Recent Searches
Clear

Hamburg Small-Group Sunset Sailing Cruise on Lake Alster

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Hamburg, Germany
Hamburg Small-Group Sunset Sailing Cruise on Lake Alster
29
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon1 hour  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Explore the city of Hamburg, Germany with a 1-hour, small-group sunset cruise along the Alster. Enjoy a panoramic view of Hamburg from the lake, a right tributary of the Elbe River. See green parks, plenty of old buildings, some of the biggest churches in Hamburg, plus Alster fountain and the Elbphilharmonie, a new concert hall in the HafenCity quarter, in the distance. Relax, enjoy a refreshing beverage on board and admire the scenic view.
  • Enjoy a sunset cruise in Hamburg
  • Sail along the Alster with a view of the city
  • Watch the sun set behind the city skyline
  • One free beverage provided
  • Small group ensures a more personal attention
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide/skipper
Life vest
Sailing clothes if necessary
One drink included (beer, prosecco, soft drink)
Snacks
Transportation to/from attractions

Departure Point

An der Alster 67, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Experience Hamburg like the locals with this relaxing sunset cruise along the Alster.

Climb aboard a 2-masted sailboat, kick back and enjoy the view of Hamburg from the water. The Alster is located in the heart of the city — a popular attraction for both Hamburg residents and visitors. No previous sailing experience is required, but feel free to offer the skipper a hand, if desired.

Along the way, take in the scenery as the sun sets behind the city skyline. Witness green parks, old buildings, some of the biggest churches in Hamburg, plus Alster fountain and the Elbphilharmonie, a new concert hall in the HafenCity quarter.

One free beverage (beer, champagne, or a soft drink) is provided during the 1-hour cruise, which carries no more than 11 passengers for a more personal experience.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Alster Lakes
Enjoy a sunset cruise on Lake Alster and experience Hamburg from the waterside like the locals do after work.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Hamburg Town Hall
See some of Hamburgs main sights in the distance.
Pass By:  
Elbphilharmonie
See some of Hamburgs main sights in the distance.
Pass By:  
Alster Fountains
See some of Hamburgs main sights in the distance.
Pass By:  
St. Michael's Church
See some of Hamburgs main sights in the distance.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travelers
  • OPERATED BY barca BOAT EVENTS GmbH

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Hamburg Small-Group Sunset Sailing Cruise on Lake Alster?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 11 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Hamburg Small-Group Sunset Sailing Cruise on Lake Alster.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

5.0
star-5
42 Reviews
4 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-9 of 42 reviews
star-5
It was a perfect trip!
Sarah_C
, Jul 2021
A perfect trip on a lovely boat! Perfect view! Catched great memories! Looking forward to the next boat ride 😍
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Find another option
Amanda_M
, Jul 2021
This was just ok. Given the option and knowing what we know now we would have skipped it. It should be half the price of what is charged considering what you get for it - literally just an hour sailing trip (this should NOT be called a tour). My biggest issue is that we specifically requested an English tour and received confirmation that it would be in English... our guide spoke ZERO English to us the entire trip. There must be better options - I would skip this one.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Location and View
Nik
, Aug 2020
Hi, To start with, our boat ride was terrible! Even though we booked an English speaking tour, the guide/sailor didn’t even cared to speak in English during the entire trip. We already informed him before starting the tour that we cannot understand german and can only communicate in English (that is why we booked the tour in English). But this was a supee bad experience we had in such an international city. Additionally, the sailor/guide didn’t even bother to warn people onboard about thr movement of the sail which had a wooden board- maybe he warned in German but we can tell.. will never recommend this tour!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hi Nik, I feel very sorry that your expectations haven't been fulfilled on our very popular sunset cruise (see all other reviews). I talked to the skipper of that cruise an he told me that nothing "terrible" happened that evening. He welcomed you in English and also gave a short introduction that the sail including the boom (the wooden "stick") will move during the cruise like on any other sailboat. Our cruises are not typical sightseeing tours but sailing tours instead. The skipper doesn't talk all the time like on a sightseeing ship and is not the "entertainer" of the night, but you can ask him any question and he will give answers (also in English) of course. Quite often there is a lot of communication on board between the different guests and the captain but that depends from the group on board. The skipper told me that this cruise was indeed a more "silent" one as the guests seemed to be quite satisfied with each other without much talking to others... I think a normal tourist cruise on one of the big "Alster cruise ships" would have probably been more suitable for you. I am very sorry, that you didn't like our special sailing cruise, but honestly can't find anything "terrible" even in your description of your sailing experience. I hope you still enjoyed other things in our beautiful city of Hamburg. Ahoy and all the best for the both of you, Henning (captain and owner of the company)
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Overpriced
Passport318322
, Sep 2019
It was fun being out on the lake and clearly folks in Hamburg love the outdoors. The lake was full of small sailboats. However, the cost seemed high for what you get— a few back and forths on the lake with a drink. I think I would’ve preferred a tour of the harbor.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks for joining us on our special sailing sunset cruise and for your review. We are very happy that you had a fun time out on the lake. Our sunset cruise is scheduled for one hour and the distance we can sail is depending from the wind conditions (force and direction). You might have been with us on a less windy day, but we cannot influence nature (and we should be thankful for that...;-)). A harbour cruise on the river Elbe is something totally different, definitely worth to do but not so intimate and personal as our small group sailing cruises on Lake Alster. It is a more touristy thing on big boats with a lot of people around you. You should try next time...
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Lovely views of the city in a peaceful and relaxing setting
Tia P
, Jul 2019
Thoroughly enjoyed the sunset sail on Lake Alster. Our guide was extremely friendly and informative. It was my birthday and I can't think of a better way to have enjoyed Hamburg - with a glass of prosecco in the hand whilst enjoying a peaceful sunset sail! Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi Tia, that sounds great. so happy that you enjoyed your special birthday cruise! Thanks for your lovely review and hope to see you again one day. Ahoy and kind regards, Henning
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Toller Segeltörn im Sonnenuntergang
Annette_W
, Jul 2021
Ein superschöner Segeltrip in der Abenddämmerung über die Außeralster mit dem sehr entspannten, humorvollen Skipper Henning wird uns unvergesslich bleiben. Wenn wir wieder in Hamburg sind, kommen wir wieder. Danke für dieses tolle Erlebnis, lieber Henning! Gruß aus Wiesbaden
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Segeln in den Sonnenuntergang
Udo
, Jul 2021
Diese Tour ist sehr zu empfehlen. Unser Skipper Henning hat uns eine entspannte Stunde auf dem Wasser mit leichter "Hintergrundmusik" bei untergehender Sonne geschenkt.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Angenehme Atmosphäre
AnnaLena_E
, Aug 2020
Die Tour zum Sonnenuntergang war unglaublich schön. Zwar begann der Törn später als geplant, aber das war nicht so schlimm. Dafür haben wir bisschen Zeit hinten dran gehängt. Der Reiseführer war top. Sehr freundlich, zuvorkommend und strahlte eine Ruhe und Gelassenheit aus. Wir konnten einiges über einzelne Sehenswürdigkeiten lernen und allgemein war die Atmosphäre berauschend. Verbesserungstipps gibt es für mich keine, denn ich bin mit einem breiten Grinsen aus dem boot gestiegen und konnte auch unglaubliche Bilder schießen. Nur weiterzu empfehlen!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Moin liebe Anna-Lena und vielen Dank für deine tolle Bewertung! Was für ein toller Abend war das auf der Alster und Ihr als Gäste wart mindestens so entspannt wie ich als euer Skipper...;-) Ich hoffe, Ihr hattet noch eine schöne Zeit in Hamburg und habt noch ein paar unserer Tipps ausprobieren können. Ahoi und sonnige Grüße aus Hamburg, euer Kutter-Käpt'n Henning
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Tolles Erlebnis - wir waren nur zu...
Roland W
, Sep 2017
Tolles Erlebnis - wir waren nur zu zweit, daher optimal. Unser Kapitän war sehr nett und freundlich, man fühlte sich bei ihm gut aufgehoben - Wetter war optimal- Abendstimmung war sehr schön. Diesen Segeltörn immer wieder
HelpfulHelpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Hamburg Small-Group Sunset Sailing Cruise on Lake Alster
Current
Hamburg Small-Group Sunset Sailing Cruise on Lake Alster

star-542

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$38.74

star-513

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$37.18

star-4.518

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$46.48

star-4.5134

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.37

star-410

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$24.17

star-4.539

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.17

star-427

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.17

star-4.52

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$18.12

Explore Similar Things to Do