Recent Searches
Clear

Are you interested in?

Great Ocean Road Tours
67 Tours & Activities
Twelve Apostles Tours
104 Tours & Activities
Day Trips
297 Tours & Activities

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne

star-4.5
|
Melbourne, Australia
54

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon13 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 10 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Discover Australia’s postcard paradise as you travel along one of the world’s most iconic coastal roads. Dodge the crowds by driving the famous Great Ocean Road in reverse, starting with morning tea in Colac, then stopping to view landmarks like the Gibson Steps, Loch Ard Gorge, and the 12 Apostles. After tucking into a delicious picnic lunch, take a hike through the Otway rain forest, spot koalas along the Kennet River, and enjoy dramatic views over Apollo Bay. This full-day tour from Melbourne includes lunch and hotel pick-up.
  • Full-day tour of the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne
  • Drive the famous route in reverse to avoid the crowds
  • Enjoy magnificent views of the 12 Apostles, Loch Ard Gorge, and Apollo Bay
  • Spot wild koalas in their natural environment
  • Morning tea and lunch included
  • Small-group tour ensures a personalized experience

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Driving from west-to-east means fewer crowds and a morning visit to the 12 Apostles—the best time for photos.
Saved to wishlist!
Light picnic lunch provided
All National Park entry fees
Australian wildlife sightings, in the wild.
Professional driver guide with live commentary
Audio translation app available in 10 different languages
Meals not indicated
Personal expenses

Departure Point

Immigration Museum, 400 Flinders St, Melbourne VIC 3000, Australia

Departure Time

7:35 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please reconfirm within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Children under 18yrs old, must be accompanied by an adult or legal guardian
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking (on request only)
  • Not wheelchair, prams or stroller accessible please do not bring on tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Wildlife Tours Australia

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles and Lunch from Melbourne.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "It was a long drive at first but well worth it and there are lots of stops and views on the drive back." See review
  • "This tour was in early July and do note that it was quite cold, especially with the wind when walking by the ocean." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
186 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 186 reviews
star-4
Ocean views were amazing
Retired
, Apr 2020
The day was good...loved all we saw....driver was excellant... ...food supplied could have been better...had to share 1 spoon for sugar bowl...coffee cups ...needed to have more of them so people werent sharing 1 spoon...unsanitary.. Two packages of cheap cookies? Again...showed as cheap.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Hi there, and thank you for your review and feedback!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Dissapointed
anne_H
, Mar 2020
We booked this tour solely for the helicopter ride over the apostles. When the driver hadn't mentioned the helicopter rides at the apostles we asked when we were heading to the helicopter to be told we needed to prebook the helicopter ride or tell the driver 1st thing. At no time did Viator or the tour company mention this nor did the driver ask or mention this in the introduction. Extremely disappointed as this was the only reason we did this tour. Viator i would like someone to contact me.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Dear Anne, we are sorry to hear that you were unable to join the helicopter ride. We are happy to investigate this further, please contact us directly or reach out to Viator through their customer service so we can assist you further.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Ocean road
Phil
, Mar 2020
Trip covered all the places wanted to see . Included lunch and morning tea. These were poor literature suggested a proper seated lunch sandwich sandwiches were handed out at back of bus to eat on a particular stop with no drink at all supplied morningbtea again a stop at side of road drinks from flasks and biscuits from a packet. Only public toilets available all day some unfit to use with a pandemic of corona virus existing. Bus was cramped 23 people in a small bus . Guide was pleasant and informative which at leased helped to make the trip worthwhile for the cost though disappointing in the detailed aspects above . Would hesitate to use group again
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Phil, and thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our tours. We indeed do not have our own toilets along the Great Ocean Road, but do offer hand sanitiser on our buses. Thanks again, and we wish you enjoyable travels in Australia!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great experience
katyagstoycheva
, Feb 2020
Well organized, Tara the guide & driver was efficient and helpful, koala spotting exceeded my expectations.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi there, thank you for the feedback and thank you for booking with us. We'll also make sure that we pass on the feedback to Tara as well!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A must-see excursion
zotterferenc
, Feb 2020
Well organised tour with a nice driver/guide. I had only one problem, the seat size as I’m 191 cm tall :o)
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi there, and thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the day and apologise for the rather short leg space provided for you! We wish you enjoyable travels in down under! :)
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
12 Apostles
AJohn65725
, Feb 2020
Brilliant from start to finish... although the weather could have been a wee bit kinder... but hey ho there are some things that you can organise and some things you can’t... prompt pick up... kept informed of what was happening throughout the day. Beth was very friendly and certainly knew her stuff... although it would seem that a 12 1/2 hour tour would be a long “drag” it never felt that way... highly recommend this trip
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
12 apostles and more
hrvojetelisman
, Jan 2020
This experience you shouldnt miss. Alot of things to see and nice an pleasent stuff along the Way is there to provide you all the help and information. Chris as driver guide was exceptional! You have to Go!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Mediocre tour that I do not recommend
ggilbert2925
, Jan 2020
This tour was disappointing and I would not recommend it. Way too little time was spent at several of the stops. I recommend that fewer stops be provided so that more time can be provided. One stop was only for 25 minutes and the round trip walk itself took 10 minutes - ridiculous. Kate was polite and respectful, but she seemed to see herself as more of a driver than a tour guide; she never guided us at any of the sites for narration.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi there, We are sorry to hear that the tour did not meet your expectations. The day is indeed pretty action packed, and tailored to show you all the major attractions on the way. For the ones with a bit more time, we offer 2 and 3 day tours, that allow time to sink in the atmosphere and breathtaking views. I would like to draw to your attention, that the tour guides do need to follow the legislation and have constant breaks through out the day. This is to avoid driver fatigue and ensure everyone's safety. Therefore the tour guides do not attend the attractions, but pour their knowledge to you while on the road. I hope this clarifies the situation, and we wish you enjoyable travels in Australia!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Ocean Road Review from an American
jkhnorden
, Jan 2020
Great trip...Scott, our guide was super. Loved going on the Great Ocean Road in reverse. Windy roads were at the end and not at the beginning! I just wish someone would have told us to bring bug spray.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi there and thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your day and Scott showed you good time! We are not sure which bugs you encountered, but we certainly have some variety in Australia :)
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great excursion!
Angela C
, Jan 2020
We had a fabulous trip and our tour guide Shoshanna was amazing! The reverse option worked fine for us because it gave us the chance to catch up on sleep first. The apostles were breathtaking and the ice cream place she recommended was truly delicious.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi Angela, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! :) We have passed your words to the tour guide and hope to see you again!
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 6121P9

Explore Similar Things to Do