Recent Searches
Clear

South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5143 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavík, Iceland
South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon14 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Experience the natural wonder of Jökulsárlón glacier and lagoon during this full day trip from Reykjavik. See black sand beaches, visit the charming village of Vik, stop by Seljalandsfoss waterfalls, and take boat ride among the icebergs in Glacier Lagoon.
  • Full-day tour of Jökulsárlón and the Glacier Lagoon from Reykjavik
  • Boat tour among the icebergs on Glacier Lagoon
  • Learn about the formation of the glacier and the glacial lagoon
  • Visit the Seljalandsfoss waterfalls
Saved to wishlist!
Boat ride
Driver/guide
Food and drinks
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Þórunnartún 1 , Þórunnartún 1, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

7:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.Our pickup can take up to 30 minutes so please wait at your pickup location from the time written on your ticket. More locations we do offer pickup service from: - Subway at the former Oddsson Ho(s)tel, Hringbraut 119 - Burgerjoint (Hamborgarabullan), Geirsgata 1 - Gamli Gardur, Hringbraut 29 - BSI Bus Terminal, Vatnsmyrarvegur 10 (front / taxi side) Many accommodations in central Reykjavik are redirected to official "Tour Bus Stops" from which we also offer pickup: - Tour Bus Stop 1, Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstraeti (64.146316,-21.941491) - Tour Bus Stop 2, Tjörnin - The Pond, Maedragardur on Laekjargata (64.145763,-21.938547) - Tour Bus Stop 3, Lækjargata, Laekjargata 4 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 5, Harpa, Austurbakki 2 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 6, Safnahúsið - The Culture House, Hverfisgata 15 by Arnarholl (64.147454,-21.932894) - Tour Bus Stop 7, Traðarkot, Hverfisgata 20 (64.146706,-21.930425) - Tour Bus Stop 8, Hallgrímskirkja, by Eiriksgata (64.141548,-21.927973) - Tour Bus Stop 9, Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24 (64.143497,-21.916289) - Tour Bus Stop 10, Hlemmur, Laugavegur 105 (64.143155,-21.915414) - Tour Bus Stop 11, Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37 (64.142364,-21.917228) - Tour Bus Stop 13, Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120 (64.142658,-21.913866) Free pickup location: - Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 6 (64.144389,-21.910327)
Be ready for early morning departure. Climb into a comfortable tour vehicle and depart the city, bound for the south shore of Iceland and the Glacier Lagoon. 

Once you arrive, take a boat ride among the icebergs. Learn about the formation of the lagoon and, which branches from Breidamerkurjokull, an outlet glacier of the Vatnajokull glacier. 

Back on land, stop at two of the country's most impressive waterfalls on the way back to Reykjavik. Walk behind the falls at Seljalandsfoss. 
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Seljalandsfoss
Seljalandsfoss is a scenic waterfall which can also be walked behind.
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Glacier Lagoon
This is our main stop of the day. You will be boarding a boat to get as close as possible to the icebergs.
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Fellsfjara
At our stop at the Glacier Lagoon are you also able to visit Diamond Bach since it is right next to the lagoon.
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Reyniskirkja Church
On our stop in Vík will you be able to purchase some food and in bright conditions also see the most southern part of Iceland
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • The duration of transfers are approximate, the exact duration will depend on the time of day and traffic conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately (sturdy shoes and rain- and wind-proof outdoor clothing recommended)
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travelers
  • OPERATED BY BusTravel Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Seljalandsfoss is amazing but definitely bring a rain coat because you will get wet walking behind it." See review
  • "First of many bus tours It is a long tour but the scenery makes up for it Lots of photo opportunities" See review
  • "Plenty of stops, and the lagoon is so beautiful it’s a must see" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
143 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 143 reviews
star-5
Terrific!
Mary_C
, Aug 2022
The tour guide Jona and driver Mikhal were amazing and added in some extra experiences as time allowed, like a visit to the black beach and the restaurant there at beachside which was great! Jona provided a lot of information on Icelandic history and customs. The boat ride on the Glacier Lagoon was incredible. The day flew by.
star-5
Uniquely beautiful
kendagail
, Aug 2022
The weather was fortunately very good and we had sun which accentuated the blue in the icebergs. It was an amazing experience on the Duck Boat floating with them.
star-5
Great tour, worth the time and money
Jignesh_M
, Aug 2022
Yona, our tour guide and Mikhail, our bus driver were awesome. Very well planned, on time and able to cover a lot. We were picked up by 7.30 and dropped off by 11 pm. Bus was clean and comfortable. Amazing locations
star-3
Beautiful but disappointed
Gina_P
, Aug 2022
The drive is long but the glacier lagoon is beautiful. We were disappointed that the bus was so crowded there were not enough seats and some families had to share with there kids or got split up. This was not good for a 14 hour tour. It looked as if the tour company put 2 groups together to save money. I recommend you look at a small group tour instead of this.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi Gina, Thank you for this review. We highly value our customer's experience. This tour is a large group tour so we use large buses for a lot of people. We always make sure that there are enough seats for everyone. We never overbook a tour. We unfortunately don't reserve seats but if you contact our customer support team they can ask the driver to make sure certain groups are together. For further assistance I recommend contacting us through email info@bustravel.is. Have a nice day.
star-5
Great experience
Keren_T
, Jul 2022
Great trip if you want to see the south coast. Loved the glacier lagoon. It’s long to be on the bus but worth it.
star-5
Driver and guide were...
John_L
, Jul 2022
Driver and guide were Amazing!!! They went above and beyond to make our trip extra special! We saw an extra hidden waterfall that was magnificent! They were very sweet to take photos of us with our cell phones. Amazing trip and highly recommend! Gretchen & John, Woodbury, CT USA
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Not to be missed the glaciers
Sharon_T
, Jul 2022
Wonderful tour guide at a wealth of information to share with everyone. Very personable and upbeat was willing to answer any questions. The driver was incredible, a very long day in goddess to and from without any trouble. Would recommend this trip to anyone
star-5
Don’t miss this awesome day trip!
Carolyn_P
, Jul 2022
Loved the boat ride on the glacier lagoon. The weather was sometimes rainy but not so on the lagoon ride and at the waterfalls. If you walk behind the waterfall you will get wet from the spray. But it is totally worth it! It is a long day trip but we made several stops on the way out and back. Bus driver did excellent job driving and tour guide was awesome giving us Icelandic history of the area. I can’t remember their names but ‘Thank you’ for a wonderful day despite the weather.
star-5
Waterfalls, glaciers and good stories!
Tayler_B
, Jul 2022
The first tour of my Iceland trip and it was absolutely amazing. Bathrooms and small cafes/shops at almost all locations we stopped, the bus was clean and comfy + had wifi. definitely worth adding the boat ride, if you don't and want to later your tour guide will add it for you the day of! Also very informative as the guide is telling you all kinds of stories and facts during the drive.
star-4
Geysir park, Gulfoss, and...
Dragan_P
, Jul 2022
Geysir park, Gulfoss, and South cost are excellent, something which should not be missed when you are on Iceland. Tours were very well organized.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
I was not picked up Confirmation #128432393, Booking894856600. Would like refund for difference between tours
Ida_W
, Jul 2022
I waited for pick-up outside hotel for 45 min and saw 7 buses but not mine. According to desk clerk, they had been there but for some reason we did not connect. Clerk called company and then told me they would be along shortly. Another 45 min passed and I went inside hotel again. Another clerk called the company and they had no record of 1st phone call. They kindly offered to book me following day but I was leaving for Canada. They graciously gave me another tour but it was a disappointing substitute. I would like a refund for the difference between the 2 tours. Ida
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Iceberg
Dalila_O
, Jul 2022
The glacier experience is unique and the highlight of the whole tour Learning about the highland of Iceland and many stops all interesting the only négatif will be the lunch and dinner time very short as ordering takes time 30 mn is not enough to order stay in a long line to pay eat all in half an hour the stops were all crowded lines for everything the tour needs to set more time fir rest
star-4
Beautiful waterfalls...
Kenneth_J
, Jun 2022
Beautiful waterfalls along mist of the route. katarina was a wonderful guide. Need to advertise the length of the trip….14 hours can be a bit much for many people in a bus.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great day trip, very good guide
Michael_O
, Jun 2022
It's a long day but it goes quite quickly. There's so much to see along the road and the tour guide kept us entertained with some great stories and facts about Iceland. Some really nice points of interest along the way, and then of course the Ice Lagoon itself which was amazing. The boat tour was unfortunately cancelled due to high wind but it was still a great trip.
star-5
Dream. Explore. Discover.
Gay_V
, Jun 2022
‘Twas a fun group we had and Simon was a great tour guide. Don’t forget your rain coats as this tour last stop before heading back to Rejkjavik will pass by Seljalandsfoss. You will have silly silhouette pictures behind this beautiful waterfalls and will get silly-wet after too!
star-5
fantastic trip
Max_c
, Jun 2022
Simon was an excellent guide, we had a great time. Despite the long ride, it was a lot of fun, we saw a great deal of South Coast
star-4
Although the longest trip...
Michael_W
, Jun 2022
Although the longest trip we were on - roughly 14 hours - it was worth it to experience the glacier lagoon and the boat trip around the lagoon. Guide was extremely good and helped make the time go quickly.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great trip focused on the glacial lagoon and diamond beach
Adrian_W
, Jun 2022
The glacial lagoon is simply a once in a lifetime experience and a real reminder of climate change. The other stops are fairly brief and I would recommend another tour if you want to spend more time in other areas.
star-4
Unforgettable
Glenda_S
, Jun 2022
It was a sunny day! Our family really enjoyed the boat ride. Benoit did a fantastic job explaining the facts about the lagoon and glaciers. He was also very entertaining. The sights from the bus tour were amazing, despite being a pretty long day. Our tour guide had lots of info and funny stories.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing tour of some of the world’s most scenic place.
Kevin_G
, Jun 2022
Great tour with an excellent tour guide, Monika. The South Coast is some of the most scenic locations I’ve experienced. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Iceland.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik
South Coast and Glacier Lagoon: Jökulsárlón with Boat Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5143

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$214.00

star-4.5439

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$154.96

star-4.574

15 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$272.98

star-4.5223

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$168.00

star-5108

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$440.00

star-591

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$519.00

star-4.5121

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00

star-51401

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$112.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations