Recent Searches
Clear

Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

|
München, Germany
Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon11 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 9 more

Overview

Admire the countryside, castles, and villages of Germany’s Romantic Road on a day trip from Munich. Enjoy a coach drive along the iconic Road, a famously picturesque route through Bavaria’s mountains and forests. Stop at 11th-century Harburg Castle, one of Germany’s oldest fortifications, and continue to Rothenburg, a beautifully preserved medieval town of cobbled lanes, squares, and half-timbered houses. See top attractions such as the Renaissance-era Town Hall, enjoy free time to wander, have lunch (own expense), and more.
  • Full-day Romantic Road trip to Harburg and Rothenburg from Munich, by air-conditioned coach
  • Pass the mountains of Bavaria on a drive along the scenic Romantic Road
  • See 11th-century Harburg Castle, one of Germany’s oldest fortifications
  • Visit Rothenburg, one of Europe’s most stunningly preserved medieval towns
  • Take in top Rothenburg attractions such as the Town Hall, city gates, and Markplatz at leisure
  • Enjoy free time to shop, wander, and have lunch (own expense) as you wish

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This day tour to Rothenburg includes a stop at the old castle of Harburg.
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Professional guide
Skip-the-line Service
Entrance fees (approx. EUR 8.00)
Food and drinks, unless specified
Hotel pickup and drop off
Gratuities
Karlspl. 21-24 , Karlspl. 21-24, 80335 München, Germany

In front of Karlsplatz 21/Stachus. Gray Line Bus Lane. Please be at the departure point 20 minutes prior departure.

8:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • There will be some uphill walking to the Harburg
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Gray Line Sightseeing Munich
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It states 8.30am start, but you will need to get to designated point at least 8am to get decent seats (or to sit together) as it is a very popular tour." See review
  • "The bus had to make detours due to work roads but it was worthwhile as the countryside and the farmlands are beautiful." See review
  • "It is a long day, however the tour around Rothenburg Castle is well worth the travelling, followed by the picturesque village of Harburg." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
685 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 685 reviews
star-1
Poor directions! Don't take this tour
CristinaD
, Jul 2022
Tried to flag down the tour bus but to no avail! Missed the tour completely, directions not very clear. We could not find the address. It should have more glaring things to look for like a ...infront of a store sign or something! And to think we were in the area an hour ahead. None of the shopkeepers knew what we were talking about!!! Very poor service! Will not take grayling tours again!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We do this tour 4 times a week. We have about 30 guests on each those tours. Our guides are over 10 years doing this job. To our meeting point come about 300 people every day. So far I understand from your text, that you can't read the address, you can't use google and you didn't prepared yourself to come to the meeting point. BTW also to be found on google earth and google maps. I would love to help you, but you should write the customer support and not post a review, since you never visited a tour. Isn't it?
star-5
The tour was great, but too short of time in Rothenburg.
Debra_G
, Jun 2022
We really enjoyed the Harburg castle. Quite interesting history. Also enjoyed the green fields on the drive. Rothenburg is beautiful could have stayed longer.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Three hours may vanish when you have fun, but even for us, there are limits of a working day. After 11 hours we would like to go home, for more tours on the nect day. Why don't you come with us for a second tour? I'm sure you'll love it
star-1
Bad customer service!
Michael_W
, Jun 2022
I was provided bad information regarding where to catch the bus. Consequently, I missed the bus and the tour. Despite being a frequent viator customer, Viztor has declined my request for a refund. Really bad customer service!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Well dear... 300 othe people found our busses. All happy and this daily. Now you come and can't find an spot or prepare yourself for a tour and blame others... How can we help you?
star-5
Fun time!
Michelle_B
, Jun 2022
The tour thru the castle was interesting. Having the free time in the town was a lot of fun. The tour guide gave some good ideas on what to see in town and places to eat.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Happy to hera that. Visit Bavaria with us again.
star-4
Very nice tour!
Vickie_M
, Jun 2022
We had a tour guide named Hmaro who wasn’t the best, but she tried. Nice bus ride to the castle which was very good. Then we spent most of the time in Rothenburg which is a very quaint city with lots of adorable shops and restaurants. Had a wonderful time.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi dear, I don't know who this guide may be and would be very important for me to know that. We offer just the best guides in the city and do the best to solve any concerns. Come back soon
star-5
Great day trip!
Kay_T
, Jun 2022
Shopping and dining in Rothenburg. The Christmas shop was my favorite! Our guide did a great job leading us into the heart of town and then letting each of us go where we wanted to.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Visit Bavaria again. We loved your review.
star-5
Experience of a lifetime...
Guy_H
, Jun 2022
We enjoyed the tour - which was even more impressive as we ended up going on a day that was a holiday event. Witnessed a procession of characters/actors that had dressed up in the garb of the time period. It was quite impressive. The food was incredible as well.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Uhau! Reading your review, I fell myself motivated to visit Rothenburg soon. I'll forward your review to your guide. She will be very happy. Come back in your next vacation and let's discover more about South Germany
star-5
Perfect day trip.
Alison_M
, Jun 2022
Loved it. Easy fun and delightful. Castle visit was a pleasant highlight. We encountered festival in Rothenburg. Amazing day!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Next time try our wines and Flamkuchen (the German Version of Pizza). Thank you for your review
star-3
Long day in bus
Jawad_M
, May 2022
Rothenberg is amazing and there is enough time to enjoy the place. Harburg was not a wooow for me. The reason for the low rating is that out of the 10.5 hours we spent in this tour, around 6 hours were in the bus.
star-4
A very enjoyable day!
Craig_K
, May 2022
Climbing the church tower for a great view of Rothenburg! Marcus, our tour guide told us about the city and made sure we knew when and where to find the bus back. However, he failed to mention there was a bathroom on the bus and where to find restrooms in Rothenburg. Overall, a very enjoyable day!
star-4
Pretty German town
Paula_T
, May 2022
Nice town to visit for shopping and restaurants. It is a good 3 hour drive from Munich. The bus had some drinks for sale ( water was 2 euros) and the stop at the castle was short and sweet.
star-3
Beautiful town but a bit expensive for experience
Tim_R
, May 2022
Long ride but beautiful drive. Our tour guide did not engage with us alot so felt like a long drive. The cost of harburg castle on website said $8 when we got there it was ,$9. Could have shared more information on the ride and charging for a water or drink on bus was a little over the top after paying your own lunch and castle tour. Beautiful town. Glad we saw it just not an exceptional experience.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great day
Alison_C
, May 2022
The tour of Harburg castle was very interesting. Rothenburg was a beautiful town. I loved everything about it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Unforgettable
Jessami_S
, May 2022
One of the funnest things ever! I felt like we were in real life Disney. This is a must do!!! Our tour guide was great and recommended a lot of things on the tour as there is not enough time for everything. A real life fairy tale is what this town felt like
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Good day out
alixhoddinott
, May 2022
Overall a good day, however I think on the way back from Rothenburg there should be a stop along the way. It was 3 hours sitting in a bus with no interaction. Paul was a great guide- couldn’t have asked for better. Such a good personality & very knowable.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Don’t book with VIATOR
GeorgeR_K
, Apr 2022
BEWARE. VIATOR charges double what you can buy the ticket for in muni h at the tour site. The normal rate for a Sunday tour to Rothenberg is 29 euro. We were charged 69$ plus just for the privilege of booking with VIATOR. Book at the site
star-5
Comfortable tour of the medieval ages - castle and town
Praisie_H
, Apr 2022
Harburg castle was a gem, you get to go onto the walls of the medieval castle and learn about history of this privately owned castle. Rothenburg ob der Tauber, went during the Easter long weekend so it was crowded. It's a lovely town. Good for those looking for the half-timbered fairy-tale houses look so typical of the medieval ages. The restaurant recommended by the guide had spargel (white asparagus) and it was great to try. All in all a comfortable tour with comfortable amount of walking.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Romantic road even you go solo 😋
Vivian_R
, Apr 2022
We had awesome tour guy Paul 👏 he’s knowledgeable and entertaining at the same time 🙂. He’s also very attentive to individual. A wonderful person 😉
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Nice tour
YiChing_H
, Oct 2021
This tour was perfect! Our tour guide, Paul, he’s very kind. During our trip, Paul asked people one by one to check if we had any questions.
star-5
Paul Riedel was the best...
Michelle_V
, Sep 2021
Paul Riedel was the best tour guide ever! He is definitely an entertainer and made us laugh all the way to Rothenburg.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich
Romantic Road, Rothenburg, and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

star-4685

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$65.72

star-483

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$126.14

star-4.54920

10 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$63.50

star-4748

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.54

star-5724

10 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$179.14

star-4495

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.54

star-00

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$180.19

star-52

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.30

star-53

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$132.50 $106.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations