands. As the lords and ladies battle for the Iron Throne, the drama returns to Braavos, the fictional village filmed at Carnlough Harbor in the Glens of Antrim. Situated on the picturesque shores of Carnlough Bay, the area has remained untouched by the passage of time, making it a perfect backdrop to the Seven Kingdoms.
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
The Dark Hedges
Your first stop of the day will be at the Dark Hedges. This beautiful tree lined avenue has been a tourist attraction for many years and is a film location for the H.B.O Series the Game of Thrones were it was know as the Kings Road on the series. Season 2, episode 1: On the King' s Road, Arya Stark has escaped from King’s Landing, disguised as a boy. She is with Yoren, Gendry, Hot Pie and others who are to join the Night’s Watch, in a cart, travelling north on the King’s Road. The Dark Hedges have been included in a list of the 12 best road trips in the UK and Ireland.
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Portaneevy View Point
We will visit Portaneevy view point with its fantastic views of Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge and Rathlin island
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Due to uneven surfaces, crossing the Rope Bridge is not recommended for those with walking disabilities or using a wheelchair
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 28 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Odyssey Coach Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
221 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 221 reviews
star-5
Excellent trip
Paula_F
, Aug 2022
The harbour stop really step up the trip well. Driver explanations and the variation of stops great.
star-5
Best day trip out if Belfast
Erin_B
, Aug 2022
Our driver was very personable with good stories but also quiet so we could enjoy the drive and chat amongst ourselves. The venues were spectacular but even with 7 hours not long enough to enjoy everything the Antrim coast has to offer
star-5
A Great Tour
Denise_C
, Aug 2022
Our tour guide, Paul, was charming, interesting, knowledgeable, and funny. I wonder how many times he kisses the Blarney Stone! A fantastic tour, but we would have loved more time at the Giant’s Causeway. Highly recommended.
star-5
The trip was convenient...
Lesleyanne_H
, Aug 2022
The trip was convenient and went to the places we wanted, although we would have preferred an actual stop at Dunluce ruins for walking around the site and not just pictures. 2 hours at Giants Causeway was exactly the right amount of time. Paul was a great driver and host!
star-1
The driver is rude
Arantxa_Z
, Aug 2022
We stopped at (somewhere in the route were we could see far away) Dunluce Castle and the driver said we had 10 minutes. After 6 minutes I see the doors closing, start running and knock the door when the bus was already moving. The driver ask me “where were you?” And I replied very offended and he said “I thought you were on the bus”, I replied and then he yielded to me “I thoguht you were on the bus”. Not even an apologise; he almost left me alone in the middle on nowhere without signal!!! The stop was supposed to be at Dunluce castle and for 15 minutes, but instead he stopped at the middle of the route, so we “saw it”. He really doesn’t like his job. I understand that punctuality is important, but two people arrived to the meeting point at 8:58 and, once more, he was already moving the bus!! Knowing that two people were missing and we were still 2 minutes before the arranged time! It is very difficult to enjoy the stops this way, he only cares about moving fast. Also, he has a very strong accent and even though he knows some people struggles to understand him, he just doesn’t care. He speaks very vaguely.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you for your review Firstly we would like to apologise for the drivers local accent. We do have many nationalities on our tours and we try our very best to speak slowly and clearly as this is the first complaint about our local accents we will try and speak slower and change our accents within reason. On our departure every morning the driver will wait from the 8.45am check in time and board the bus a few minutes before departure time of 9.00am and make their introductions this usually takes us up to the 9.00am departure time (the bus never moves before 9.00am under any circumstances). We have a Tachograph on the bus which records when the bus is moving and that shows the bus did not move until 9.01am We departed that morning at 9.01am and arrived at Carnlough before any other bus which meant no queues at the toilets or the food store. Because we left Carnlough on time we arrived at Portaneevy view point with only one other tour bus ahead of us, giving everyone on the tour a clear view of the rope bridge and the islands off the coast. We arrived at the Giants Causeway ahead of all the other buses and beat the queues for the toilets and avoided all the crowds of people. We also made an extra stop at White park bay which is not on the itinerary. At Dunluce castle we make a photo stop at the same place every other tour bus stops which gives everyone the best views of the castle. We do not advertise a visit to the castle as you have stated. Our driver did board the bus at Dunluce without making a head count and as he closed the door the other passengers informed him there was one person missing and at that point you banged the door. The driver speaks over a microphone and told you he thought you were on the bus and as there was no one in sight ask you were you went. Our driver will be spoken to about his failure to take a head count at every stop. We do take on board your genuine complaint about the drivers failure to take a head count at Dunluce. Regards
