Recent Searches
Clear

Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cercado de Lima, Peru
Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima

From $68.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Taste your way through historic Lima on an evening food tour that combines local landmarks with a series of food and drink tastings. Since Lima draws foods and traditions from all around the country, you’ll have the chance to try a wide range of treats, with a local guide to help find the very best versions among the overwhelming options in the city center.
  • Itinerary features key landmarks and historic sites
  • Enjoy included tastings—with the chance to purchase even more snacks
  • Group size is limited to 10 people for personal service or small groups
Saved to wishlist!
13 Food tasting
Beverages
All activities
Local guide
Dinner
Snacks
Pick-up and drop off
Local 18% sales tax, which can be exonerated sending us a passport scan/photo of every participant

Departure Point

Jirón de la Unión 986, Cercado de Lima 15001, Peru

Jirón de la Unión 958, Cercado de Lima 15001, Peru, at the front door of the Gran Hotel Bolivar in the famous Plaza San Martin in the historic Center of Lima.

Return Details

Jirón Camaná 189, Cercado de Lima 15001, Peru
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Send us a photo of your passport ID page via email (pass@exquisitoperu.com) or WhatsApp (+51 915 155 430) before the tour and for all the tour participants. We will also need your date of entry to Peru. Sending your passport ID page, allow us to exonerate yourself from the 18% local tax. We're providing it to the Peruvian government, and it confirms them you're real visitors, and not living in the country. If you want to be exonerated from the tax, it's really important to send us your passport photo at least 1 day before the tour, otherwise, we'll have to send you a payment link corresponding to the amount of the tax
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for vegans
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Exquisito Peru - Experiencias Culinarias SAC

