Recent Searches
Clear

Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth

|
Burswood, Australia
Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon13 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore southwestern highlights on this diverse full-day tour to the Margaret River winemaking region from Perth. Along the way, visit the record-setting Busselton Jetty and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse, where the Indian and Southern Oceans meet. Enjoy a brewery lunch and samples at a boutique brewery, and stop at a local winery to taste the region’s renowned vintages. You also learn about the area’s ancient geologic history as you wander through the magnificent formations of Mammoth Cave.
  • Explore the stunning wine region of Margaret River on this full-day tour from Perth
  • Enjoy a brewery style lunch at a local Margaret River brewery, including beer and cider tastings
  • Visit one of Margaret River's many wineries and enjoy a selection of fine wines (venue may be attached to the brewery)
  • Enjoy a guided tour of Mammoth Cave, one of over 300 natural underground limestone caves in the district
Saved to wishlist!
Lunch
Live Commentary by Driver/guide
Local guide at Mammoth Caves
Premium Air-Conditioned Touring Coach
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drinks, unless specified
Gratuities
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Crown Perth Food Court , Great Eastern Hwy, Burswood WA 6100, Australia

CROWN Entertainment Complex Riverside Entrance (in front of McDonalds) at 7.45am. Complimentary hotel pick ups are available on request at time of booking from selected Perth City and Northbridge locations.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.Pick-up details will be advised at time of booking. Hotel pick-ups are available on request at time of booking, from select Perth city hotels. We also pick up on request from the Northbridge Coach Bay at 180 William Street, Northbridge.
Take a full-day detour from Perth to discover the many delights of Margaret River and the southwest. After morning pickup at your hotel or a central meeting point, travel aboard a comfortable coach on the drive south. Along the way, stop to stretch your legs and enjoy morning tea (own expense) at Busselton Jetty, the Southern Hemisphere’s longest wooden jetty.

Farther on, settle into a table at Bootleg Brewery for craft beer and cider samplings and a gourmet platter lunch. Next, taste some of the region’s famous wine at the award-winning Sandalford Winery, which was established in Western Australia in 1840. Stroll around the picturesque grounds and purchase a bottle to take home if you like.

In the afternoon, explore Margaret River’s natural attractions. Admire spectacular limestone formations and learn about the area’s ancient geologic history on a guided tour of Mammoth Cave. Drive through the scenic and serene Boranup Forest to Australia’s most southwesterly point, marked by the Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse. See where the Southern and Indian Oceans converge, and spot native wildlife such as sea lions, dolphins and rock parrots on a heritage trail walk.

Circle back to the township of Margaret River and enjoy a bit of free time to browse shops along the main street. On the drive back to Perth, stop for dinner at a local restaurant (own expense), before your full-day tour concludes with hotel drop-off in the late evening.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Busselton Jetty
The longest wooden jetty in the southern hemisphere can be found in Busselton, stretching 1.8 kilometres across the idyllic Geographe Bay.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Cheeky Monkey Brewing Co.
Beer and cider tasting with a gourmet platter lunch at one of Margaret River's oldest breweries.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse
Situated at the most south westerly tip of Australia is the Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse, where the Southern and Indian Oceans meet. The lighthouse stands 39 metres in height from ground level and 56 metres above sea level, shining out over the landscape for 48 kilometres.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Margaret River Visitor Centre
Enjoy some brief free time to explore the quaint shops and chic cafes of the area. You will also find craft work created by locals and an array of specialty shops.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Mammoth Cave
Take a guided tour through this gothic like cave with vast chambers full of amazing formations. The cave will reveal a fascinating range of information about the flora and fauna of this region.
Duration: 40 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 48 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Australian Pinnacle Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The Mammoth caves are a must see, plenty of time allowed.Overall the cost was reasonable and worth it ." See review
  • "You cover a lot of ground but it means spending a lot of time on the coach (40-60mins between destinations)." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
207 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 207 reviews
star-3
I enjoyed the Mammoth...
Phyllis_W
, Aug 2022
I enjoyed the Mammoth caves the best. The train to take us to the Bussleton pier wasn’t working and we didn’t have enough time to walk the length of it. The Leeuwin lighthouse was covered in scaffolding. When we got to the town of Margaret River most of the shops were closed except supermarkets. It would have been better to not go to the lighthouse and instead spend more time in the town. It was a long 13 hour day.
star-5
Good day trip
Lanny_L
, Aug 2022
Good trip worth going. Our driver Chris is really good. The last two stops can be taken out though so can come back a bit early
star-2
No masks ruined trip
Wendy_M
, Jul 2022
The bus driver (Chris) was excellent. Very knowledgeable and a very smooth driver. Masks were not required and quite a few people were coughing very frequently. There is insufficient time at the various stops, particularly the caves. The description of the wines and ciders at the winery experience was simply read from the bottle with, it seemed, no further insight.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Margaret River tour
Khanh_M
, Jul 2022
In the bus too long. Over charge for little sightseeing. Lighthouse was closed but we weren't warned when booked.
star-4
I really enjoy the local...
Heather_W
, Jul 2022
I really enjoy the local knowledge shared by the tour guide throughout the day. He was also great at making sure everyone knew what was happening and how long we would be at each stop. The only disappointing part was that we didn't actually visit a winery or do a proper wine tasting.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Good introduction into the Margaret River region
Agata_U
, Jul 2022
Knowledgeable guide with interesting stories to share. Would be better to include a visit to an actual winery not a brewery. The lighthouse was closed for renovation. Instead of going to Margaret River town (everything was basically closed when we arrived), it would be nice to visit Cowaramup, which we passed on our way back, maybe skipping the caves to arrive before the town goes to sleep. Overall, good intro to the region.
star-3
A fair tour if it wasn’t $225
Landy_H
, Jul 2022
This tour would’ve been fine if it was priced appropriately. The good: - Coach was comfortable - Keith, our driver, was very knowledgeable and provided historical commentary throughout the trip - Keith was great at driving - Lunch at the wine tasting was great; we were pleasantly surprised by how good the burgers were - Mammoth Cave was a great stop The bad: - The tour itinerary included 2 wine tours, we only went to 1. Upon asking about the second winery, our driver stated that we wouldn’t be going as it is closed. - The lighthouse; the lighthouse was under renovation and really shouldn’t have been included in the itinerary - The tour included a trip to Busselton but did not include a pass to go onto the jetty($5). For the amount that the tour cost ($225 pp), you really expect that you would visit ALL of the places stated on the itinerary. Moreover, you would expect that IF all locations cannot be visited, it would be adjusted (either removed or visit another location), however, this was not the case. The last stop of the day was at Margaret River Township, however, I can’t help but think this too was planned badly. The township was the last scheduled stop; we were scheduled to arrive there at 4:45pm which we did, but the shops close at 5pm which meant we only had 15 minutes of shopping. By all accounts, we enjoyed the tour. However, my friends and I cant help but feel that we were completely overcharged. The organisation of the itinerary simply did not justify the amount that we paid.
star-4
The beautiful country
Shantha_R
, Jul 2022
Fantastic tour guide (Steve), and beautiful spots to visit! Was a lot to do on a day trip- so more of a teaser trip - now we have so many places we want to go back to! Would have been nice to visit a couple more wineries or other local produce spots especially to get snacks for driving back. Overall a very comfortable, informative trip and all because of our fantastic guide!
star-3
A long day to see a cave and lighthouse
Robert
, Jul 2022
Late departure put us behind. Busselton was a 25 minute toilet. 10 minute line up at the toilets if you were late off the bus, no time to look around, Brewery was crap, rude staff, limited choice and ordinary food battered fish and chips or hamburger and chips. Red wine drops over my jacket by staff. When asked a female staff member a polite question the young girl replied “Ive, only got two hands” Mammoth caves was good as was the lighthouse. Margaret River township, stop 5pm on way back, shops closed, hard to get a snack. Bus was aged and noisy engine, seats worn and after just 5hours uncomfortable Day was 13 hours which I accept given the distance; driver was safe and overall courteous.
star-1
Complete waste of time and money
Rex_L
, Jul 2022
This tour was a complete waste of time and money. 15 hrs in a bus to see a completely scaffolded lighthouse, 20min walk through a limestone cave, a stop at coastal town and a very disappointing wine tasting at Margaret River. 2 slips of 2 different white wines was all. Followed by a hamburger with chips. They advertised as wine tasting. 2 SLIPS OF WINE IS NOT WINE TASTING !!##@@ We stopped in the town of Margaret River to buy dinner in the local IGA grocery store. The driver was not engaging, mumbled, could not hear his very limited instructions or one sentence commentary. The just passed 3 pages of laminated information on the light house around the bus. We did ask him to increase the volume of the microphone or speak louder but no difference . No commentary on the caves, local area, township of Margaret River, vineyards nothing. This was the most expensive tour we did out of 3. The Rottnest island and Pinnicles tours were great. We feel it would have been better to stay in Perth and order a MacDonald hamburger with fries. I WANT MY MONEY BACK
star-5
A great day trip by any standard!
John_B
, Jun 2022
This was a long trip! The driver was very informative! The bus was comfortable! The food was good! We loved it!
star-2
Bad wine tasting experience
PuayGuan_T
, Jun 2022
The wine tasting is so abrupt and the lady did not even bother to explain the wines we are tasting and appeared flustered when questions were posed. Also, the impression given was there is a famous vineyard tasting and the one we were brought to was no where near that
star-5
The hole day trip was...
Patricia_F
, Jun 2022
The hole day trip was fantastic. From the time we where pickup from our hotel until we return, What a great day out. Thank you.
star-5
Great tour
Xiao_Q
, Jun 2022
Great tour. A very long day but I really enjoyed it. I would definitely visit these places in the future and spend more time. Chris the drive is great.
star-5
Fun day with lots to see and taste
Tully_G
, May 2022
It was a long day but so worth it! Our driver and Sue were great! My favorites were Busselton and Leeuwin. Oh, and the caves! Fun day! Thanks everyone!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Tully_G Thank you for taking the time to review our tour and it is great to hear you enjoyed your day with us! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you on another tour in the future.
star-5
Its definitely a...
Jan_F
, May 2022
Its definitely a memorable tour. The tour guide is very friendly. The burger & beer is one of the best! Would recommend 👍🏽
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Jan_F Thank you for taking the time to review our Margaret River Tour, it is lovely to read you enjoyed your day with us and the local produce of the region.
star-2
Disappointed.
Carol_F
, May 2022
Tour was rushed, didn’t fulfill the promised intinerary and the toilet on the bus was out of order. Bus driver was grumpy.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Carol_F, Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. The Margaret River Tour is a full day experience where we do cover a large area to make sure we visit the must see destinations in that region which does result in some stops being shorter than expected. Currently the Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse is under restoration, if this is the stop you are referring to we apologise you didn't get a chance to look at the lighthouse. Hopefully you were still able to appreciate the significance of its location being the meeting point of two oceans. We pride ourselves on our Coach Captain's knowledge and experience they bring to our tours. We would like to investigate this further, if you could email me directly at hollie.merchant@pinnacletravelgroup.com.au so we can gain a further understanding of our Coach Captain's attitude that would be great! Thank you again for taking the time to review our tour and we hope to welcome you on one of our other tours in the future.
star-5
Excellent day trip from Perth
Romeo_S
, May 2022
Very good day trip to see highlights of Margaret river area. Our tour expert, Chris provided excellent information on the tour. Thanks.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Romeo_S Thank you for taking the time to review our tour it is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and our Coach Captain Chris. He brings great local knowledge with him on our tours.
star-4
Sunny day excursion
Kathleen_V
, May 2022
Busselton jetty on a sunny day. Lighthouse under renovation until September 2022. Csve tour was very informative and coach driver was exceptional
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. It is great to read you enjoyed your time with is and our Coach Captain. It is disappointing the lighthouse is under renovation, hopefully you were still able to appreciate the significance of the location being the meeting place of two oceans. Thank you again for taking the time to review our tour and we hope to welcome you on another tour in the future.
star-5
Fabulous trip
Cathie_R
, May 2022
Really loved the whole day. Our lunch was cancelled due to an issue outside company control, so a new and equally lovely place was organised with minimal fuss. Excellent people, great trip
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review this tour and its great to read you enjoyed your day with us. We are fortunate to have some great relationships in the south west and were glad you enjoyed your lunch. We hope to welcome you back on another tour in the future.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth
Margaret River, Caves, Wine and Cape Leeuwin Lighthouse Tour from Perth

star-4207

13 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$159.45

star-5168

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$102.75

star-57

14 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$340.15

star-512

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$145.27

star-5297

5 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$112.67

star-510

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.78

star-5182

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.12

star-58

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$21.81
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations