Recent Searches
Clear
Dunedin Shore Excursion - Taieri Gorge Train One Way with City Sights

Dunedin Shore Excursion - Taieri Gorge Train One Way with City Sights

star-56 Reviews
|
Port Chalmers, New Zealand
Safety measures
icon5 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Safety measures
icon5 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Don’t worry—here are some similar options


Safety measures
icon5 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Transport by air-conditioned vehicle
Experienced, local driver/guide
One-way ticket on Taieri Gorge train
Port pick up and drop off
Any food or drink - although you can purchase on board the train
Port Otago , 15 Beach Street, Port Chalmers 9023, New Zealand
On disembarking your ship please enter the Visitor Terminal on the wharf. Your guide will be waiting in the 'Private Tours' meeting area, holding a Shore Trips and Tours sign.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • This tour is unsuitable for people with mobility issues. You will need to be able to embark and disembark the train, as well as the vehicle.
  • There are 2 schedules for this tour. The first schedule is as described. The second schedule is a reverse option of the first. All inclusions remain the same.
  • This tour is unavailable on any days when there are 2 ships in port (as the cruise lines book all the train seats)
  • Please note tour vehicle usually has a maximum capacity of 16 passengers, but you will be sharing the train with other groups
  • Please purchase a ticket for all travelers in your group - including 'purchasing' a ticket for all infants. NZ transport law requires us to count all heads on board. One child or infant max per adult ticket.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour is for passengers arriving on a cruise ship into the Port of Dunedin
  • This is a Pre Booked Tour Only!
  • No sales on the day of the Tour!
  • Tour operation is subject to operation of the Train Service
  • 8.30am is the regular tour start time. This may be adjustment for early/late arriving cruise ships
  • Please ensure you provide a contact phone number and/or email address that you will have with you and/or checking whilst on holiday so any last minute tour time changes can be notified
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Shore Trips and Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Dunedin Shore Excursion - Taieri Gorge Train One Way with City Sights?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Dunedin Shore Excursion - Taieri Gorge Train One Way with City Sights.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Dunedin Shore Excursion - Taieri Gorge Train One Way with City Sights?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Dunedin Shore Excursion - Taieri Gorge Train One Way with City Sights.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Dunedin Shore Excursion - Taieri Gorge Train One Way with City Sights?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Dunedin Shore Excursion - Taieri Gorge Train One Way with City Sights.

Traveler Tips


  • "Definately worth doing bus one way and train one way so you see different views as you travel." See review
  • "An excellent way to see this part of the South island, both by rail and coach." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
6 Reviews
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews
star-5
Excellent value and venue
Dave_G
, Mar 2020
Fabulous trip and value from Viator, once again. Highly recommend this vendor and venue. An excellent way to see this part of the South island, both by rail and coach.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks for the review and pleased you had a good trip. I think we are the only company to offer this road AND railway trip in Dunedin. It lets you experienced the stunning Taieri Gorge Railway but ALSO take the inland road trip back to Dunedin, both last about 2 hours and on top of that we show you as much of the city sights as time allows, plus the trip is around half the cost of the cruise lines comparative trip which does the return train trip, so you miss out on the amazing scenery the road section covers. Regards Ian
star-5
A Dunedin Must See
Daniel_T
, Feb 2020
Shore Trips and Tours was the tour company and Ross was our tour guide on this rainy day in Dunedin. Ross showed us some of the highlights of the area and dropped us off at the turn around point in the country for the train. The ride back to Dunedin through the Taieri Gorge was beautiful. After the train ride, Ross picked us up at the train station to view more of Dunedin including the steepest street in the world. Due to the rain, we were not able to see some of the views from the hills but Ross made the tour very informative and entertaining before returning us to our ship.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the response on the tour, this is a sell out program we started operating just this season, so pleased you liked it. Can not do much about the rain though. Regards Ian
star-5
Great choice!
deloresstick
, Feb 2020
Our guide, Ross, was wonderful! He had very interesting commentary the whole time. I am glad that they offered the one way train ride because I think round trip would have been too much time on the train.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for the great review, Ross does a wonderfull job for us down in Dunedin. We set up the one way by train and the by road as we can then show you the stunning country that you miss if you do the return train trip. It also allows us to give more people the opportunity to ride the train as places are very limited. Just a shame the trains are often charted by both cruise ships when two are in port, meaning there are no seats left for us. Regards Ian
star-5
Loved this tour
Linda_M
, Jan 2020
Ross was an excellent guide, very friendly, funny, knowledgeable and you could tell he loved his home country. Train trip was excellent, bus tour was excellent, saw the points of interest we wanted to and Ross provided excellent commentary along the way. Beautiful country side. Definately worth doing bus one way and train one way so you see different views as you travel. We were on a cruise ship so had a time frame which was important and we saw everything and arrived back on time.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Yes, our one way train trip and the return by road through stunning scenery is a real hit this season. Pleased you enjoyed the day with Ross, our local "Train" expert. Regards Ian
star-5
We had a Great Time
Lisa_W
, Dec 2019
Ross was very informative & interesting with details about the Dunedin area. We enjoyed ourselves immensely. Thanks Lisa & Chris
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi Lisa and Chris, Ross will be pleased to hear that you had a great day with us in Dunedin, he does a great job for all our clients and is really passionate about the region and especially the Taieri Gorge railway, which is the tour he most often drives for us. Pleased you had a great day and thank you for the review. Regards Ian
star-5
TAIERA railway excursion
susan b
, Dec 2019
really good . It was a pity it had to be cut short because of terrible storms and roads cut off etc. but it didn't detract from a great day when we were lucky on the train and missed the worst weather and our guide was wonderful at getting us back to the ship before it sailed. the ship crew had pulled out all the stops to help too as had everyone in the area. some people did miss the ship so we were very lucky.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi Susan, thanks for the review, it was a wild day in Dunedin on your visit. We plan the tours very carefully so that we do not have any issues getting back to the ship in time. In 19 years of providing shore excursions we have never missed a ship, a record we aim to keep. But it does pay to be careful when booking an independent tour that the company you are using has a good track record. The usual ones who miss the ship are often those who book self drive rental cars. Thanks again.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Dunedin Shore Excursion - Taieri Gorge Train One Way with City Sights
Dunedin Shore Excursion - Taieri Gorge Train One Way with City Sights

star-56

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$0.00

star-51

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$261.78

star-4.533

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$112.02

star-575

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$135.69

star-4.514

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$158.85

Explore Similar Things to Do