star-5
Fantastic trip!
Stuart_B
, Jul 2022
Fantastic day out, Jim made sure we stayed ahead of the bigger tour busses and was overall an excellent driver/guide. The stops were frequent and we spent the perfect amount of time at each spot (although we couldve sat at the Bushmills distillery all day and I wouldn't have complained!), we had a great time and would heartily recommend it to anyone wanting to see the gorgeous and interesting places near Belfast!
star-5
A relaxing day in wonderful scenery.
MARTYN_T
, Jul 2022
I enjoyed the scheduled stops but also the countryside and the witty commentary from the driver Paul.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Very nice day trip - Rope Bridge closed for tour busses
Jolanda_V
, Jul 2022
It was a very nice day and you see a lot. The drive is beautiful. You have about 2 hours at the Giant Steps. You can walk down and up or in case of less mobility there is a shuttle bus for 1 euro. The dark hedges was very interesting (even if you are not a Game of Thrones fan). Was disappointed that the Rope Bridge was closed for bus tour groups. At the time I booked this tour it was not clearly mentioned. Now it states that due to operational issues some sites might be closed, referring to the rope bridge. You do get a photo stop at the bridge.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hello Jolanda Thank you for your review As we are sure you can appreciate we are coming out of a worldwide pandemic and things will take time to get back to normal. The rope bridge may have been mentioned when you booked the tour and as soon as we were notified by the National Trust we put the information on the website. Sorry it took away from your enjoyment of the tour but this matter is completely out of our control. Regards
star-5
A wonderful time!! I...
Rachel_B
, Jul 2022
A wonderful time!! I loved the experience. Joe was a great story teller and driver. I definitely recommend this tour.
star-3
Coastal Tour minus so advertised spots
Helen_B
, Jun 2022
The tour guide Jim was informative however it was very disappointing that the advertised Bushmills tour is actually closed at the weekends had we of known that we would of booked another day. Also the bridge was closed for use but at least we had a good view point of it.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your review. Bushmills distillery is open Mon-Friday and this is clearly stated on our website. The bridge is closed to all tour buses from every tour company and this is clearly stated on our website. Sorry you missed these when booking. We are sorry we are going to have to award you a 1 star for observation. Regards
star-5
A GRAND EXPERIENCE!
Diane_S
, Jun 2022
The coach was very comfortable while traveling through the Glens of Antrim north to the Giants Causeway,, Bushmills, the Dark Hedges, plus other places. The scenery was non-stop with the guides stories and tales about the history of the locations. Being in a smaller group than a full sized bus was an added and safe treat indeed! Highly recommend the experience.
star-5
Great way to see the northern coast of Ireland!
Elizabeth_C
, May 2022
Our Driver James was very knowledgeable of the area. A great driver. It was a nice sized bus, not too many people. Such beautiful colored water and rugged scenery.
star-4
Great Day Trip If Sunny Weather
Grant_R
, May 2022
Giant's Causeway is beautiful. Unfortunately, you cannot choose the weather, so try to do this tour on a sunny day, else your experience is somewhat limited. Our tour guide was excellent. The only bad thing was when the bus broke down and we had to wait for an hour on the freeway for another one to come and pick us up.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Grant Thank you for your review Sorry about the problem with the windscreen wipers. Paul quite rightly decided as the wipers had came loose in heavy rain and in the interest of customer safety to stop the bus and phone for a replacement bus. Regards
star-2
Ups !
Rudy_T
, May 2022
Some places were closed, should not be advertised in promotions, so customers pay more than they should get
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Rudy Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy any of your day spent with us. We do not have any influence over the sites we visit which is the reason we do not include admission charges. We do provide a day tour which visits all the sites listed on our itinerary and have noted on the itinerary that we cannot guarantee all sites will be open, which is understandable as we are all coming out of a worldwide pandemic. We refused your request for a refund because we did not charge any fees for the sites visited and would suggest if you have paid any fees directly to the sites you should contact them directly. We do inform everyone and give them an update on the morning of the tour as to which sites have yet to open due to Covid. Below is the notice from our website. WE ADHERE TO ALL APPLICABLE COVID REGULATIONS AS DEFINED BY GOVERNMENT. WE CANNOT GUARANTEE THAT ALL SITES ARE OPERATIONAL; HOWEVER, WE WILL DO OUR BEST TO MAKE YOUR EXPERIENCE THE VERY BEST WE CAN. We would appreciate any suggestions you have as to how we can improve this information and make it clearer. Look forward to hearing from you. Regards
star-2
Not super.
TomGunner
, May 2022
Parts of the trip were not delivered, and the approach to resolve this was 'are you happy, if not, get off the bus' in front of the whole group. Customer Service in 2022.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Tom Not true. We would like to refer you to your travel partners review as to why we refused your request for a refund, and if you have time to read a 5 star review from the same trip. We are continually trying to improve our customer service and would really welcome any constructive suggestions from you and your travel partner Regards
star-2
Disappointing
Cheryl_T
, Apr 2022
The scenery was lovely. The driver was beyond disappointing. Rude, boring. We felt like he was just going through the motions, doing the absolute minimum. He yelled at some young men as they asked him to wait TWO minutes at beginning of tour for their friends! He left them behind, then decided to go around the block to get them- starting us all out 20 minutes late! We contacted you the day before the tour to confirm that bushmill distillery was open and was ‘yes’. Driver said no. We, along with other passengers asked to have one stop extended (as both rope bridge & distillery not open). He said ‘no’- he didn’t want yo have to turn the van around to park.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello Cheryl Thank you for your review and your understanding that we are all coming out of a worldwide pandemic and are doing the very best we can under the circumstances we all find ourselves in. Our website states clearly we cannot guarantee all sites will be open as we have no control over the running of the sites we visit Not sure what you are unhappy about is it the fact we were wrong to leave on time or we went back for the late comers. Our tour check-in is 10 mins before departure time of 9.00am we eventually left at 9.10am, the customers who were late sent 2 of their party on time to hold up the bus, they knew the others would not be there on time. No one contacted us and were told the Distillery was open as we do not have a date for it re-opening, the bus stopped in the Distillery car park for photos and the Distillery was clearly closed as the doors were bolted shut and a sign in the car park clearly stated it was not open. We spent extra time at every site we visited and at 2 of the sites you were told to take your time and come back at your leisure. There was not a request from any customer to spend extra time at any point in the tour. We did have a customer who wanted to visit a site that was not on the tour and was attempting to influence others to join them in their unreasonable request as the site they wanted to visit was over a hour away. We are sorry we could not change the tour for this unreasonable request as we have to consider the other passengers on the tour. Regards
star-5
Great way to see Northern Ireland
Lrke_A
, Apr 2022
It was a nice trip, and we were really lucky with the weather so it made it even better. I think it was a nice way to see some great things in Northern Ireland if you don’t have a car yourself or is here for a short visit. We enjoyed it
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful Experience
Rick_R
, Mar 2022
The guide, Jim, was fantastic. Great knowledge, humor and a great driver as well. Giants causeway was spectacular
star-5
Great discovery outside Belfast
Fadhli_W
, Mar 2022
Paul the tour guide is really amazing with his story telling and jokes guiding the mini bus all the way. The seats were spacious and comfy for a day tour. The itinerary was relax and nicely space out considering the sites visited. Bring good sneakers, lots of walking.
star-5
Great Guide, well planned tour
Lisa_W
, Jan 2022
Excellent day spent on the coast of Northern Ireland. Paul was an excellent and informative guide and he managed the itinerary perfectly somehow arriving at stops ahead of the giant/packed coaches. We were a group of 10 which was perfect and the sun even peaked out while at the Causeway… sadly due to Covid the Bushmills distillery was closed but you can have a wee dram at the Nook which is at the parking lot of the Giants Causeway (the soup is good too!) would definitely recommend Paul and the tour!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach
Likely to Sell Out
Guided Day Tour of Giant's Causeway from Belfast by Comfortable Coach

star-4.5221

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$39.50

star-5194

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$32.71

star-51489

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$37.03

star-4.562

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.78

star-5767

9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$43.20

star-4.529

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$67.89

star-4.560

9 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$43.20

star-542

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.25

star-4.51498

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$37.03
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations