Recent Searches
Clear

Magnificent Active Volcano Guided Hike Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5219 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavik, Iceland
Magnificent Active Volcano Guided Hike Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

If you’ve ever wanted to experience an erupting volcano up close, then a visit to Iceland’s Fagradalsfjall eruption is a must. Join a small group and head to the lava field for a guided hike past fresh magma, feeling the heat coming off of the newly formed rock.
  • Experience the raw and rugged terrain of Iceland
  • Stay connected on the journey with onboard Wi-Fi
  • A small group means more attention from your guide
Saved to wishlist!
Transfer to/from Reykjavik
Free WiFi on the Bus
Headlights (if needed)
Staying at the site for over 2 hours
Lunch

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

After booking, the operator will contact you about pickup time.

Pick up starts at either 9am. Please allow us 30 mins to complete all pick ups! We have multiple pick ups, and cannot be in more than one place at the same time. If we have not reached you by 30 minutes past then call the number provided, not before. Please select a hotel or bus stop close to your accommodation from the drop-down list. Most inner-city hotels are unavailable due to local law. If your hotel is not listed choose a bus stop. There are various bus stops around the city. When choosing pick up from the drop-down menu look under "ports". Please check voucher for the website. The Bus Stops we use are numbers: #1, #5, #6,#10 and #12 Again, you must choose a specific bus stop. We will not stop at a bus stop if we believe nobody is there waiting. Pick ups at individual addresses like airbnb's at random locations are not possible. You must also choose a specific pick up point close to your accommodation.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a strong physical fitness level
  • Not recommended for travelers who are not in good physical condition
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Glaciers and Waterfalls ehf
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Magnificent Active Volcano Guided Hike Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Magnificent Active Volcano Guided Hike Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Magnificent Active Volcano Guided Hike Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Magnificent Active Volcano Guided Hike Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Summer Tips: as you climb, it gets colder, damper, and windier so bring layers, preferably warm windbreakers or rain jacket/pants." See review
  • "Tours are based on circumstances and can be moved/changed at anytime." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
219 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 219 reviews
star-3
Disappointing hike with no active flowing lava
Joe_Z
, Nov 2021
I wish the difficulty level were disclosed prior to booking, along with the fact that the volcano was not currently actively spewing visible lava. The hike was quite treacherous, and much longer than expected. I understand that weather and visibility is out of the guide's hands, but all we saw was dried lava rock. Disappointing!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Joe, Sorry, you were disappointed but like we have said before, this isn't a fountain in Las Vegas. It can't be turned on or off. Now the hike is not treacherous at all. The hike is a steep hill, with switchbacks, and around 4 miles total. Most small kids manage this without complaining.
star-5
Wonderful day trip
Bergljot_M
, Nov 2021
we had a wonderful day at the volcano. Cold, but sunny and clear. We also visited Krysuvik, which was a bonus to the trip. The guide Jonas was excellent.
star-2
Not an Active Volcano hike!!
Jasna_N
, Nov 2021
The volcano was NOT active like it states in the the title. We were very disappointed with the false advertising. All we saw was dried up lava. Not only that but we stopped one too many times. We stopped so many times because the guide thought we needed to rest, but that only made us cold. We needed to keep moving, so that we can produce body heat to keep us warm. We knew what we are getting our selfs into. It’s hiking not walking at a leisurely pace. For the $100 per person price, I would just rent a car for cheaper and do a better hike.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
No scientist has yet dared to announce the end of the eruption, so much activity is in the area. Constant earthquakes and land rise indicate that the eruption is not over, so your claims of false advertising are wrong. The eruption is still OFFICIALLY active. As explained in the bus, the volcano has taken a break several times spewing up the orange lava, and now it has been in a fumarole (gaseous) state for some time. As for the guide and the hiking, we would not be happy with him if he would not take into account the people who walk slower in the group. These people must also be given some time to catch their breath and most of the people don't mind longer stops because they want to take it all in. Our advice to you is either to book a private tour where your needs are fully taken into account and to dress better for Icelandic weather conditions. Also, you need to respect the fact that this is a volcano. There is no on or off button. This isn't a fountain in Las Vegas.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Something you will never regret
Alex_F
, Nov 2021
Eínar was my tour guide. One of the most nicest people I’ve ever met. Throughout the entire journey he was very informative and funny.
star-5
Amazing!
Zoe_C
, Nov 2021
A brilliant tour. Absolutely recommend it. I was a bit worried about the steep climb at the start from reading about it and it definitely got the heart pumping but with stops for photos and our brilliant tour guide Pedro making sure everyone stayed together it was well worth it. We got to walk on the lava field which was incredible! The steam from the heat under the lava rock which you can actually feel in the crevices was just mind blowing. Absolutely loved the trip and Pedro was so passionate and knowledgeable. Well worth it. I’ll defo be back when the lava is flowing again. Just do it!!
star-5
Best hiking experience!
Viachaslau_L
, Nov 2021
I love Iceland and it was one of the best hiking experience I've ever had. Passed a lot on mountain pikes, walked a lot of miles and had a lot of fun. Special thanks to our Italian driver who did all the journey with us. Will recommend - but require good physical shape and warm clothes!!! couple of participants decline to hike because of clothes. Please be aware!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing experience
Emma_D
, Nov 2021
Amazing experience, definitely worth it. Our tour guide was brilliant and very knowledgable. We even stopped off at a hot spring on the way home! 10/10
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Immense experience
Sandeep_Y
, Nov 2021
Fantastic experience even if the lava isn’t spewing, the views are immense and well worth the hike. James, our guide, was also fantastic and very informative.
star-5
Great and interesting experience
Clare_K
, Nov 2021
The volcano was very interesting and the guide was very knowledgeable. We saw a lot if volcanic rock and went for a good hike
star-4
Good tour
Hedwig_I
, Nov 2021
Even though the volcano did not emitt fresh Lava this day, we could actially stand and walk on a save part of recently (few month old) lava. Doing this without detailed knowledge would have been really risky.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Magnificent Active Volcano Guided Hike Tour from Reykjavik
Magnificent Active Volcano Guided Hike Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5219

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$96.25

star-4.556

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.55

star-4.513

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.00

star-5114

4 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.00

star-4.510

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-5908

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$105.00

star-56

11 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$153.00

star-54

14 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$161.08

Explore Similar Things to Do