Recent Searches
Clear

Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure

|
Colonnata, Italy
Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours 18 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Journey deep into the jagged world of the Carrara marble quarries on this 4WD adventure. Exploring with a guide in a group no larger than six, discover the “white gold” that built the Pantheon and Michelangelo’s David. Learn about ancient and modern excavation techniques at a historic quarry; tour an open sky quarry, a terraced quarry, and an underground quarry; and taste the local marble-aged cold cut, “lardo di Colonnata”.
  • Explore the surreal landscapes of the Carrara marble quarries by 4WD
  • Enjoy personal attention from your guide in a group no larger than six
  • Sample the area’s signature cold cut, “lardo di Colonnata”
  • Learn about the different techniques used to mine this precious rock
Saved to wishlist!
1 licensed guide service
1 tour by 4x4 vehicles
1 Lardo of Colonnata IGP tasting
Insurance (by law)
Marble quarries tour
everything not mentioned in inclusions
Strada Comunale per Colonnata, 1 , Strada Comunale per Colonnata, 1, 54033 Colonnata MS, Italy
2:15 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Possible pick-up/ drop-off at Carrara-Avenza train station or at the camping sites located in Marina di Massa, please ask for more information
  • Wear comfortable shoes and clothes
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Curioseety SRLS
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The ride up the mountain on hairpin turns in a rattling old Jeep was worth the price of admission alone!!" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
72 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews
star-4
Very interesting to see...
Melinda_H
, Jun 2022
Very interesting to see the marble. Detailed english guide, steep roads. The tour leader was not kind.
star-5
Definitely worth the time and money
Ryan_B
, Jun 2022
Absolutely awesome. 4x4 roads were fun. Beautiful mountains. Fascinating to see all aspects of mining marble. Highly recommend.
star-5
Fantastic Carrara tour
Donna_V
, Jun 2022
The excursion is fantastic and I highly recommend it. It is truly mind boggling and amazing. And includes a white knuckle drive with hairpin turns - and sometimes going down them in reverse. You will never look at marble the same way. My only feedback is that the owner is rude, sexist and condescending. But I would still highly recommend the tour.
star-4
Worth it if you're into geology. Skip it if you don't like roughing it.
Kathleen_L
, May 2022
The tour was awesome, the driver very knowledgeable. However, the drive is very bumpy and not good for those with back or hip issues. Don't wear good shoes, they get mucked up with marble mud.
star-5
Fantastic tour!
June_K
, May 2022
This tour was beyond anything we could imagine!! Our driver negotiated the jeep with unbelievable skill! I would not change anything!
star-5
Educational and Fun!
Deborah_M
, May 2022
Very interesting tour. A small convoy of 4-wheel drive jeeps will take you up winding and steep inclines until you reach points of interest. The tour guides were very informative and patient with passengers. We recommend to plan to arrive 30 minutes early to take into account travel delays in the area of the mountain (we were stuck at a tunnel for 35 minutes). We also do not recommend this tour for people with bad backs or heart problems as your ride in the back of a covered jeep is very bumpy and not very comfortable. May also want to think twice if you are easily carsick. We managed well (women aged 60-80) but there were a few others who were uncomfortable.
star-5
Vertiginous tour of the marble caves from bottom to top
Philippe_G
, Mar 2022
Very impressive tour inside the marble quarries. The drive to the top is vertiginous, impressive driving. We were two french in a group of italians, and our guide gave us very good explanations in english, very interesting. Definitely recommended tour!
star-4
Great experience
Mirjam_K
, Oct 2021
The guide was very knowledgeable and the jeep tour itself was fun too. The meeting point isn't clearly marked, we drove past it at first and since phone reception isn't that good in the valley, it wasn't easy to find it.
star-4
Excellent tour!
Michele_L
, Sep 2021
The tour was incredible! Only problem was there were no COVID safety precautions in place. Wasn’t asked for green pass or equivalent. 8-9 people in a small jeep. Other than that……excellent experience.
star-5
Thrilling!
Cynthia_O
, Sep 2021
Absolutely thrilling ride. Driver Heidi has a great passion for driving and telling us the many uses and qualities of marble. Really worthwhile. It's tricky to find the meeting place. Yes, when in doubt, keep going up!
star-5
Massive beautiful nature
David_S
, Sep 2021
The enormity of the quarries and the fact that this goes back 2000 years. And the fact that each massive block of marble is a treasure hunt.
star-5
Carrara by jeep a must
JoeMilano
, Aug 2021
Fun ride in the jeep, can't imagine now the visit any other way. The Italian guide was really informed, interesting and engaging. 100% worth it!
star-5
Famous tour
Dirk
, Jul 2021
The hole tour and that the tour was in german :). Nice people, lot of information about the marble and the region.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Not Too Be Missed
Derek_P
, May 2021
The tour guide was excellent. He had great knowledge and his sense of humour made the tour even more fun and enjoyable. This was an extremely educational and worthwhile experience that should be on everyone's itinerary when visiting this region.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Super terrible
ZIJUAN_L
, Jan 2020
First of all, I contacted the website several times about the station pick-up by calling, but nobody answers me. Later, I contacted the tour group by mail. They responded that the transfer required 15 euros per person and asked us to wait at the station at 1:30. I responded to the email said we can go to mountain meeting point by ourselves , and no one answered the email. I didn't receive the email so in the morning I re-sent it to make sure they knew. After we arrived at the station, we didn't see anyone at 1.30, so we took a taxi to the meeting point on the mountain by ourselves, but no one was found at all. In the period, no one called me or received any emails. Finally I contacting the tour group in 2:15, they informed me that they cancelled because they did not see us. We were very angry. The three of us made a special trip from Florence and now we just want to return to fund.(from booking until we arrive,nobody call us , I even ask for call back before three days, but still no one contact us.)
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
hello . sorry to hear that. first of all nobody contacted us . We asked you 2 times if the pick up at the station was ok but you only replied the night before. We also called you twice but you did not replied. So please next time please make sure you check the email properly.
star-5
AAAAAMAZING!!!
bbeecroft
, Oct 2019
The ride up the mountain on hairpin turns in a rattling old Jeep was worth the price of admission alone!! Better than any exhibition ride!! But I f you are afraid of heights, this isn’t for you! The information provided was also very interesting. It made me understand and appreciate the works of the Various Italian sculptors much better. And it made me really appreciate the beauty of the Carrara marble in my home! One of my most favourite your of all!!
star-4
Esperienza interessante
Pierpaolo_F
, Jun 2022
Visita molto interessante. Il driver /guida molto preparato e cortese. Peccato che una giovane compagna di viaggio si sia rifiutata di indossare la mascherina.
star-5
Dai Romani ai giorni nostri no stop
Francesco_M
, May 2022
Paesaggio unico, posto di una storicità nascosta che detiene in se sudore di generazioni e una cultura intensa
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Très intéressant, mais à faire avec une autre entreprise/carrière que celle proposée
JEANPAUL_I
, May 2022
Nous avons été très déçus. Difficulté à trouver le site qui était mal signalé. Accueil déplorable, limite insultant. Le dirigeant de la carrière nous a clairement dit qu'il aurait préféré être chez lui plutôt qu'à nous faire visiter un dimanche matin sous la pluie! Les commentaires techniques étaient par contre intéressants, mais pas de prise en compte des questions et aucune écoute. A aucun moment la dégustation de lard n'a été évoquée et proposée, alors que prévu, noté et payé sur le voucher. Nous vous conseillons une autre entreprise/carrière pour cette visite intéressante.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Sowas erlebt man nicht alle Tage…
Holger_H
, Apr 2022
In das Innere des Marmor Abbaus zu kommen ist schon Wahnsinn, die Jeeptour ein besonderes eindrucksvolles Erlebnis. Und Heike die Chefgattin perfekt. Kann man nur empfehlen.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure
Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure

star-472

2 hours 18 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$69.96

star-4.57

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$74.90

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.04

star-00

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.50

star-00

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$106.65

star-4.57

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.48

star-00

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$127.20

star-51

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.50
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations