Recent Searches
Clear

Canterbury Cathedral, Dover Castle & White Cliffs Guided Day Tour from London

|
Greater London, United Kingdom
Canterbury Cathedral, Dover Castle & White Cliffs Guided Day Tour from London
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Journey to England’s south-eastern coast on this full-day small-group tour of Dover and Canterbury from London. Drive through the scenic Kent countryside to the historic port of Dover, overlooked by the dramatic White Cliffs of Dover and enjoy free time to explore attractions like the medieval Dover Castle, war tunnels, Royal Court of Henry II and more. After lunch, head to Canterbury to visit the UNESCO-listed Canterbury Cathedral, the seat of the Church of England, then use your free time to explore attractions like St. Martin’s Church, St. Augustine’s Abbey, or The Beaney House of Art and Knowledge.
  • Comprehensive tour of Canterbury and Doverby bus/coach
  • All entrance fees included
  • Visit the UNESCO-listed Canterbury Cathedral and Dover Castle
  • Escape the city for a day and explore the countryside on a small-group tour
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Pickup and drop-off from designated meeting points
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food and drinks
Gratuities
London Bridge Station (Stop R) , London SE1 2SX, UK

Please meet your Tour Guide at 9:00 am at London Bridge, Bus Stop R, on Tooley Street, SE1 2SW

9:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Itinerary is a guide, and the order of the visits may vary
  • This tour involves a fair amount of walking to get around the sites and we recommend the wearing of comfortable clothes & walking shoes
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Not recommended for travellers with serious mobility issues
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 35 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Anderson Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Canterbury Cathedral, Dover Castle & White Cliffs Guided Day Tour from London?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Canterbury Cathedral, Dover Castle & White Cliffs Guided Day Tour from London.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Canterbury Cathedral, Dover Castle & White Cliffs Guided Day Tour from London?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Canterbury Cathedral, Dover Castle & White Cliffs Guided Day Tour from London.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "At this time of year it would seem better to go to Oxford first." See review
  • "Just be prepared for a LOT of walking up and down a lot of hilly terrain on this tour - we felt bad for the older folks in walkers or that were not as ambulatory that were huffing and puffing." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
141 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 141 reviews
star-1
Good sites to visit and poor tour
Janice_M
, Jun 2022
The locations were good and scenic. The bus driver Brian was not friendly and the tour guide Yasmine gave us very little info on the sites visited and was not personable at all. Basically took us as quickly at possible to the entrance gave us our entrance tickets then disappeared no where to be seen til we returned to the bus. There was also no wifi on the bus. If you past Yasmine on the street she didn’t even acknowledge you when others on the tour recognized us. Also she walked way to fast and left the slow people on the tour behind struggling to catch up when walking to the site entrances. As a result we were very disappointed in the tour which was costly and we got little for it other then being driven to the sites which we could have done ourselves. Anderson tours for this tour with this bus driver and tour guide was terrible.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Janice, We are so very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Yasmin is actually a fairly new tour guide to us, but we have received 5 star reviews from other customers on this same day, so we are not too sure why you found the experience so much worse than others did. We do not advertise WIFI on our coaches, as coach WIFI is very patchy in the UK anyway so we would rather not provide a service than advertise one that will not be of a high enough quality anyway. Most guiding is done from the coach, so that travellers can use the time at the sites to explore them at their own pace. Dover Castle is very big, for example, and people have different interests and preferences so often want to see different parts of it. Most people find this mix of guiding and free time enjoyable, we are sorry that you did not or if it was not what you were expecting. We will speak to Yasmin to make sure she is extra careful that any slow walkers in the group are able to keep up with her in future, we are sorry if you felt she walked too fast. Terrible seems like a harsh way to describe what sounds like minor issues, but we are extremely sorry that you feel that way. Perhaps a private tour that is catered to your precise requirements would be more to your liking. We hope you enjoyed your holiday to the UK regardless!
star-5
Beautiful
Helen_S
, Jun 2022
Lovely guide, beautiful places. Very good experience. Lots a friendly people on the tour as well and good to talk to when you are on your own
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Helen, We are very happy to hear you had such a great time on our tour. We hope you get to travel with us again in future, take care!
star-5
Excellent tour.
Vicki_C
, Jun 2022
Overall the tour was well managed and the tour guide was knowledgeable. It was awesome that we were able to see so many sights in one day.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks so much for your positive feedback! We hope you travel with us again soon.
star-5
Amazing sites amazing tour
Jocelyn_M
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide was awesome always making sure everyone knew the history behind things, was comfortable. She was making sure that everyone got what they wanted out of the tour and offered to take photographs at sites when she noticed you taking selfies.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Jocelyn, Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so happy to hear that you had a great time. Take care!
star-3
Dover was awesome
Laurie_B
, Jun 2022
The most memorable was the Dover castle & the war tunnels. And the white cliffs too. The Canterbury Cathedral was amazing but we didn’t have enough time at Dover castle to explore all of it and we had too much time at Cantebury. It would be better to balance that out. The reason i gave the trip a 3 and not higher was due to the bus. The seats had so little room we couldn’t fit our legs behind the seats. And there weren’t enough sears for me & my husband to sit together. That was unfortunate.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Laurie Thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear you were uncomfortable on the journey. All the vehicles are standard, modern coaches to the latest Euro 6 specifications with standard sized seating. There is a lot to see at Dover Castle, with several war tunnels, the Great Tower and the Roman light house. We are glad you got to explore one of the tunnels and hope you were able to climb the Tower too. It is a large castle with a lot to see. Kind Regards Anderson Tours
star-5
Spectacular Sights of England
Jennifer_S
, Jun 2022
We enjoyed all of this your. From the tour guide and bus operator to the stunning views of the White Cliffs of Dover, the Dover Castle, and spectacular Canterbury Cathedral. Our tour guide was was very knowledgeable and friendly. Giving tips on areas to see and places to eat. It was an easy way to see all of these sights without worrying about directions, parking, tickets to each area. I will definitely recommend this tour to friends. It’s a must see if visiting the the UK.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi Jennifer, Thanks so much for your kind review! We are very happy to hear that you had such a good time.
star-5
Wonderful trip!
Michele_N
, Jun 2022
Maria, our guide and Ricardo, our driver were wonderful. There was plenty of time at each location. We loved Dover castle. We went on a Sunday so traffic was light getting out of London. The weather was beautiful too! There is a lot of walking
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful words! We are delighted that you had a great day out and hope you travel with us again in the future. Take care!
star-5
Wonderful outing
Andrea_H
, Jun 2022
Trip was a pleasure. Liz was a wonderful tour guide. She was clear, informative, and entertaining. Just the right amount. The tour provided the perfect amount of time at each stop. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Andrea Thank you for your lovely review and we will pass on your compliments to Liz. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your day and hope you can travel with us again. Kind Regards Anderson Tours
star-3
Can skip this trip!
Radhika_B
, Jun 2022
It was an average trip , we thought we would get more time in Dover and white cliffs , but we were given three hours in Canterbury and that was not at all required, we simply roamed the streets of the city and there was nothing much to see. If same time were given to us in White cliffs we would have enjoyed more walking down the beach as it was a pleasant day.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback, it is very valuable for us to try and improve our tour. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy Canterbury very much. It would be very helpful for us to know which date you travelled on, so we can find out the timings given on that date, but unfortunately we do not provide time to walk on the beach in Dover usually, as there isn't enough time - we usually provide around 45mins-1hr to view the sea and white cliffs from the high vantage viewing point, as we find this works well with the day's itinerary and most people enjoy it. We are really very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the trip as much as most of our customers do, and will definitely take your feedback on board for future trips.
star-5
A Pilgrimage through History
Joni_T
, Jun 2022
Guide and driver were great. Guide knowledgeable and driver was safe and clearly knew how to navigate the route. Both were very friendly
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your wonderful review; we are so pleased that you enjoyed your day out with us. Best Wishes!
star-3
Not worth the money
Francine_B
, Jun 2022
This tour should indicate clearly that a high level of physical fitness is required. All three attractions require a lot of walking and climbing. The visit at the cliffs is somewhat disappointing. Very limited portion of the cliffs visible. The guide failed to indicate restrooms and food locations. After a two hour drive she should wait for people to use the facilities. She also walked too fast even for me who is in good shape. Not worth the money.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We do actually specify in the tour details that this tour involves a significant amount of walking if you want to experience all the sites thoroughly, but will look into making the information more prominent - sorry if you were not aware. Your feedback about the tour guide is very valuable, as she is a new guide to us so perhaps is in need of some further training. We are so sorry to hear that you didn't feel our tour was worth the money and would be happy to offer you a discount off another tour if there is anywhere else you would like to go. Our Canterbury & Dover tour is usually very popular and gets a lot of 5-star reviews, so we will do our best to take your feedback into account to ensure a 5-star experience for customers in the future.
star-5
Dover, Cliffs, and Canterbury
Staci_C
, May 2022
Dover Castle, the cliffs, and Canterbury were all amazing and definitely worth visiting! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and she gave us an optional short tour in Canterbury at the end of the day which was phenomenal. Per usual, you never have enough time to fully visit the locations, but you really do get to see a lot. I do wish we had had time to check out the WWII tunnels at Dover castle, but hopefully we can explore them another time.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review, and we hope you are able to get back to Dover Castle to explore more of it. It is a big castle with so many parts to see and discover!
star-5
Don’t miss this tour! Worth seeing!
Amelia_B
, May 2022
I absolutely loved this tour! There is a lot of walking involved, so wear comfortable shoes. The scenery at Dover Cliffs & Castle was amazing! I loved Canterbury Cathedral & the town. I highly recommend this tour!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Amelia, Thanks so much for your enthusiastic review! We are delighted that you enjoyed these locations as much as we do. We hope you travel with us again soon!
star-5
Great tour!
Audrey_G
, May 2022
Great tour guide. Well timed stops. Fascinating sites. Highly recommend! Bus was modern and clean. Five stars
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Audrey, Thanks so much for your kind words! We are delighted to hear that you had such a good time with us. We hope you travel with us again soon :)
star-5
Great day out!
Brian_W
, May 2022
Great tour and Michael took us to the Beach and the cliffs. He was a great guide and I would recommend my friends or anyone for this tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Brian, Thank you so much for your glowing review of one of our most popular days out! We really appreciate you recommending it to others too, we hope you or your friends travel with us again soon.
star-5
Amazing
Kelsey_M
, May 2022
Fantastic experience. Each place was breathtaking and our guide was great. Definitely worthwhile to go.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Kelsey, Thank you so much for your review! So glad you had such a memorable time. Take care!
star-5
An amazing tour!!..
Hiral_U
, May 2022
A wonderful experience and one of the best tours ive had. Our tour guide Brendan was superb, knowledgeable and very helpful, bus ride was very comfortable! Loved all the three places-totally beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour!! 👍🏼
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Wow, thank you so much for your generous and kind review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour so much. Please don't hesitate to book another day tour or weekend break from London with us again in future. Take care!
star-4
Very good
Jennifer_Z
, Apr 2022
Cathedral was Simply stunning! Wished we could have had more time in Dover Castle and the cliffs. Driver/guide was very knowledgeable and insightful.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Jennifer Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the experience, especially the beautiful cathedral at Canterbury. On a nice day the castle and cliffs at Dover are a lovely place to be, but there's only so much we can do in a day. Kind Regards Anderson Tours
star-5
This is a great tour…....
Ann_G
, Mar 2022
This is a great tour…. Exploring Dover Castle, the white cliffs of Dover, the adorable town of Canterbury and the Canterbury Cathedral. Our tour guide, Brandon, was very knowledgeable. We loved getting the background information and then being let go to explore on our own.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the places, the tour guide, and the structure of the tour that includes both guided commentary and free time to explore. We hope you travel with us again soon, and take care!
star-5
Fantastic day
Roubina_M
, Mar 2022
Great day out. Canterbury is amazing and majestic. I loved the fact that we had enough time to explore all three locations
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hi Roubin Thank you for your lovely review and we are happy to hear you had a fantastic day out. We hope you can travel with us again. Kind Regards Anderson Tours

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Canterbury Cathedral, Dover Castle & White Cliffs Guided Day Tour from London
Likely to Sell Out
Canterbury Cathedral, Dover Castle & White Cliffs Guided Day Tour from London

star-4141

10 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$129.76

star-418

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$80.33

star-4.5938

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$122.35

star-52

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$253.35

star-442

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.26

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$273.12

star-4242

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$113.70

star-33

11 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$97.63
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations