Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces

star-4.5
|
Firenze, Italy

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon1 to 2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Unlock the secrets of Florence’s famous Duomo—an architectural marvel designed in the 15th century and the icon of the Renaissance city. Learn about the history of Brunelleschi’s red-roofed dome as you climb to its very top, stopping along the way to explore hidden terraces and chambers not open to the general public. Be rewarded by panoramic views of Florence. Skip-the-line admission includes a guided tour of the cathedral and crypt.
  • Guided tour of Florence's iconic Duomo
  • Learn the fascinating history behind Brunelleschi's architectural marvel
  • Climb to the very top of the dome to take in stunning panoramic views of the city below
  • Gain access to secret terraces and rooms not open to the general public
Professional guide
Skip the line access to Florence Cathedral
Guided tour of the Cathedral and exceptional opening of Duomo North terrace
Skip the line and reserved access to Brunelleschi's Dome
Exclusive access to the central nave
Guided tour of the Crypt
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

Piazza di San Giovanni, 7, 50123 Firenze FI, Italy

Departure Time

2:30 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Good walking shoes are recommended
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Ciaoflorence Tours & Travels Srl

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces?
A:
The policy on sanitization is:

  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by The Duomo Complex and Its Hidden Terraces.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Note that if you are claustrophobic or terrified of heights, this might not be for you." See review
  • "Our other tours all had smaller groups and it was worth paying a bit extra for that." See review
  • "Guide energetic and knowledgeable Walking to the top of the duomo a must Not to hard take your time no race" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
174 Reviews
5 stars
134
4 stars
24
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 174 reviews
star-5
Must-do in Florence!
kateebuchanan93
, Jan 2020
Highly recommend! Our tour guide was absolutely awesome - she was extremely knowledgeable and helped to explain everything we didn’t understand. She was able to answer all of our questions and taught us a lot about Florence’s history - not just the Duomo. She took us to amazing sights in the complex that we would’ve missed otherwise. Was a major highlight of our entire Europe holiday!
star-5
Excellent
Mark T
, Nov 2019
We really enjoyed the this tour and our guide was extremely knowledgeable. Would certainly recommennd it.
star-5
Spectacular building & guide
FarAway44433112103
, Oct 2019
The Duomo should not be missed on your tour of Florence and our tour guide was incredible. Her detailed explanation and stories gave the historic church life beyond its walls
star-4
Making it to the top
Laurie1052
, Oct 2019
Lovely skip the line tour. Having a knowledgeable guide increases the experience. Quite a challenge to make it to top. Hugged and puffed a bit but successful. Well worth the stunning result. Good day to do this is on Monday when most major musrr Er UK’s are closed
star-5
The view and history makes it worth it.
dsb1986
, Oct 2019
Maria was our tour guide on this trip. She was very informative and very entertaining. We got access to exclusive areas and saw views that other couldn't. Highly recommend this tour for those that want to really experience the Duomo and learn all its secrets.
star-2
Duomo Disappointment
Go61492053208
, Oct 2019
Our guide had difficulty with English and seemed irritated when anyone asked a question. I might have overlooked this when I signed up but the museum was closed on the day of our tour. A voucher to come back the following day did not help as we had other tours scheduled. I would say It is magnificent from the outside and underwhelming inside.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear client We are very sorry to read that you haven't enjoyed the tour, we have never received this kind of complaint, our staff is always very happy to answer the customers' questions. It is a pity that you got this feeling, we are sorry for it. In regards to the inside of the Duomo: it is about a centuries-old richness of history and works of art, plus a view unique that you can enjoy, thanks to our tour only, from the terrace above it. The Duomo complex is really worth a visit, we hope that you will get a chance to come back one day and change your mind :) Kind Regards Ciaoflorence Staff
star-5
Great tour of the Duomo in Firenze!
Jeff L
, Sep 2019
This was our third trip to Firenze but we had never done a Duomo experience. The tour was great! Our guide had architecture experience and she really gave our group insight into how the Duomo was engineered and constructed. I would highly recommend this tour. Everything was taken care of; all the entry tickets were ready for us and we skipped the long lines.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Dear Jeff That is very true, the Duomo in Florence seems to be made by the hand of God, it is so perfect and outstanding! Plus, our tour gives access to the secret terraces of the Church... thrilling... and the view from there is simply unique! We hope we will be able to welcome again on one of our tours in the future, in the meantime take care! Kind Regards Ciaoflorence Staff
star-5
Fantastic, incredible guide
Adventure35928308651
, Aug 2019
Loved my tour with Camilia. Super knowledgeable, great value. She answered all our questions (my questions), was very kind, and patient. Very hot day, and made the experience really enjoyable. Even as a historian, I learned so much.
star-4
Family Duomo and Climb
Alvalee S
, Jul 2019
Family visit ages 7 to 83 our guide was Isabelle and she was great. My husband had trouble walking and she found places for him to sit along the tour
star-1
Not worth the money
sky1232015
, Jul 2019
Even though it was very expensive, this tour was the only let down in my visit to Florence. The actual talking part of the tour only lasts about an hour and then you spend about 30mins walking up to the terraces and having a look at the view, which is impressive to be fair. However, I think they need to rethink the logistics. There were two tours at the same time when I was there and this meant my group having to wait for a fair time for the other group to finish up before we could move to where they had been. During this time the guide (who was nice, friendly and informative) did an admirable job of trying to fill the time by telling us stuff, but it wasn't that focused or gripping because we weren't really looking at anything, just waiting, and it just felt like random facts. I was also disappointed because I thought that when the tour had finished up on the terraces, we would be allowed to go back into the church, because we hadn't really seen that much of it (just the crypt and the dome really). But when we got down from the terraces and I asked the guards if I could cross the barrier and go back into the main part of the church where we had been before, they refused and said I would have to join the ordinary queue outside. As it was 40°C and the queuing time outside was at least an hour, I didn't do this and left. I was left feeling that I hadn't really seen all I wanted to and ended up being kicked out at the end of a very disjointed tour. I'd advise other people that there must be better options than this tour.

Product code: 6367P9

Explore Similar Things to Do