Recent Searches
Clear

Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne

star-4.5188 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Melbourne, Australia
Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon13 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Discover Australia’s postcard paradise as you travel along one of the world’s most iconic coastal roads. Dodge the crowds by driving the famous Great Ocean Road in reverse, starting with morning tea in Colac, then stopping to view landmarks like the Gibson Steps, Loch Ard Gorge, and the 12 Apostles. After tucking into a delicious picnic lunch, take a hike through the Otway rain forest, spot koalas along the Kennet River, and enjoy dramatic views over Apollo Bay. This full-day tour from Melbourne includes lunch and hotel pick-up.
  • Full-day tour of the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne
  • Drive the famous route in reverse to avoid the crowds
  • Enjoy magnificent views of the 12 Apostles, Loch Ard Gorge, and Apollo Bay
  • Spot wild koalas in their natural environment
  • Morning tea and lunch included
  • Small-group tour ensures a personalized experience

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Driving from west-to-east means fewer crowds and a morning visit to the 12 Apostles—the best time for photos.
Saved to wishlist!
Light picnic lunch provided
All National Park entry fees
Australian wildlife sightings, in the wild.
Professional driver guide with live commentary
Meals not indicated
Personal expenses
Immigration Museum , 400 Flinders St, Melbourne VIC 3000, Australia

Our default pickup location for this tour will be Immigration Museum, 400 Flinders St, corner of Market St, Melbourne @ 7:35am. If you wish to change your pickup location, please contact our friendly reservations team on +61393931300.

7:35 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please reconfirm within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Children under 18yrs old, must be accompanied by an adult or legal guardian
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking (on request only)
  • Not wheelchair, prams or stroller accessible please do not bring on tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 23 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Wildlife Tours Australia
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Beth was very friendly and certainly knew her stuff, although it would seem that a 12 1/2 hour tour would be a long “drag” it never felt that way, highly recommend this trip" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
188 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 188 reviews
star-5
Must have to visit
Maria_A
, May 2022
A big thanks to our group guide Daniel, he was amazing 👏. Interesting stories, a lot information and a terrific views.
star-4
Ocean views were amazing
Retired
, Apr 2020
The day was good...loved all we saw....driver was excellant... ...food supplied could have been better...had to share 1 spoon for sugar bowl...coffee cups ...needed to have more of them so people werent sharing 1 spoon...unsanitary.. Two packages of cheap cookies? Again...showed as cheap.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Hi there, and thank you for your review and feedback!
star-2
Dissapointed
Julieanne_H
, Mar 2020
We booked this tour solely for the helicopter ride over the apostles. When the driver hadn't mentioned the helicopter rides at the apostles we asked when we were heading to the helicopter to be told we needed to prebook the helicopter ride or tell the driver 1st thing. At no time did Viator or the tour company mention this nor did the driver ask or mention this in the introduction. Extremely disappointed as this was the only reason we did this tour. Viator i would like someone to contact me.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Dear Anne, we are sorry to hear that you were unable to join the helicopter ride. We are happy to investigate this further, please contact us directly or reach out to Viator through their customer service so we can assist you further.
star-3
Ocean road
Philomena_F
, Mar 2020
Trip covered all the places wanted to see . Included lunch and morning tea. These were poor literature suggested a proper seated lunch sandwich sandwiches were handed out at back of bus to eat on a particular stop with no drink at all supplied morningbtea again a stop at side of road drinks from flasks and biscuits from a packet. Only public toilets available all day some unfit to use with a pandemic of corona virus existing. Bus was cramped 23 people in a small bus . Guide was pleasant and informative which at leased helped to make the trip worthwhile for the cost though disappointing in the detailed aspects above . Would hesitate to use group again
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Phil, and thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our tours. We indeed do not have our own toilets along the Great Ocean Road, but do offer hand sanitiser on our buses. Thanks again, and we wish you enjoyable travels in Australia!
star-5
Great experience
katyagstoycheva
, Feb 2020
Well organized, Tara the guide & driver was efficient and helpful, koala spotting exceeded my expectations.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi there, thank you for the feedback and thank you for booking with us. We'll also make sure that we pass on the feedback to Tara as well!
star-5
A must-see excursion
zotterferenc
, Feb 2020
Well organised tour with a nice driver/guide. I had only one problem, the seat size as I’m 191 cm tall :o)
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi there, and thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the day and apologise for the rather short leg space provided for you! We wish you enjoyable travels in down under! :)
star-5
12 Apostles
AJohn65725
, Feb 2020
Brilliant from start to finish... although the weather could have been a wee bit kinder... but hey ho there are some things that you can organise and some things you can’t... prompt pick up... kept informed of what was happening throughout the day. Beth was very friendly and certainly knew her stuff... although it would seem that a 12 1/2 hour tour would be a long “drag” it never felt that way... highly recommend this trip
star-5
12 apostles and more
hrvojetelisman
, Jan 2020
This experience you shouldnt miss. Alot of things to see and nice an pleasent stuff along the Way is there to provide you all the help and information. Chris as driver guide was exceptional! You have to Go!
star-2
Mediocre tour that I do not recommend
Gregg_G
, Jan 2020
This tour was disappointing and I would not recommend it. Way too little time was spent at several of the stops. I recommend that fewer stops be provided so that more time can be provided. One stop was only for 25 minutes and the round trip walk itself took 10 minutes - ridiculous. Kate was polite and respectful, but she seemed to see herself as more of a driver than a tour guide; she never guided us at any of the sites for narration.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi there, We are sorry to hear that the tour did not meet your expectations. The day is indeed pretty action packed, and tailored to show you all the major attractions on the way. For the ones with a bit more time, we offer 2 and 3 day tours, that allow time to sink in the atmosphere and breathtaking views. I would like to draw to your attention, that the tour guides do need to follow the legislation and have constant breaks through out the day. This is to avoid driver fatigue and ensure everyone's safety. Therefore the tour guides do not attend the attractions, but pour their knowledge to you while on the road. I hope this clarifies the situation, and we wish you enjoyable travels in Australia!
star-5
Great Ocean Road Review from an American
thomas_n
, Jan 2020
Great trip...Scott, our guide was super. Loved going on the Great Ocean Road in reverse. Windy roads were at the end and not at the beginning! I just wish someone would have told us to bring bug spray.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi there and thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your day and Scott showed you good time! We are not sure which bugs you encountered, but we certainly have some variety in Australia :)
star-5
Great excursion!
Angela C
, Jan 2020
We had a fabulous trip and our tour guide Shoshanna was amazing! The reverse option worked fine for us because it gave us the chance to catch up on sleep first. The apostles were breathtaking and the ice cream place she recommended was truly delicious.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hi Angela, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! :) We have passed your words to the tour guide and hope to see you again!
star-5
Wonderful experience
Lucimey_L
, Dec 2019
What a great joy being soo close to beautiful Nature. Excellent guide, kind, nice, expertise. Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
We are stoked to hear you enjoyed your day with us! Thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again!
star-5
What a great adventure!
Debbie B
, Dec 2019
Gareth was a great tour guide ... the tour itself beyond expectations!!! The views on the Great Ocean Road were spectacular! And the wildlife encounters were so fun!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi Debbie, we are super excited to hear that you had a good time! Thank you for the nice feedback! Kind regards, Jana Reservations
star-5
Highly Reccomended
PATRICIA_L
, Dec 2019
Driver/Guide, Leon is excellent, knowlegeable and entertaining. The tour covered most scenic areas at Great Ocean Road. Everything was well taken care of.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi there, and thank you for your review! We will let Leon know and hope to see you again on our other tours!
star-5
Chris
Chris K
, Oct 2019
The day was very well organised and our driver Darren was excellent providing us with detailed and entertaining information along the way. It was a long hot day but we really enjoyed it and would highly recommend the reverse tour.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hi Chris, thanks for your review amazing to hear you enjoyed the day with us! :)
star-5
Excellent day out!
Angelica_C
, Aug 2019
The trip was excellent and Guy was a fab guide! Thanks for everything! we definatelly reccommend it.
star-5
Best way to explore a bit of the great surroundings when on short trip
Martina_T
, Aug 2019
I was in Melbourne solo and only had little time. This trip with a great guide was just the thing to see some of Australia's finest.
star-5
This was an excellent excursion away...
Alistair S
, Jul 2018
This was an excellent excursion away from Melbourne. Although Melbourne is a lovely city, it was good to get away for the day and enjoy the coastline. The highlight was seeing the 12 Apostles which we had only heard of before. Doing the reverse of the Great Ocean Road involved an early start and a long drive, but I do believe that we escaped the crowds. Although there were many tourists at the 12 Apostles, I'm sure it was less than with the conventional tours.
star-5
Absolutely fantastic scenery! We...
Marla A
, Jul 2018
Absolutely fantastic scenery! We arrived at the 12 Apostles at a time of day with good light which I'm not sure would have been the case with a non-reverse tour. The tour was booked via Viator and provided by Wildlife Tours Australia. The guide Peter was quite personable and seemed to really enjoy being our guide. Bus was comfortable. It had Wi-Fi but that was not provided until the ride home perhaps intentional to be certain we focused on the tour. The lunch a sub sandwich was really pretty good. No drinks were provided though except for access to a water container from which to fill bottles. We stopped in the morning for coffee in the park provided and later for ice cream our own . The most important thing was the scenery along the Great Ocean Road which was stunningly beautiful. We made several viewing stops. This tour was in early July and do note that it was quite cold, especially with the wind when walking by the ocean. We also walked through a rainforest and stopped at a location known to have koala's and another viewing spot with kangaroos. I would highly recommend this tour.
star-1
We kept waiting in extreme cold and...
ASHWANI_Y
, Jun 2018
We kept waiting in extreme cold and rain for 45 minutes before the scheduled pickup only to be told that we have to come to another place on our own !!! having landed in a new place just 12 hours back how are we supposed to do that? Nooone came to pick us up then my husband rang up and requested them then they obliged.....phew!!!! we never experienced such mismanagement and unprofessionalism in any country as we travel all over the world.....the mini bus was also very very uncomfortable.... i had to sit sepatately from my husband for next 12 hours during the trip.... it was a horrendous experience by this particular tour operator.we also saw AAT kings and grayline buses which were very comfortable buses unlike the oones we got on this tour...it was like spending 12 hours on wooden plank.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne
Likely to Sell Out
Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary with 12 Apostles from Melbourne

star-4.5188

13 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$108.55

star-51562

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.39

star-4.5173

13 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.08

star-570

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$144.01

star-5251

13 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$97.69

star-575

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$86.12

star-5102

13 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$162.82

star-4.575

1 day

Free Cancellation

From
$94.08

star-4.5260

2 hours 25 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$83.22
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations