Recent Searches
Clear

Encounter with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and Hawaiian Cultural Experience

star-4.5615 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Waianae, United States
Encounter with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and Hawaiian Cultural Experience
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Overview

Swim within safe viewing distance to dolphins and green sea turtles on this popular Oahu snorkel cruise from Honolulu. Sail into waters home to spinner dolphins, and then glide alongside colorful fish. Snorkel gear, kayaks, and paddle boards are available onboard to help you get the most of this outing. Hotel transport included.
  • Oahu morning snorkel cruise with transport from Waikiki hotels
  • Observe or swim near dolphins and sea turtles in their natural habitat
  • Snorkel gear, kayaks, and paddle boards available for use
  • Enjoy a complimentary Snack Bag
Saved to wishlist!
Transportation: Between hotels and the harbor. Drive-out to meeting location recommended.
Gear: Snorkel, mask, fins and safety jacket
Water activities: water slide, stand-up paddle boards, kayak
Entertainment: Hula lessons and traditional "E Ho Mai" ceremony
Complimentary snack (due to local COVID-19 regulations, we can only supply prepackaged items).
One small bottle of water (Please bring additional refreshments as you please).
Optional: Wet suit rental + $10.00 per person
USB with professional photos of the tour + $79.00 per group
Additional products available through local operator
Gratuities
We recommend guests bring additional water to remain fully hydrated.

Departure Point

85-491 Farrington Hwy, Waianae, HI 96792, USA

The address for the Waianae Boat Harbor is: 85-491 Farrington Hwy Waianae, HI 96792 The boat harbor is about an hour drive from Waikiki without traffic. To be safe, we recommend that guests plan to arrive early.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Dolphins are often spotted, but there is no 100% guarantee of dolphin encounter.
  • Children (2-11 years old)must be accompanied by an adult
  • Pick up from select Waikiki hotels is available. Although we recommend our guests to drive-out to meeting location at Wai'anae Small Boat Harbor.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children under 2 are not permitted on this tour
  • We ask that guests wear their masks at all times on the bus, prior to boarding the boat, and in enclosed areas of the boat. While on the boat, guests are asked to remain in groups of no more than 5, separated by 6 ft. The boat has an open space layout and capacity of tours will be limited to ensure physical distance between parties.
  • We are committed to the safety of our guests and abiding by COVID-19 safety and sanitation regulations and best practices. Please join us another time if you are feeling ill.
  • Complimentary snack serving varies according to recommended safety standards.
  • Guests are encouraged to bring water and snacks as they please. No communal water will be available due to COVID-19 safety protocols.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 55 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Dolphins and You
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
Where does the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and experience Hawaiian culture Tour depart from?
A:The tour offers hotel pickup from Waikiki and Ko Olina hotels but departs from 85-491 Farrington Hwy, Waianae, HI 96792.
Apr 2021
Q:
What time can I expect to be picked up for the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild Tour?
A:The tour operator will reach out to you with the exact pickup location and time, but generally, pickup times are between 5 and 6:45 am.
Apr 2021
Q:
What should I bring with me on the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and experience Hawaiian culture Tour?
A:It is recommended to bring bottled water, snacks, a towel, sunscreen, a light jacket, a rashguard (optional,) and seasickness medication (if required.)
Apr 2021
Q:
What should I wear on the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and experience Hawaiian culture Tour?
A:Wear your bathing suit under your clothes. Flip-flops or water shoes are perfect. Remember to bring a towel.
Apr 2021
Q:
How long do we spend on the boat during the Snorkel with Dolphins & Turtles in the Wild and experience Hawaiian culture Tour?
A:The tour is usually around 5 hours, including transportation, with about 3.5 hours spent on the boat.
Apr 2021
Q:
Can I participate in the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild Tour if I am not a strong swimmer?
A:The guides are great with guests of all abilities, and every guest is outfitted with a life vest to stay afloat. But we recommend some prior swimming and/or snorkeling for the best experience.
Apr 2021
Q:
Can I bring an infant with me on the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and experience Hawaiian culture Tour?
A:In the interest of safety, guests who are 2 years old and under can not be accommodated at this time.
Apr 2021
Q:
Are we guaranteed to see dolphins during the Snorkel with Dolphins & Turtles in the Wild & experience Hawaiian culture Tour?
A:Hawaiian Spinner Dolphins are wild marine animals, so there is no guarantee that you will encounter them. However, the vast majority of tours (more than 90 percent) do see and swim with dolphins.
Apr 2021
Q:
Can I touch the wild animals during the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and experience Hawaiian culture Tour?
A:No. Touching marine life and coral is illegal by Hawaii state law. Contact with human skin can make dolphins and sea turtles more susceptible to disease and cause them stress. Simply being in their presence is incredible.
Apr 2021
Q:
Will I need a wetsuit to swim during the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and experience Hawaiian culture Tour?
A:Hawaiian waters range from about 77 degrees F (25 degrees C) in the wintertime to 82 degrees F (28 degrees C) in the summertime. You still may feel cold in the shade or rain in just a swimsuit. You may rent a wetsuit for $10 per person.
Apr 2021
Q:
Can I bring my own camera on the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and experience Hawaiian culture Tour?
A:You may bring your own camera on board at your own risk. The guides offer optional professional photography/videography for an additional $79 payable at check-in.
Apr 2021
Q:
Is there a restroom onboard during the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and experience Hawaiian culture Tour?
A:Yes - There is a public restroom in the harbor, and there are two full restrooms on board the boat.
Apr 2021
Q:
Is the Snorkel with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and experience Hawaiian culture Tour wheelchair accessible?
A:Unfortunately, the boat is not wheelchair accessible.
Apr 2021
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Encounter with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and Hawaiian Cultural Experience?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Encounter with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and Hawaiian Cultural Experience.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Encounter with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and Hawaiian Cultural Experience?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Encounter with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and Hawaiian Cultural Experience.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Encounter with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and Hawaiian Cultural Experience?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Encounter with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and Hawaiian Cultural Experience.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "If you don't have a good time, that is on you." See review
  • "May save you some time from stopping to pick everyone up in the shuttle." See review
  • "I would have liked to pay extra for a smaller group but otherwise it was fantastic!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
615 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 615 reviews
star-5
Do it !!!!!
Susan_D
, Nov 2021
I was a little hesitant when booking. You may or may not see any wild marine life. However we went ahead, Pick up was great, arriving at the boat launch we were a little late getting things going b/c of traffic. There were 53 of us all together!!! 🤩 . Makella ( sp) was very diligent getting things in order. Where the bands for nausea THEY WORK ! Got on the boat and the crew were magnificent. Couple of guys putting on a show. The captain made his way through the waters to our destination. While on the way. DOLPHINS 🐬 🐬🐬. So many. They were jumping and spinning for us. Everyone was in awe. Pictures don’t do it justice. When your seeing them in the wild absolutely 💥💥💥. Snorkelling 🤿. Was awesome. Beautiful day. Totally recommend !!! The slide was a blast ——. And a couple of HUGE turtles ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
star-5
Beautiful Experience
Madison_C
, Nov 2021
Faith was dope, and it was an Amazing Time!! Definitely would recommend. About 400$ total for 2 people
star-2
Very disappointing. There was “you” but no “dolphins”!
Brian_F
, Nov 2021
Bad weather, no dolphins, very little fish, when we left the snorkeling sight a turtle did stick it’s head out of the water. The crew tried its best to put on a good face but honestly this tour should have been canceled before it was started or at least some of the cost should have been refunded.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
We do our best not to cancel our tours whenever possible unless the weather presents a safety hazard. Cancellations can present a major disruption to our guests' travel plans. We are sorry that the dolphins were not sighted on your tour. We understand that that is disappointing, and we wish we could guarantee their behavior everyday, but they are wild animals. We do ask all of our guests to acknowledge upon booking that wildlife sightings are not guaranteed, because our tour operates at the mercy of nature. This disclaimer is included in all bookings. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of the tour, the boat ride along Oahu's pristine west coast and the time with our top-knotch crew. Please feel free to reach out to us via email with any other feedback. Aloha and safe travels!
star-3
We didn’t see any...
Alya_H
, Nov 2021
We didn’t see any Dolphins or turtles. And the psi bands were a waste of $20. And 47$ for the jacket like come on.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
We ask all of our guests to acknowledge upon booking that wildlife sightings are not guaranteed, because our tour operates in the wild and at the mercy of nature. In the rare event that no wildlife is sighted, our crew works to ensure the day is memorable and exciting in any case. We hope you enjoyed the other aspects of our tour, such as live hula performances, cultural E Ho Mai ceremony and water toys. Additionally, we're sorry that you were unhappy with the prices for the PSI bands and jacket, but these are optional retail items. They are available to everyone to purchase, but not required. Thank you for your feedback. We wish you safe travels and aloha!
star-5
Exhilarating, memorable, fun, and a must do!
Rusty_M
, Nov 2021
The staff was awesome and seeing the dolphins and turtles was amazing. I had pointed out there was garbage and one of the staff members jumped in and grabbed it. That was awesome.
star-1
Don’t waste your money or time.
Sarah_D
, Nov 2021
This excursion was such a waste of money. We saw a few dolphins which we were told that we weren’t aloud to swim with. Which was the only reason we went on this adventure. After that, the took us to a “snorkel spot” where there was no reef and no coral. I have no idea why we just spent hundreds of dollars for a boat ride. You can easily snorkel on your own almost anywhere on the island and see so much more. I wouldn’t recommend this to ANYONE.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Aloha Sarah, We are very sorry to hear that you wouldn't recommend a Dolphins and You tour. We don't want anyone leaving with that impression. We were unable to locate your name in our booking records and would like to learn more about which tour you were on. If you could please email digital@andyoucreations.com, it would help us to determine how we can improve. We are currently allowing swimming with dolphins as long as we are 3 miles offshore. This will change on December 1. We are sorry if there was confusion. However, we cannot guarantee wildlife or coral sightings on any tour, because we operate at the mercy of nature. We appreciate your feedback and your time and hope you might consider coming back for another shot at seeing the dolphins someday.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Don’t go
Emily_A
, Nov 2021
This was the most horrible trip I been on the island. We started off to jumping into the water where they only had sand at the bottom we saw a total of 3 fish and no swimming with the Dolphins we didn’t even get to go swim by a reef so we can see fish or anything. Then we in the water maybe about 10 mins when they make us get out Bc they can’t get the boat to anchor down and then finally when they think they have it down they send us back. Into the water still seeing absolutely nothing and then call 15 minutes for us to get out and head back I would never spend $180 a person again much less $50 a person for what I experienced yesterday on that tour it was horrible
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
AMAZING AND FUN
Kamla_M
, Nov 2021
This was such a memorable event. From the crew kindness, to the hula dance, we saw a huge pod of dolphins. We snorkel with tropical fish and saw a few turtles. We were not the best swimmers but the crew motivated us to get in the water that they will be with us. The crew was amazing and made it safe
star-4
The snorkeling ...
Keshawn_B
, Nov 2021
The snorkeling Wish it was longer snorkeling time…we spent so much time on the boat that we only snorkeled for about 15 minutes before the said ten minutes left
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Loved it
Bee_B
, Nov 2021
I like the swimming with the dolphins but the slide and canoeing was amazing. We definitely had a great time doing that part and the commentary they had.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Encounter with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and Hawaiian Cultural Experience
Likely to Sell Out
Encounter with Dolphins and Turtles in the Wild and Hawaiian Cultural Experience

star-4.5615

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$179.00

star-55

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$292.96

star-57

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$166.41

star-3.52

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.09

star-5869

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.28

star-54

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$500.00

star-566

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$170.00

star-4.51094

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$96.75

star-5294

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$159.00

Explore Similar Things to Do