Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

|
Gumbet, Turkey

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon12 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Marvel at Pamukkale’s grand geology as well as the historic ruins of Hierapolis on this day trip from Bodrum. Explore Pamukkale’s famed ‘Cotton Castle,’ other-worldly terraced calcium pools, and opt to swim in Pamukkale’s modern thermal pools or the Roman Cleopatra’s Pool for an additional thrill at your own expense. Pair the glories of nature with the magnificent architecture of man at Hierapolis, an ancient city not far from the pools. See life and death as it was during Greco-Roman times when you tour the necropolis. A delectable lunch is included in this tour.
  • Full-day trip to Pamukkale and Hierapolis from Bodrum by air-conditioned coach
  • See the glittering natural wonder of Pamukkale or ‘Cotton Castle’ to the Turks
  • Admire the pure white terraces, pools and castle-like formations
  • Explore the nearby ancient spa city of Hierapolis
  • View its temples, theaters and necropolis of 1,200 tombs
  • Swim in modern thermal pools or the Roman-built Cleopatra’s Pool (own expense)
  • Savor a delicious buffet lunch at a local restaurant
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Driver/guide
Lunch
Breakfast
Food and drinks, unless specified
Entrance fee to Cleopatra's Pool

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
BITEZ, BODRUM, BODRUM ICMELER, GUMBET, GUMUSLUK, GUNDOGAN TURGUTREIS, TURKBUKU, YALIKAVAK, TORBA

Departure Time

7:00 AM
Your journey to Pamukkale and Hierapolis kicks off with a convenient morning pickup from your central Bodrum hotel. Step aboard a comfortable air-conditioned coach and admire the beautiful terrain outside your window as you set out on your journey. Stop for breakfast along the way, at your own expense. 

Arrive at Pamukkale approximately 2.5 hours later. Here you’ll have the chance to see some of Turkey’s most unique landscape, that looks like it’s straight out of a sci-fi film. Translated from Turkish, Pamukkale means ‘Cotton Castle,’ named after its white hot spring pools that cascade down 656-foot (200 m) cliffs and fairytale landscape. It’s no wonder this is an UNESCO-listed geological site and must-do in Turkey. Enjoy free time to explore the grounds, snap photos, and enjoy the view. 

After the pools you're off to the ancient archeological city of Hierapolis. Stroll the Greco-Roman ruins and spa overlooking Pamukkale. Visit the historic temples, former shops, streets and 12,000-seat theater. Don’t miss the city’s cemetery, home to 1,200 tombs. Break for free time to roam the grounds and maybe take a tip in Pamukkale’s modern thermal pools or the opulent Cleopatra’s Pool (own expense).

Stop at a local restaurant for a lunch buffet that is included in the tour (drinks at own expense). Choose from a tasty variety of salads and local specialties to see you through the rest of the journey. After, learn about the fascinating craft of Turkish carpet weaving at an informational center, then enjoy a light refreshment (own expense) en route back to Bodrum. Your tour ends in the early evening with a drop-off at your central hotel.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Hierapolis & Pamukkale
Start your tour in the early morning with a pickup from your centrally located Bodrum hotel. Settle into your air-conditioned coach and head for a local restaurant to enjoy a delicious breakfast (own expense). Then, continue to Pamukkale, roughly 2.5 hours away. On arrival, admire this spectacular UNESCO-listed geological site, whose name translates as ‘Cotton Castle’ in Turkish, and whose bright white terraces, pools and other formations bring to mind shimmering fairytale castles. With time here spent at your leisure, perhaps walk around and take photos of these stunning, calcified terraces, and marvel at how they were formed from calcium-rich hot springs solidifying as they cascaded down the 656-foot (200m) cliffs. Next, explore the archaeological site of Hierapolis: the ruins of a Greco-Roman spa city above Pamukkale. Stroll around the ruined temples and streets, and see the 12,000-seater Roman theater and haunting necropolis — a cemetery of 1,200 tombs. Enjoy free time to perhaps take a swim in Pamukkale’s modern thermal pools or Cleopatra’s Pool (own expense), a Roman-carved pool littered with submerged marble pillars. Next, visit a restaurant for an included buffet lunch. Enjoy a wide choice of salads, main courses and desserts, all washed down with drinks that are available at your own expense. Afterward, watch a demonstration at a carpet weaving center, and then return to Bodrum, with a break for refreshments (own expense) on route. Your tour ends with an early evening hotel drop-off in Bodrum.
Duration: 10 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Arbek Travel

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Pamukkale and Hierapolis Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Lovely spot but unfortunately, there wasn't a lot of water, so not as effective as the pictures." See review

Reviews

2.0
star-2
11 Reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews
star-3
Not much water
Climber27099431906
, May 2019
Missold, as never got to Hierapolis as time doesn't allow for it. Collection from hotel a disaster. Trip very long. Lovely spot but unfortunately, there wasn't a lot of water, so not as effective as the pictures. Lunch was lovely as were the staff on the coach.
icon Response from Host , May 2019
Hi, Thank you very much for your nice review. Hope see you again. Regards Atilla Arman
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Pamukkale is spectacular and...
Lauren G
, Sep 2015
Pamukkale is spectacular and absolutely worth visiting, however I'm not sure I would recommend this trip... While the tour guide was lovely, and very knowledgeable, I was a bit frustrated when we were told that we would be stopping not only at an onyx store, but also at a leather store. Not ideal.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
The trip from Bodrum is much longer...
Melanie B
, Aug 2015
The trip from Bodrum is much longer than is listed: we left at 06.00 in the morning and returned at 21.30h in the evening. The drive took up more than 5 hours to get there and 4 hours to return. At the site we didn't have enough time to visit the terraces, hierapolis and the thermal baths. We had to choose. Our guide pushed us into the baths, without any explanation about the terraces or hierapolis. We ended up visiting the terraces and saw a small part of hierapolis, since we only had 2 hours of time at the site. Breakfast was expensive and early, somewhere around 09.00h. Lunch however was horrible: we ate at 16.00h, way to late is you haven't eaten since 09.00h. We had only 20 minutes to finish and the food was cold and had been in the trays for way to long. Our guide was an unpleasant man who didn't speak English very well. He was rude towards his group and complained a lot about not getting tipped enough. He spoke about Istanbul for 15 minutes and then rambled on about Turkey for another 30 minutes. All of this was not relevant towards the site we were visiting. Everything I learned from hierapolis and pamukkale comes from my traveling guidebook. I don't remember anything from what he said. I defenitly would not do this trip again, and I don't recommend any one to do so!
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
This place is amazing. We were...
Olivia D
, Jun 2015
This place is amazing. We were picked up from our hotel at 05.45 and returned to our hotel at 21.45. It was a very long day. Pammukkale itself was great. We had not previously been informed that there would be 2 trips to a leather and an Onyx factory. These did not add anything to the trip, in fact it made it too long. I would recommend that these be dropped. Breakfast, Lunch and afternoon stops were fine.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
The air conditioning on the bus was...
Sunny M
, Jun 2015
The air conditioning on the bus was not working .there was a burnt smell inside the bus .the guide was good .the group was ok
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
I was very disappointed with this...
Cheryl S
, Oct 2014
I was very disappointed with this tour. I was not contacted prior to arrival to coordinate a pick up location or time. I reached out to the local tour company's phone # multiple times before excursion start and the line was always busy or no answer. If I did not need a local hotel pick up, the Bodrum meet up location was never communicated. As a traveler, tour companies should make this process less painful. At the end of the tour, we were taken on a 90 minute leather fashion show attempting to sell us overpriced goods. We were held up waiting for the polish tour guide to buy goods. I found this to be completely unprofessional. This stop was not part of the tour we signed up for and a complete waste of our time. I have been a loyal, repeat viator customer on excursions around the world and have never encountered such poor service.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
We only saw Pamukalle but ALL the...
izzi
, Sep 2014
We only saw Pamukalle but ALL the pools were dry, and there was a water hose filling up a small area, unlike what is advertised about the location. The tour guide spoke poor English (when he did) and spoke mostly in Italian. The lunch was horrible. Anything else was alright.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Our experience of the tour was not...
Sumit A
, Sep 2014
Our experience of the tour was not very pleasent. The tour bus broken down quite a few times both ways while coming and going.Due to this a lot of our time got wasted. We missed our dinner and show at the hotel that we pre-paid for. we reached the hotel quite late aound 12:15 pm instead of 8 / 9 pm. Also the shuttle bus that was supposed to drop us back to the hotel told us because the bus was big so it cant go down to our hotel and hence dropped us way away from our hotel Royal Arena near ghumbet. We had to then take a taxi back to the hotel and also had to seperately spend for our dinner even though we already prepaid for it at our hotel, because we were late. It caused us sheer inconvenience.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Not a great tour. When we were...
Laura M
, Sep 2014
Not a great tour. When we were collected from our hotel in the morning we were not told anything about the schedule or even that we were being taken to a different location to join a much larger group before continuing on to Pamukkale. Additionally the tour guide couldnt give us any more information than I had already read in the guide books beforehand and although not mentioned in the tour particulars, we were taken to a leather store and forced to sit and watch a fashion show then listen to the sales peoples hard sell. I would have much rather have spent that additional time at Pamukkale as opposed to in a store. Lastly he bus broke down twice, on our way to the site and then on the way back meaning that we didn't arrive back to our hotel until midnight. Interestingly enough our guide thought it was still appropriate to remind us to provide a tip..... If you're thinking of booking this tour I suggest you keep looking for a better tour company.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Magnifique site mais loin de Bodrum
Moxhet
, Jul 2019
Pamukalle est un site naturel exceptionnel mais le temps de transfert entre Bodrum et Denzili est fort fort long, sans compter les 2 arrêts dans les magasins d'usine qui nous ont encore rogné 2 heures sur la journée alors qu'on aurait pu les passer à la piscine. Pas eu le temps de visiter Hiérapolis, trop court sur place. Le guide en français était bien sympathique.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Hi, Thank you very much for your nice review. Hope see you again. Regards Atilla Arman
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 6250BODPAM

Explore Similar Things to Do