Recent Searches
Clear

Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

|
Jerusalem, Israel
Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon9 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Combine a Masada tour and Dead Sea trip into one memorable full-day tour from Jerusalem. Travel through the Judean desert by air-conditioned coach and pass the site of the famous New Testament parable of the Good Samaritan. Arrive at Masada and ride the cable car to the legendary mountaintop ruins of King Herod’s palaces. After a guided tour, drive to the Dead Sea. Relish the surreal Dead Sea floating experience and choose to take a therapeutic mud bath. Then, return to Jerusalem, passing the ancient city of Jericho on route.
  • Full day trip from Jerusalem to Masada and the Dead Sea
  • Guided tour of the popular Holy Land sights by local experts
  • Ascend to the top of Masada by cable car
  • Float in the famous salt-rich waters of the Dead Sea
  • Transport by air-conditioned coach
  • Hotel pick up and drop-off
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop off
Professional guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Cable Car up to Masada
Entrance fees
Food and drinks, unless specified
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

7:50 AM
Please wait at the entrance to the hotel
Leave your central Jerusalem hotel by air-conditioned coach and travel through the Judean desert, a barren wilderness in the heart of the Israel.

Pass the site of the New Testament’s famous parable, the Good Samaritan, and enjoy views of the Dead Sea as you near Masada. Some 2,000 years ago, King Herod chose this remote mountain as the site of two vast fortified palaces.

Take the cable car up to mountaintop ruins of the palaces, and set out on a guided tour. Hear about the site’s history as you explore and then descend to drive on to the Dead Sea.

As you travel, pass the Ein Gedi oasis and aeons-old settlement of Qumran. Stop to absorb views of the Qumran caves, where the Dead Sea Scrolls —around 900 ancient parchments of religious manuscripts — were discovered in the 1940s and 1950s.

Continue to the Dead Sea, the salt lake located 1,312 feet (400 meters) below sea level. Enjoy around two hours to relax on a mineral beach and float in the salt-rich waters. If you wish, follow your ‘swim’ with a therapeutic mud bath and perhaps purchase some Dead Sea skin care products (own expense) at duty-free prices.

Back aboard your coach, relax on your return journey. On route, trace some of the route of the old Roman road to Jerusalem and enjoy views of the ancient city of Jericho. Your tour ends with a drop-off at your Jerusalem hotel.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Harei Yehuda
Travel through the Judean Hills
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Khan Al-Hatruri - The Good Samaritan Inn
Pass by the Good Samaritan Inn
Stop At:  
Masada National Park
Ascend to Masada and explore the National Park
Duration: 1 hour 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Herod's Western Palace
Tour the remains of Herod’s palace
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
En Gedi Nature Reserve
See Ein Gedi natural reserve
Pass By:  
Qumran Caves
See Qumran caves where the Dead sea scrolls were found
Stop At:  
Dead Sea
Float and mud yourself at the Dead sea
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Recommended to bring hats, bathing suit, towels, sun protection.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please note this tour is not suitable for children under the age of 4
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bein Harim Ltd
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It is hot and there is walking so you need good light clothes and good walking shoes." See review
  • "If you’re adventurous, it might be better to rent car and do yourself." See review
  • "There were towels available to rent and if you are purchasing Dead Sea salt I would recommend doing it here instead of the shop at Masada." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
512 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 512 reviews
star-2
Great locations poor use of time overall bad trip
Diane_T
, May 2022
We were extremely excited for this tour and we were relying on the good name and reputation of Viator. The local travel agency was not good, very disorganized. The tour bus was very uncomfortable, the smallest leg space ever seen. The bus was packed over 40 people on the trip. For a 7 hour trip we got 1 hour on Masada and one hour at Dead Sea. Lunch at Engedde was horrible. and. Covid super spreader. Hundreds of people crammed in for the worst food I’ve seen in Israel yet. This was s tourist trap and focused on shopping instead of the locations to visit. After giving feedback to the tour guide she listened and then said- I can pass this along but the tour company will not change anything due to agreements with the lunch location. Lunch could have been at the Dead Sea restaurant instead and would be a giant improvement. Positives were that Aviva was a clear and knowledgeable guide. My friend and I could have done a private tour instead and I will never sign up for a group Viator again.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Diane, We are regretful for the experience you had especially at lunch. Not all restaurants are able to cater to groups. We have to make a convenient lunch stop. All these locations operate under Covid regulations in our country, (airports, and various others in the same category). The restaurant has to get ready for our groups and the volume accordingly. (This is how it works worldwide). One cannot just arrive at a place (however few there are in this region, due to Covid many did not reopen) thus making our choice super limited). Not all people want to eat at snack bars (that at the beach resorts we visit) This is high season and as is completely acceptable worldwide restaurants at such locations all include souvenir shops. The restaurant also operates with prior notice! We have certainly done our best to deal with this matter. We are happy that Aviva was a professional and informative guide. Sincerely, Bein Harim tours
star-3
Great experience, bad lunch.
Cindy_L
, May 2022
Great tour guide and driver. Informative and covered all the important parts; the guide switched between Spanish and English throughout the whole tour. Masada and the Dead Sea were both worth the trip. Definitely pack your own lunch! The lunch spot was expensive for what you get ($13-16 USD) and the food was not good. It was a chaotic cafeteria and the staff were short with guests. You get dropped off at your hotel at the end of the tour, at around 5:30pm.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks, Cindy, for this feedback. Firstly and most importantly that you enjoyed the sights visited in this spectacular region. We state clearly that tours maybe be bilingual if required . Always in English and maybe a second language. The lunch stop is essential and indeed can be very busy at the hour we visit it on the schedule, but we have NO other options in the region, as you saw this barren landscape, (and regrettably, a few that were in the past haven't opened again after Covid..) NO problem to come along with one's own lunch pack and snacks for the day. We do however need to cater to those who do wish to eat along the way. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
star-5
Great tour. Masada will never fall again.
Gary_C
, May 2022
Masada is a must see. The 2000 year old Herodian palaces are magnificent. You need to climb down to the lowest terrace. The frescos and capitals are spectacular. Our guide Dan was exceptional . He understood the history and the archeology . He was great at pointing out sites along the way as we traveled deep into the Judean desert.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks so much for this rave review of your tour guided by Dan. It is clear that Dan provided informative varied commentary for a memorable tour experience to this spectacular region of our country. Hope to see you travel again with us sometime.
star-5
Highly recommend
Heidi_S
, Apr 2022
There was a bit of unexpected bus transfers and waiting at the beginning which made sense afterward (they bring everyone to one point and then separate by destination) but once we were underway it was smooth sailing and a very enjoyable day. Our guide, Rom, was very knowledgeable and spoke clearly in a deep voice that was easy to hear. He took very good care of all of us in the tour. The Dead Sea beach was crowded as it was Passover but still a once in a lifetime experience. It was so nice not to have to worry about all the individual entry fees, reading signs in Hebrew and passing through checkpoints. I highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks Heid or sharing that you came away with a memorable and enjoyable tour experience travelling with Bein Harim and our guide Rom. Indeed, after the 2 years of almost entire closure, this Passover and Easter we are seeing record numbers of travelers therefore the crowds at the beach. Nevertheless we are pleased you felt you got to the have once in a lifetime experience with us. Hope to see you sometime again.
star-4
Masada and Dead Sea were...
Robert_W
, Apr 2022
Masada and Dead Sea were cool. Lunch spot was awful - pack your own food and snacks from a market…that bad. If you don’t have the full day you could easily do both in half a day by renting a car, but you’d miss out on the historical knowledge
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks for sharing that you enjoyed the tour and the commentary provided. SInce Covid19 many restaurants in the region that cater for groups with volumes of travelers have not re-opened..Thus we are very limited with the options to provide an organised lunch stop. We have no problem with travelers bringing their own packed lunch. We will bring your review to the attention of the restaurant management..
star-5
Love the trip to Masade and Death Sea
EinarThor_J
, Mar 2022
Verry good tour, learn a lot about Masade han Israel. The tour guide was very good and full of knowledge about the places we drowed through and visit. And on the top of it all, we got sightseeing in Yerico. We love this trip.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thanks so much for sharing on this platform this complementary review of your memorable tour experience with us. Hope you will tour with us again soon.
star-5
Great experience in Masada and Dead Sea!
Miguel_R
, Mar 2022
The trip was really amazing, I don’t want to spoil it anymore than that, book the trip, also Ruben was very helpful and answered every question we had
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fun trip to Masada and Dead Sea
Maria_H
, Mar 2020
Our tour guide, Dan Porges was incredible. He had a lot of information and was very engaging the whole tour. The tour was fun and the timing between locations was planned out perfectly. The only thing was we were made to wait at the sales pitch places way too long (the dead seas soap shops), but it had nothing to do with the guide. Great trip!
star-4
Would recommend
Frances_C
, Mar 2020
Reliable pick up and prompt responses to questions about the tour. The guide was knowledgeable, and overall it was worth the time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour
FrancoisGM
, Feb 2020
Wonderful tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The History of Masada is truly enriching. Bathing in the Dead Sea at 430 meters below sea level in extremely salty water is quite an experience.
star-5
A Good Tour Guide Makes All The Difference
Ammar_N
, Feb 2020
Tours are often made or broken by the quality of the tour guide, which is why I want to dedicate this review to highlighting the excellence of my guide: Dan Porges. Before going into detail about why I am to appreciate of Dan, I would recommend a visit to Masada to anyone with an interest in either history or geology - it has plenty to offer on both counts. The Dead Sea portion of the tour was pleasant enough, if you enjoy that sort of thing. Now, on to the reason I will never forget this tour: Dan was extremely knowledgeable and highly polished in his presentation - it was quite evident that he was an experienced guide, but also that he genuinely enjoyed what he was doing. I do, however, have more than a passing reason to be grateful to Dan, as I endured an experience during this tour that most tourists dread whilst abroad - I misplaced my wallet during our stop at Masada. I realised this only when our group arrived at the Dead Sea resort and was, as you would expect, rather panicked. I reached out to Dan and after a series of phone calls he not only managed to asertain that my wallet had been left behind in Masada, but also made the arrangment to have the wallet returned returned to me at my hotel in Jerusalem. In fact, Dan delivered the wallet to me personally. I will always remember the kindness of Dan and I hope that anyone who books this tour has the absoluate privilege of having him as their guide.
star-4
Good tour
califwayoflife
, Feb 2020
The pick up was nice from our hotel Both driver and guide were good The only negative was the website should’ve included the mention that we need to bring a towel for the Dead Sea they’re not expensive but it was an unnecessary cost Ahava Factory stop was a waste of time .I would have preferred to have more time at Dead Sea.
star-4
Great day out - recommended!
Monika_W
, Dec 2019
Great trip to Masada and Dead Sea. We have managed to float in Dead Sea despite winter temperatures. Our guide Drora was very friendly and knowledgeable. I would have preferred for lunch to be included in the price. Also, personally would have preferred to stop at En Gedi to visit Dead Sea.
star-5
Perfect trip.
Art_P
, Dec 2019
Terrific trip, terrific guide, terrific experience. We greatly enjoyed everything - from Masada and the Dead Sea to the fantastic stories by the guide, Dorit Epstein. Strongly recommended!
star-5
Great way to see Masada and the Dead Sea
Heidi H
, Dec 2019
I agree with other reviewers that the pickup and shuffling onto the right buses was a little chaotic, and that the stop at the Ahava factory store was unnecessary. However, I loved this day. Our guide, Ruben, did a very good job. We got a good feel for Masada, and it was enough time at the Dead Sea, perhaps because the weather was not great. We did go in the water, though, and it was a really good experience. This was totally worth it, and I would do it or another tour from this company again.
star-5
Excellent trip
JACINTO_M
, Dec 2019
I went on this trip with my mom and aunt, both senior citizens. This is my 2nd time on tour and first for my seniors. The story of Masada has always intrigued me. Sagi, our guide has made the tour highly educational and entertaining for me and my seniors. The difference with the other tours is that Sagi has made sure he knows all the names of his 22 tourists and that we are all comfortable with each other. Ending: fantastic tour with people who sre all from Planet Earth, living in different countries like the Philippines, Thailand, Spain, Germany, Japan, Fiji, US, Holland and Cape Verde, among others! With them, i saw a world thats diverse, very happy and full of love!
star-3
Not enough time on Masada!
Susan_S
, Dec 2019
On the way to Masada we stopped at an Ahava outlet store for over 30 minutes. Totally unnecessary and a waste of precious time! When we got there the guide did not tell us that there was a museum. Lunch break was about 40 minutes. We did not want to eat as we had brought our own food to eat on the bus. Guide said we were leaving at a certain time but kept the entire group waiting for 15 minutes. Had we known there was a museum we could have spent close to an hour in it rather than being in tourist trap shops. Only had about 1 hour on Masada, which was not enough time. Though the time we were there the guide did give us a lot of good and useful information. The dead sea was a lot of fun and we felt as if we had enough time there. We have taken tours with Viator all over the world and have recommended them to family and friends. This is the 1st time we were disappointed with 1 of their tours.
star-4
Outstanding Trip except for Pick up and Drop off.
Destination316993
, Nov 2019
Our guide Ofir was very knowledgeable and gave just the right amount of information about the Dead Sea and the UNESCO World Heritage Site - Masada without overloading us. He was a great tour leader. The pick up and drop off was really lengthy and complicated because of trying to accommodate everyone. It took almost as long to go from place to place to drop people off as to drive from Masada to Jerusalem. It would have been better if two or three points were set up and people could take taxis from there if required.
star-4
Good day
Steve_R
, Oct 2019
Masada was great with powerful vistas and great archeology Dead Sea was a good experience however be careful the sea bottom at the beach is very difficult
star-5
Madada Dead Sea day trip
FrancinaJacoba_C
, Oct 2019
We had an amazing experience. The driver picked us up on time and made sure we arrived safely. Our guide Daniel(Danny) was very helpful and could explain alot about the region, history and current situation. Pace was good.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem
Masada and the Dead Sea Day Trip from Jerusalem

star-4512

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$111.00

star-4.558

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$106.00

star-4.5181

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

star-4.511

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$155.00

star-412

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$111.00

star-584

4 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$61.00

star-410

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.00

star-4.586

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$90.00

star-484

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$125.00

Explore Similar Things to Do