Recent Searches
Clear

Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise

|
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon50 minutes  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 7 more

Overview

Join us for a River Explorer Cruise aboard our world-famous Mersey Ferry. For just under an hour, you can sit back, relax and soak in the riverside scenery and landmarks that have put Liverpool on the map. Our expert commentary will make you feel right at home as you discover the things that make our city region so vibrant today. The cruise is a 'must do' as part of any visit to Liverpool.
  • Audio commentary on board the River Mersey cruise
Saved to wishlist!
Roundtrip ferry
Historical commentary in English - Various language sheets are available on request.
Gratuities
Hotel pick-up and drop off
Pier Head , Liverpool L3 1DP, UK
4/1/2022 - 8/31/2022
Monday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Tuesday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Wednesday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Thursday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Friday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Saturday:10:00 AM - 06:00 PM
Sunday:10:00 AM - 06:00 PM
9/1/2022 - 10/31/2022
Monday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Tuesday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Wednesday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Thursday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Friday:10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Saturday:10:00 AM - 06:00 PM
Sunday:10:00 AM - 06:00 PM
11/1/2022 - 12/31/2022
Monday - Sunday:11:00 AM - 03:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
Listen to colorful audio commentary about Liverpool’s riverside history, speckled with stories of smuggling, war, and music—all influential players in the city's development. Catch impressive views of Liverpool’s key riverside landmarks and hop off wherever you’d like to explore—another boat will be by to pick you up shortly. 
Itinerary
Pass By:  
The Beatles Story
View from the river
Pass By:  
Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King Liverpool
View from the river
Pass By:  
Liverpool Cathedral
View from the river
Pass By:  
Royal Liver Building 360
View from the river
Pass By:  
Museum of Liverpool
View from the river
Pass By:  
Arena and Convention Centre Liverpool
View from the river
Pass By:  
Tate Liverpool
View from the river
Pass By:  
Merseyside Maritime Museum
View from the River
Pass By:  
Royal Albert Dock Liverpool
View from the River
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Coffee shop & restrooms can be found on-board the ferry
  • Voucher is valid for anytime on day of travel - The Cruise departs on the hour every hour from Liverpool. Just arrive at least 25 minutes beforehand to redeem your voucher as the ferry leaves on the hour.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Mersey Ferries
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It would be great if there was a longer tour that allowed you to stop off at multiple places for a while…like a full River Mersey Cruise." See review
  • "The cruise was popular as there were a lot of people, but the boat was not too crowded." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
603 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 603 reviews
star-4
Liverpool trip
Anth_C
, Aug 2022
It was a really nice experience would definitely recommend it it to my friends and family thanks to the staff
star-1
Bad communication
Emma_S
, Jul 2022
Turned up to the Dock for our river cruise to find it was closed that day and the day before. Will be requesting refund.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
We are so sorry that we had to cancel the Ferry cruise - this was due to a sudden technical fault with the vessel. We did immediately put information on our social media platforms but as the issue was unexpected we appreciate some customers would have already arrived for the cruise. All refunds received from Viator have been authorised, so Viator should now have refunded you. Again apologises for any inconvenience caused.
star-3
I didn't cache it. They told me it's end at 4PM
Mufareh_A
, Jul 2022
I didn't cache it. They told me it's end at 4PM. I did see it on the website but they got me to get in for 10 mins to see without touring.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
I am sorry to hear this please can you let me know what date you travelled so we can clarify the situation by emailing travelagents@liverpoolcityregion-ca.gov.uk - thank you
star-1
Just a ferry
Robert_A
, Jul 2022
Its just the Birkenhead-Liverpool Mersey ferry, painted in fancy colours to make it look fun with a recorded commentary which you cannot hear. Just making extra money out of tourists. It hardly goes anywhere, just across the river and back with a few extra yards thrown in. Spend your money on a bus tour.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you for leaving us this feedback , we do appreciate it. We have passed your comments to our operations team. The commentary occasionally gets very slightly out of sync due to the tides and prevailing winds and we are looking at new technology to help improve this. We do benchmark our cruise price against other city centre river cruises to ensure a fair price.
star-3
Could do better
John_H
, Jul 2022
Great to see the City from the river as well as to understand the importance of the opposite ie Birkenhead side of the estuary. Need new speakers on the ferry as the music is totally distorted and spoilt. Also need a better syncing of the commentary to where the ferry is physically at on the river as often what is being spoken about is not in sight
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
John, Thank you for taking time to review the River Cruise. I am sorry that the commentary on this day was distorted I shall pass this information onto our service delivery team.
star-5
Nice we cruise Accross...
john_s
, Jul 2022
Nice we cruise Accross The river,informative, relaxing, I could have cruised all day Would recommend to family and friends
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for this 5 star review John. It is lovely to hear that you found the ferry so informative and relaxing. Thank you for recommending us.
star-4
Good value for money
Michelle_C
, Jul 2022
Great value for money although I bought and paid for my tickets in advance and when I turned up to collect I was told they had expired!!! For the day they were booked !!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for the 4 stars, we are glad you enjoyed the cruise and found it value for money. I'm not sure what would have happened with your tickets but pleased you got to enjoy the ferry.
star-5
Liverpool
Jane_S
, Jul 2022
Recommend the ferry ride Beautiful views of liverpool Fabulous drinks and snack bar We enjoyed the trip would highly recommend
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for the 5 stars Jane. It is great to hear you would recommend us. We are glad you enjoyed the experience.
star-5
Nice ride on the Mersey
Juan_S
, Jul 2022
One of my tours canceled at the last minute, so I decided to give this less than an hour long tour a go. It didn’t disappoint, very informative, shared interesting bits of Liverpool history. If you’ve got an hour to burn, it’s worthwhile.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for the lovely review Juan, we are pleased you decided to give us a go and really enjoyed it. We appreciate your feedback.
star-5
Lovely
Louise_B
, Jul 2022
Thoroughly enjoyed having a wee refreshment onboard the Mersey river cruise. Highly recommend to everyone. Took roughly an hour. Arrive in plenty time as very busy.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for the 5 stars Louise , we are glad you enjoyed your cruise ( and the refreshment!)
star-5
An enjoyable trip
Arshad_M
, Jul 2022
A nice informative trip which is great for learning about Liverpools history and finding something to do for a few years
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you very much for giving us 5 stars - we do appreciate it.
star-3
Nice Trip however wasn’t the colourful boat
Carol_E
, Jul 2022
We booked this trip for my partners dads birthday as we was spending the weekend in Liverpool. The trip was very informative and plenty of space on the boat. The weather was beautiful which is always a bonus. The only disappointment was that it wasn’t the bright colourful boat as shown in majority of the pictures, we had a boat that was blue and white which is shown briefly in one picture. It would have been nice to have the bright boat but still is a lovely trip.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for leaving us this feedback Carol and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your ferry trip. Both our Mersey Ferries are heritage vessels and have to be taken out of service every so often for maintenance so this is the reason you didn't see our Dazzle Ferry.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Shame
Derek_P
, Jul 2022
We could not hear the commentary and feel we have wasted £23. It seemed a good trip, shame we could not enjoy it. We are in Liverpool today-can we go again for free, and we will make sure we can hear the commentary this time. Derek Pritchard
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
I’m so sorry you were not able to hear the commentary. We do undertake regular sound checks and this was last done on Friday. We will check this again with our operation team.
star-5
Good value for money
Rhea_P
, Jun 2022
Excellent tour, was quite windy but otherwise brilliant and informative. My only complaint was the sound quality of the Ferry Cross the Mersey song. It was dire, like it was being played in a tin can.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for giving us 5 stars Rhea, we are glad you enjoyed your ferry trip. We will pass on your comments about the sound quality to our operations team.
star-4
Fun river cruise
Swede
, Jun 2022
It was cool seeing Liverpool from the river. The only negative was the sound system on board. It was loud and distorted and often hard to understand the details of what was being spoken. Apart from that it was relaxing (someone else was doing the driving). The wind was pretty high but it still wasn't too cold or unpleasant. Fun time
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your review and comments. So glad you enjoyed the cruise even with the high winds. Many apologies for the commentary I shall pass this comment over to our operations team. Hope to see you again soon!
star-1
False advertising
Karen_B
, Jun 2022
Not the boat in the picture just an ordinary boat no atmosphere and you couldn’t hear the comentery and it was all out of sync
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Karen, thank you for taking time out to send your review. So sorry your trip was disappointing, The Dazzle Ferry (Snowdrop) was scheduled to operate this day but due to operational issues we had to change vessels - we do put a disclaimer on our website if this incident ever occurs. With regards to the commentary, I shall pass this onto our operations team to rectify.
star-4
Chill back and enjoy
Steve_N
, Jun 2022
The sun was out and reflecting on the colourful boat and the Mersey. Great historical information and cheerful and helpful staff.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Steve, thank you for your lovely review. So glad the sun came out! Liverpool and the River Mersey sparkles when the sun has got it's hat on. Hope to see you again soon.
star-5
Boat trip
Fiona_T
, Jun 2022
Boat trip was great very nice day and very busy very calm day also very cheap trip and tannoy told us about places on trip
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Fiona, Thank you so much for your 5 star review! So glad you had a nice time and the weather was kind. Come back soon.
star-4
Cruise on the Mersey
Steven_K
, Jun 2022
Explanation and history of the docks and associated buildings. Information of forthcoming Cruise liners destined for Liverpool in the future sounds exciting.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Steven, so glad you found the commentary interesting you must come back again when a cruise liner is in Liverpool, as viewing them from the Mersey Ferries is a lovely trip!
star-4
Great river trip
Gillian_M
, Jun 2022
Colourful boat, easy boarding and lots of seating with a view. Great views of the city from the river, informative commentary of places of interest along the tour. We enjoyed the trip and would recommend to our friends.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Gillian, thank you so much for your lovely review so glad you enjoyed it! hope to see you again soon

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise
Liverpool: 50-Minute Mersey River Cruise

star-4603

50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$14.12

star-5311

1 hour 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$19.64

star-546

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$34.37

star-512

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$27.01

star-55

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$34.37

star-54

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.19

star-5453

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$21.48
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations