Recent Searches
Clear

John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness

star-4.568 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Highland Council, United Kingdom
John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon11 hours 15 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Check a visit to John O’Groats, the northernmost point on British mainland, off your bucket list on a full-day tour through the Northern Highlands with convenient round-trip transport from Inverness. In addition to navigating, your guide provides live commentary and anecdotes about each stop on the itinerary, from Dunrobin Castle to lunch in the ancient Viking town of Wick (own expense).
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Attraction Tickets
Bus Station, Farraline Park, Inverness , Inverness IV1 1LT, UK

Stance 6

8:15 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum age is 4 years old.
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund.
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark the bus.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Digital translations available on request.
  • Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Timberbush Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It was a long day but worth it, you get to see so much and find out the history as you head towards the north, great day!" See review
  • "Dunrobin castle itself was worth the early start, but the trip was full of amazing views of the east coast, castles and of course John O'Groats." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
68 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews
star-5
Loved it ❤️❤️
Natalie_W
, Aug 2022
Loved this tour. Julian was absolutely awesome and very informative. Every single destination was breathtaking. Would strongly recommend this tour to everyone.
star-5
One end of the earth!
uma_g
, Aug 2022
We had a fabulous trip to the north of Inverness and almost to one end of the earth! Our guide Malcolm was excellent, shared several insights about the history, culture, the flora and the fauna throughout our journey. His attention to make each one of us comfortable on the journey is noteworthy. The beautiful sights and the overall experience on this trip have 3xcited us to plan for further trips to the 8spands far north and west, perhaps next summer!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time on tour with Malcolm. Right up at the top of John O'Groats you really do feel like you're at the end of the earth! Hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
star-4
Personal chattiness and a Cough
William_S
, Jul 2022
This was our last trip for a 3 week holiday in Scotland. Our guide was a bit too chatty about personal things and not quite enough about the sites and things we saw. There was a young man in the seat in front of me who was consistently coughing throughout this trip…no covering his mouth when doing so. In the post COVID world, he should have been told to do so by the guide. I feel sorry for the 2 elderly couples in front of him. Hope they aren’t sick
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm sorry to hear that you felt our guide was a bit too chatty about personal things and less about the sites, however, many of our other reviews praise the guides for their personal touches and friendliness. I'm sorry that you felt uncomfortable with the person coughing in front. We follow the current government guidelines which have no measures against covid, and so, it wasn't really the guide's duty to inform the passenger to cover his mouth. All the best, David
star-1
Was not allowed on the bus
Jaydeep_N
, Jul 2022
Wasn't allowed on the bus as my kid had to clear up the stomach on the day ahead of the journey. I guess it was too much for her especially when we returned from Skye with Rabbie's just a day ago. Hence, I'd like to vote as not applicable. But that option is not listed. However there's a refund being processed now - and I don't regret for not being part of the road trip in the bad weather today. We had fun time spent in other attractions around the city of Inverness instead.
star-5
Bucket list destination
Gillian_T
, Jul 2022
Comfortable mini bus, plenty stops to stretch the legs. Our guide Julian was brilliant, helpful and knowledgeable. One small point, would liked to have had another 20mins at John O' Groats. Overall 10 out of 10.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm really pleased to hear that you had a great time out on tour with Julian and that you found the coach comfy with plenty of stops. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon. All the best, David
star-5
Very beautiful our tour...
Resham_T
, Jul 2022
Very beautiful our tour guide Mr Sinclair was funny and very informative guide …enjoyed throughly . His wife Kathleen was very pleasant and hard working . I enjoyed the tour to the fullest Resham Tiwari from Nepal currently residing in Inverness
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear that you had a great time out on tour with Sinclair and Kathleen and that they were really pleasant, informative and hard-working. Hopefully we will see you on another of our Inverness tours soon if you are staying there! All the best, David
star-5
John O Groats and Dunrobin- totally worth the time
rebeccaBethChester
, Jul 2022
Our GUIDE, Jillian, was wonderful!! Very knowledgeable, personable and gave us a variety of interesting info about history, geography, wildlife, etc. Wish she could lead every tour I'd like to go on.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had such a great time out on tour with Gillian and that she was full of knowledge and super personable. Hopefully we will see you on another tour with her some day soon! All the best, David
star-5
A top journey to John o groays
hugh_m
, Jul 2022
The journey was good the driver was very informative and helpful nothing to much trouble knee where to get good food and where the nice toilets were
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that you had a great time on tour to John O'Groats and that the guide was super informative and nothing was too much trouble for them. Hopefully we will see you again soon! All the best, David
star-4
Very good tour
Jeremy_C
, Jul 2022
Friendly knowledgeable, careful driver. driver gave an excwellent destcription along the journey and was able to share his love for the area. Driver knew good places to take us for views, experiences, toilets, food.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that your driver was knowledgeable, friendly and careful and that their love for the area really shone through. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon! All the best, David
star-4
The north of Scotland worth every minute.
Amy_R
, Jul 2022
We saw puffins! Great castle stop. We wished the stop would have been about 15 minutes longer. It was also a bit inconvenient to pay the guide £10 in cash to go in the castle. Mayne roll that into the price? Or allow customer to pay online at tour booking? Otherwise we were very happy with the tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for the review! I'm jealous that you saw puffins, they're adorable. I'm glad that you enjoyed the castle, however, we like to keep the price separate so it is fair for the customers that may not choose to enter the castle and keep the tour as a base price only. Hopefully we will see you again soon! All the best, David
star-5
Memorable trip
UmaMaheswara_V
, Jul 2022
Very beautiful drive along the coast. Guide's commentary was very good. All the places were so beautiful, especially the castle and gardens
