Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb

|
Firenze, Italy

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon2 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Travel to the top of Brunelleschi’s Dome, Florence’s most iconic attraction, with this skip-the-line entrance ticket and tour. Follow your guide through the cathedral and up to the terraces for an exclusive close-up view of the dome. Explore passages closed to the public and get a magnificent look at the city skyline.
  • Enjoy a guided visit to the Cathedral, the Dome, the North Terrace, and the Baptistery
  • Head inside areas of the Duomo not open to the public
  • See panoramic views of Florence from the top of Brunelleschi's Dome
  • Maximum of 16 people for a more intimate experience
Local guide
Gratuities

Departure Point

Via dei Cimatori, 9R, 50122 Firenze FI, Italy

Return Details

Piazza del Duomo, 50122 Firenze FI, Italy
Meet your guide at a central meeting point and head over to the bustling square of the Duomo. In peak time, the entrance lines to the Florence Duomo can take over two hours, but you enjoy priority access with your skip-the-line ticket and head straight inside.

Hear the fascinating history behind the dome before beginning the ascent up its 463 steps—expect a steep climb. As you travel up, admire the frescoes from Renaissance artists like Zuccari and Vasari on the two shells of the dome.

Then, arrive at the top and enjoy the reward for all your hard work. Stroll along the cupola’s balcony to soak up 360-degree views of Florence and the Tuscan hills stretched out below. Your guide provides insightful background on Filippo Brunelleschi, the architect behind this Renaissance masterpiece.

Before parting ways with your guide, receive tickets to the museum to continue exploring independently.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore
Learn about the construction of the Duomo, its architectonical style and the important events that happened inside there. Admire the Dome from a special point of view and the panorama over Florence. Climb to the top of the dome and hear about the construction of the Dome and admire the best panorama over the city.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Piazza del Duomo
View the Duomo from the outside
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Museo dell'Opera del Duomo
Learn about the masterpieces of the museum - such as the original doors of the Baptistery, Pietà by Michelangelo, Mary Magdalene by Donatello
Duration: 25 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Good physical condition required
  • Minimum age is 12 years
  • Good walking shoes required
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Italy Segway Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb?
A:
The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Florence Duomo with Brunelleschi's Dome Climb.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Bring water, it is a long, hot hike in the summer." See review
  • "It may be not suitable for those with bad legs on a tour that goes up about 400 to 500 stairs of Duomo." See review
  • "Priority security check just for the small group and access to parts of the Duomo that are not usually visited by tourists." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
254 Reviews
5 stars
216
4 stars
25
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 254 reviews
star-3
Mediocre
Chris
, Sep 2020
Very hard to find key details (Eg, where and when to meet- hunt it was not at the Duomo or the time of the tour!), while simultaneously being told we must not wear shorts or sleeveless shirts (everyone in the place had them because it was a very hot day). Finally, despite the promise of “skipping the line”, we spent a good 30 minutes in A line. There are some excellent private tours in Florence- this unfortunately is not one of them because the company that handles it is a mess.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Hi Chris, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your tour with us. We care about the experience of every customer that joins us on tour and try our best to exceed their expectations. I will address each of your points here separately to be able to reassure potential future guests with some broader context: 1. It seems that you had some trouble finding the meeting point. Navigating a foreign city can be difficult, so we clearly display the exact address, along with a map, in the confirmation email that you received at the time of booking. It is the address of our office which has not changed in 12 years - a 3 min walk from the Duomo where we meet for all our Florence Tours. The meeting time is also clearly displayed on that email and the attached voucher. 2. The rules regarding exposed shoulders and knees are passed to us directly by the management of the cathedral, and are in place due to the main hall being an active place of worship. We respect the rules of all the attractions that we visit, and make those rules plainly visible and easy to follow on that booking confirmation. 3. Due to the fact that we are in the midst of a global pandemic, there are some additional health and safety procedures that are required before entering the cathedral. This does unfortunately slow down the normal "skip the line" experience but we have yet to be delayed by more than 20 minutes. And while it is out of our control, 99% of the time the extra wait has been under 10 mins. Most of our customers fully appreciate the fact that for now, "normal" remains unfortunately just out of reach. 4. I wish I knew precisely what you meant by our company being “a mess” because we are always looking for ways to improve, but from my point of view I can tell you that I am surrounded by wonderful colleagues, working hard to smoothly navigate a very difficult moment and provide safe, fun tours and excellent customer service. As well as enthusiastically embracing the new health and safety regulations, and adapting our tours to better suit this current landscape, we are also happy to report that we have been able to keep all of our staff employed and maintain a near perfect record of satisfied customers every step of the way. In fact, yours is the first review under 5 stars that we have received in more than 7 months, and that includes the 8 other people on your tour. And it hurts! I really wish we had been able to show you a good time. We know that your holiday time is precious and if, despite our best efforts, you did not enjoy the 3 hours that you spent with us then we have failed at our mission, and for that I sincerely apologise.
star-5
Climbing the dome
Linda_D
, Feb 2020
Helena was informative, upbeat and considerate. We had plenty of time to look around and take in the details of the tour.
star-5
Perfect!
diane_g
, Feb 2020
Francesca was very professional and friendly.. She took the time to answer at all questions.. Good energy.. Thank you!
star-5
Climbing the St. Peter’s Basillica dome.
zevcrawley
, Feb 2020
Bob (from Dublin) did an excellent job of providing information about the climb and points of interest from the top of the dome view. He also had very detailed information of the items in the Vatican. Wonderful tour!
star-5
Amazing Duomo tour
naomiboness
, Feb 2020
Amazing tour that started in the museum before going to the church. We visited multiple levels within the Duomo, which breaked up the climb. Our guide, Antonio, was knowledgeable and interesting.
star-5
Magnificent place to visit
Gluegum88
, Jan 2020
If you don't have the Duomo on your list of places to visit then you really need to put it on. Upon first seeing the outside it really takes your breath away. Our only negative was that the meeting place was a little hard to find. Once we started we had our headphones and our guide was great. The headphones did cut out a little bit at times but you were able to hear most of it. You skip the line which was great and see the inside of the base. Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs but the view is worth it up the top. A truly amazing experience.
star-5
Great experience
E6534LMninah
, Jan 2020
Great experience. Be prepared for squishy stairwells with lots of tourists! Our tour guide was great and had a wealth of knowledge about the Duomo and its history. Highly recommended.
star-5
Fascinating Tour!
Irish05
, Nov 2019
I am petrified of heights, but this tour was still incredible. The views from the top were amazing and it was so cool to see the inside of the dome so up close. Guido was an awesome tour guide!
star-5
Experiencing Florence from New Heights!
Greg H
, Nov 2019
Despite the weather at the time of our tour (raining) our experience of the tour was great. A number of things to commend it: - True skip the line access - access to parts of the Duomo not normally available to tourists - walk to the top of the dome! with great views - bonus access to the Baptistery which was available to us because of renovations happening at another venue This was all fantastic. What also really made a huge difference in the tour was our guide Francesca! She provided a wealth of detail and insight not only about the sites we were visiting, but she also provided insights as to the life and times of Florence historically and in the present. That's the type of "presentation" that really makes these historic sites come alive. What I will also say about Francesca that aside from being personable and well-informed she was also tremendously polite and diplomatic. On our tour was a British couple who insisted on asking a variety of questions too many of which we had already received answers to previously in Francesca's presentation. More egregious were the derogatory comments about the work ethic of Italians and describing Italy as merely a province of Europe. Francesca dealt with this boorish behavior in a far more compassionate way than I felt I would have been able to muster. Bravo!
star-5
GREAT CLIMB
Frederick R
, Nov 2019
Small group, well organised, knowledgeable guide, hard work but a memorable experience. Their office was a bit difficult to find, but staff were pleasant given the crowds they had to contend with.

Product code: 3092BRUNESCHELLI

Explore Similar Things to Do