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

5.0
star-5
84 Reviews
3 stars
0
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 84 reviews
star-5
Must See
Ashley_C
, Aug 2021
This tour was absolutely amazing. Its a must when visiting Lima. Our Guide Ximena was very good and explained everything. She was also fun to be around during the tour.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello Ashley, Thank you for this great review!! We are sincerely happy that you enjoyed your tour this way, as your guide Ximena! Thank you for choosing a second tour with us too, that's truly amazing! I'm sure you will have a great time with Ximena in Barranco today! Best regards, Emilie
star-5
Xiamen is awesome
Zola_B
, Aug 2021
Xiamen was such a good tour guide. We had a good time with her, she's knowledgeable and made sure nobody bothered us.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello Zola, Thank you so much for this amazing review! We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your food tour in the historic center of Lima with Ximena! I hope your tour in Barranco will be as great as this one!! Saludos, Émilie
star-1
Not knowledgeable late, couldn’t hear her with only three people, horrible horrible not Street food all restaurants
Frank_K
, Feb 2020
Big big disappointment, this Tour was a complete lie, it shows fire a grill shish kebabs on the street and tables in the background looking like it’s outdoor and you’re going to have all this grilled food and really cool and there was no street food at all we stopped by four places they were all horrible foods one was greasy fried dough with sugar, one was beer and some chips one was a pork sandwich with bread an inch thick dry it out. I didn’t stay around for the last one I was so disappointed and the guide didn’t know much else going on so soft spoken you could even hear her and she touched on gas stone one of the top chefs in the whole country that open the cooking school I had to tell more about him and his wife the pastry chef and the cooking school that they opened and where he went to school and Europe where he went to court I’m blue in France and I actually knew more than she did which is really sad because I just learned it earlier in the day, I definitely want to get my money back on that disappointment anyway
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear Frank, Thank you for taking the time to review our experience. First of all I'd like to point out our guide wasn't late, and we have proof of that – we do GPS tracking via Whatsapp and the two other people on the tour, who wrote a great review, didn't report this. Our food tour in the historic center is not solely based on street food, which you missed as you left the tour more than an hour before it ends, but also on visiting old taverns. It's in the tour description, detailed stop by stop, we do not lie. The places we select are very popular among locals, and we can understand that they were not to your taste and we are sorry about that. However, we find that "horrible" is a bit exaggerated. The greasy fried dough with sugar is called churro, which is often the highlight of the tour as you can read in all the other reviews. Upon checking with our guide and the other people on the tour, they all mentioned that you were distant and not interested in listening to the others. Our guides all know about Astrid Gutsche and Gaston Acurio very well, however as it's not the point of this tour, thinking about the other clients (it's a shared service after all), she decided to focus on the places and foods that are included in the tour. It happens that some people know more than us in certain fields, and that's great. We know more than them in other areas. We like to think of our tours as vehicles for knowledge and cultural exchange – it only works if everyone is open-minded though. Although we disagree with most of what you are saying (some terms are borderline defamatory), we are sorry that our experience didn't meet your expectations and we hope that you'll have more luck with future bookings.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful Taste of Lima
sanewk002
, Feb 2020
Our Lima Tour was great!! My husband & I traveled by cruise ship to the port of Callao. We were required to take a bus from the port to the Miraflores area - 45min. ride. The tour company set up our transportation by taxi from Miraflores to Lima Center which was key for us as we do not speak any Spanish. Our tour guide, Desireé, spoke excellent English and gave us detailed historical information as we walked from venue to venue to taste the delicious food & drink that was offered for our tour. There was an abundance of food offered - no worries there!! She also made sure our return to Miraflores was flawless. Desireé was a very sweet lady & provided us a perfect "Taste of Lima"!!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hey! Thank you very much for this great review! We are so glad to hear that our food tour in the historic center of Lima with Desirée, trying all the wonderful street food Peru can offer, has pleased you. Please do let us know if you ever visit Lima again – it would be great to connect with you again, and show you Lima through our other tours! Saludos, Jessy
star-5
Wow, the food of Peru!
jdtracy1
, Jan 2020
Guide Galia was great. There were only three people on our tour, so it was really nice. SO much food. All very tasty with a wonderful representation of the combination of different cultures that make food in Lima amazing. Recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hey Jean, Thank you very much for the review! We are so glad to hear that our food tour in the historic center of Lima with Galia, trying all the wonderful street food Peru can offer, has pleased you. Please do let us know if you ever visit Lima again – it would be great to connect with you again! We have plenty of other tours that might interest you! Saludos, Jessy
star-5
Make this tour a priority
Warren N
, Oct 2019
One of the best tours I've been on in S America! We had to cut it short due to an ailing injury but Lorenza introduced us to some incredibly tasty and native treats I'm sure I would not have discovered on my own. She was very knowledgeable, accommodating, and friendly to me and my parents. I have to come back and do this again!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you so much Warren for sharing your feedback! We were a little bit sad to learn that you were not able to have the full experience because of your dad's knee issue, but what an amazing review! Please, reach out any time if you come back to Lima, we have so much more to show you :) Thanks again, Enjoy the rest of your stay to Peru, Emilie
star-5
Great tour!
JeanV433
, Oct 2019
We had Nathaly as our guide and she is amazing. My best tour so far with Viator. Nathaly is very knowledgeable and very nice. It felt like hanging out with a friend. The food that we tried are really good! Best chicken soup I've ever tried! Go to the tour with empty stomach so you have enough space for all the delicious food!
star-5
Excellent evening with Nathaly
L2155VZnadined
, Sep 2019
Excellent evening with Nathaly, who explained a lot about the history of Peru and especially the foods and drink, we got to a point where we could really not eat any more. Good value for money, and a great insight into Peruvian food and culture. Highly recomended.
star-5
Great Communication
Tonya C
, Aug 2019
The tour operator was great in accommodating me when I ran late for the tour! She promptly responded to any questions I had. As far as the tour, the food was ok. I didn't care for the restaurants included but the guide Desiree was outstanding and funny. She knows Peruvian food and culture. Thanks Desiree for being a great guide.
star-5
Ohhhh yes. I learned so much about...
jess.tseng130
, Sep 2018
Ohhhh yes. I learned so much about Peruvian food, culture, and history from my tour guide Gonzalo. He is very knowledgeable. The restaurants and food stands that we visited were all very very yummy Peruvian local foods that usually tourists will not know about. There is definitely a difference when you go eat with a local and as a tourist. I loved every food and everything I learned about this tour. Thank you so much and you will finish your tour with a delicious authentic local beer! Cheers!

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima
Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima

star-584

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$68.00

star-556

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.18

star-590

3 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$39.00

star-52

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.64

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

star-4195

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$39.00

star-00

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00

star-4419

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$39.00

star-00

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.24

Explore Similar Things to Do