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review. The John O'Groats tour is a really beautiful one, especially at Dunrobin Castle so I'm glad you enjoyed it and that the guide's commentary was great. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day soon. All the best, David
star-5
Julian was a fantastic guide!
Emily_R
, Jul 2022
Julian was fantastic as our guide. I really enjoyed his commentary throughout the trip. His stories were lovely and personal - reflecting a genuine love and knowledge of the area he grew up in. Trip was well-organized and enjoyable. Incredible views. Well done!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! I'm pleased to hear that Julian was a fantastic tour guide on the John O'Groats tour and that he was full of lovely stories, and his passion and love for the area shone through. I hope you got some great photos of the incredible views and hopefully we will see you again soon. All the best, David
star-5
Perfect
Stephen_A
, Jun 2022
Varied and interesting tour. Get more than you bargain for. Stunning scenery. Be careful to judge time at Dunrobin and J O'Groats as it can go quickly; 2 1st time visitor there is lots to see and absorb and photograph ..but you need to keep pace up to rejoin coach on time. Squeezing a relaxed lunch at J O G was a squeeze ...depends if you grabbing a snack to go or sitting down to fabulous fish and chips like we did. Our guide, Julien, was a local man with passion for his native land and sharing his knowledge and experiences. He wanted you to have the best experience possible. I think this aspect of a tour is quintessentially valuable, to support local people and get authentic take on the country and landscape. Thank you Julien. Too many highlights but the seals, Dunnet Beach, J O Groats , Duncansby headland / stacks .. all of it.. stands out :)
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! It sounds like you had a brilliant time on the John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle and the Far North tour with Julian as your driver-guide. It's such a beautiful part of the country up there and I'm glad it came to life thanks to local Julian's stories, knowledge and experience. That's great advice about being careful with timings on the stops as well - we always recommend bringing a wee packed lunch, but who can resist a good fish and chips. Hopefully we will see you on another tour soon! All the best, David
star-1
Disappointed
Maggie_S
, May 2022
My tour has been cancelled at 3pm a day before and I had to organize the day for myself.I really wanted to see John O'Groats, so I was ready to extend my stay, but the operator could not guarantee that any trip to John O'Groats would take place in the following week. It was disappointing .They refunded money with no problem.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Maggie. Thank you for leaving a review. I'm sorry to hear that we weren't able to take you to John O'Groats on this occasion. While we wish we never had to cancel any tours, it just the reality from time to time. It's a shame that we couldn't guarantee the other tours departing, but I'm happy to hear the refund process was easy and successful for you though. I do hope you were able to enjoy your time in Scotland still. Best wishes, David
star-5
Kathleen was a fabulous...
Kirsty_J
, May 2022
Kathleen was a fabulous tour guide .I really enjoyed this tour. Breath taking scenery and some majestic views .Highly recommended this tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Kirsty. Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that Kathleen was a fabulous driver-guide on your John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North tour. There are some really beautiful views up there, so I hope you got some brilliant photos. Hopefully we will see you on another tour some day to show you even more of Scotland. Best wishes, David
star-5
Go with Kathleen to JO’G
Sharon_S
, May 2022
Our tour guide & driver Kathleen was amazing. Really enjoyed all the stop offs especially Dunrobin Castle and seeing the seals on the way back to Iverness. A fabulous day trip
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Sharon. Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you had a fabulous time on the John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North tour and that Kathleen was an amazing driver-guide. Hopefully you got some great pictures of the seals and we will see you on another tour soon! Best wishes, David
star-5
Amazing day
Nena_J
, May 2022
Andrew J is just a best tour guide ever.Absolutilily loved his story telling & humor I had Such an amazing day.Highly recommend it
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Nena, It's so good to hear that you enjoyed your time on tour with Andrew! I'll pass this feedback on to him as I'm sure he'd love to hear it. Best wishes, Jodie
star-4
Awesome day!
Nancy_L
, May 2022
Was a brilliant day! Julien, our driver, and guest bus tour guide, Andrew went above and beyond to assist us as we both rely on walkers. Only a slight complaint, we stopped for one hot meal for lunch , and time to have a second meal would be helpful.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, Nancy. Thank you for your review! I'm happy to hear that you had a brilliant time on the John O'Groats tour with Julian and Andrew and that they went above and beyond to assist you. We will definitely take your feedback on board about having an extra meal as we like to make sure everyone is kept as comfortable as possible. Hopefully we will see you on another tour in the future to show you even more of Scotland! Best wishes, David
star-3
Small day trip to spend an extra day in Scotland
Soundariya_K
, May 2022
It was day well spent. Julian our guide was very passionate about wick - the place where he grew up and shared many of his memories with us . John O’ Groats- the north end is a place worth a visit for a good photo opportunity and splendid walk along the beautiful coastline. Dunrobin castle - beautiful piece of architecture with well maintained garden next to the sea . The walk through the castle reflects the life in those days
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! The John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North tour is a brilliant tour, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it with Julian as your driver-guide. Dunrobin Castle is definitely one of my favourites, I hope you got some great photos of it! If there's anything we could do to improve the tour, please let us know, and hopefully we will see you on another tour in the future! Best wishes, David
star-5
A day out to John O Groats
DrS_S
, Apr 2022
The trip to Duncansby Head.. Blown away. Not for the faint hearted. Dunrobin castle and the falconry display... Not to bemissed.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi there, thank you for your review! Dunrobin Castle is beautiful, definitely one of my favourites. I'm glad you had a great time on tour and hopefully we will see you again soon! Best wishes, David

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness
Likely to Sell Out
John O'Groats, Dunrobin Castle & the Far North from Inverness

star-4.568

11 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$63.83

star-4.52

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$141.16

star-567

8 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$60.15

star-516

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$147.30

star-520

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.69

star-558

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.60

star-567

3 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$147.30
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations