Recent Searches
Clear

Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

|
Reykjavík, Iceland
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

The Northern Lights, or Aurora Borealis, draw hopeful travellers to Iceland from across the world, but knowing how to boost your chances of the best sightings requires skill and practise. On this Northern Lights bus tour, enjoy round-trip travel from your Reykjavik hotel and head out into the Icelandic countryside with your experienced guide. Hit the best spots for the clearest visibility, and reschedule for free if you don’t get lucky.
  • Hit the best viewing spots according to weather conditions on the day
  • Sip hot chocolate as the Northern Lights dazzle in the skies above
  • Reschedule with ease if the Northern Lights don’t appear
  • Includes round-trip travel from your Reykjavik accommodation
Saved to wishlist!
WiFi on board
Dinner
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Þórunnartún 1 , Þórunnartún 1, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.Our pickup can take up to 30 minutes so please wait at your pickup location from the time written on your ticket. More locations we do offer pickup service from: - Subway at the former Oddsson Ho(s)tel, Hringbraut 119 - Burgerjoint (Hamborgarabullan), Geirsgata 1 - Gamli Gardur, Hringbraut 29 - BSI Bus Terminal, Vatnsmyrarvegur 10 (front / taxi side) Many accommodations in central Reykjavik are redirected to official "Tour Bus Stops" from which we also offer pickup: - Tour Bus Stop 1, Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstraeti (64.146316,-21.941491) - Tour Bus Stop 2, Tjörnin - The Pond, Maedragardur on Laekjargata (64.145763,-21.938547) - Tour Bus Stop 3, Lækjargata, Laekjargata 4 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 5, Harpa, Austurbakki 2 (64.14678,-21.937296) - Tour Bus Stop 6, Safnahúsið - The Culture House, Hverfisgata 15 by Arnarholl (64.147454,-21.932894) - Tour Bus Stop 7, Traðarkot, Hverfisgata 20 (64.146706,-21.930425) - Tour Bus Stop 8, Hallgrímskirkja, by Eiriksgata (64.141548,-21.927973) - Tour Bus Stop 9, Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24 (64.143497,-21.916289) - Tour Bus Stop 10, Hlemmur, Laugavegur 105 (64.143155,-21.915414) - Tour Bus Stop 11, Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37 (64.142364,-21.917228) - Tour Bus Stop 13, Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120 (64.142658,-21.913866) Free pickup location: - Tour Bus Stop 12, Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 1 (64.144389,-21.910327)
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 8 years old
  • Booking this Northern Lights tour also gives you a free ticket to visit the Aurora Museum in Reykjavik, Grandagarður 2, 101 Reykjavík. The free entrance is only valid on the day you join the tour, from the time we announce whether the tour is ON (by email and on our website). The entrance fees to the Aurora Reykjavik exhibition are complementary meaning that if you do not wish to go to the museum, there is no partial refund.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Dress in warm, wind and waterproof clothing and footwear.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 65 travelers
  • OPERATED BY BusTravel Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Our tour guided also brought her own professional camera and took pictures of us and sent them over via email FOR FREE!" See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
259 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 259 reviews
star-5
Thoroughly recommend
Sam_L
, Apr 2022
Fantastic experience, the guide and driver were great and knew exactly where to go and we were lucky enough to see the lights for about an hour!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Hike tour
Indre_G
, Apr 2022
It was our first hike tour and we loved it,our tour guide Maggie was excellent, so knowledgable and so passionate about her job,definitely will book more tours in the future 👍😊
star-2
Poorly organised
Michaela_B
, Mar 2022
Very badly organised, 2 coaches worth of people stood around until nearly 10pm before we got going, people shoving and pushing. No clear idea of when we would be leaving, booked thinking a 9.30 start for a 3 hour tour meant we would be home by 12.30 - 1 am at the latest, 2.10am got back to the hotel (fine but if I knew I would have given it a miss due to a relatively early flight the next day). Didn't see the lights, but that's no ones fault!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Disappointing. No lights = bad luck. No customer service = enhanced disappointment
Gareth_M
, Mar 2022
We were collected on a small shuttle bus from our hotel only to be transported to a bigger bus that already had all passengers on from the standard pick up point, so basically paid more to get the worst seats. We were all crammed in with our cold weather gear and were unable to sit together which was very disappointing. Then we were told we were going to drive to a clearing 45 minutes away to stop to try and see the lights. We arrived at the side of a high way and told to be careful on the road and the dirt track roads and the ferocious river nearby all with no lights (obviously 0 but not the safest). We were told we'd wait for around an hour for the sky to clear and hopefully see the lights. That was the full extent of the interaction with the crew until we arrived at our hotel hours later with the farewell "better luck next time". I know that the lights are not guaranteed but customer service shouldn't be optional. I would have felt less irritated by the waste of money if we had at least had some commentary, explanation on how the lights occur, how the forecast is predicted, why we choose that spot, etc etc. We had nothing! We followed the track down a few hundred yards from the side of the road to get away from the crowds of people (3 buses full, so around 120 -150 people) and with COVID we didn't want to be close to everyone having been already stuffed in a bus with everyone. The first we knew the buses were ready to leave is when we looked back and everyone else was on the bus! No announcement or check that we were back on the bus. We then drove back squashed again sitting alone until the farewell comment as above at the hotel. VERY DISAPPOINTED.
star-4
Damn you cloud
Raichel_M
, Mar 2022
Unfortunately didn't see the lights but our tour guide Dan was awesome. Shared lots of interesting information and remained optimistic the whole time. +Hot chocolate and a fire so win win
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
They don’t refund for cancelled tours, beware
Bethany_T
, Mar 2022
The tour was cancelled which happens as it’s nature but we have seen others were taken out and saw the lights. And they don’t offer refunds, only transfer of dates, not possible as we left today.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hey Bethany, This is actually not correct, if we cancel the tour and you have no other date where you want to join it, you are entitled to a full refund. Please just get in contact with us via email or phone and we can take care of this :) Have a great day!
star-3
Cancelled trip due to low clouds
Rita_H
, Mar 2022
Our northern lights tour was cancelled because of low cloud cover, very disappointing as we were really looking forward to seeing the lights
star-1
Very deceiving experience
Souhir_B
, Mar 2022
Very bad experience! We booked the northern lights visit the same day at 4.30 pm. We payed 90€ and we received a cancellation at 7.30pm saying that it was due to bad weather condition (it was predictable the same day and they could have reject the reservation). We asked for a reimbursement because we were going back home the day after, we didn’t receive anything 2 weeks after and still waiting!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Souhir, Indeed we are only running the Northern Lights tours when the weather allows it. If it´s cloudy we have no chance to see the lights and will cancel the tour. We make the decision in the afternoon because the weather forecast in Iceland is changing quickly. This is done the same way by all companies in Iceland. If we cancel the tour and you are not able to join it on a different day you are entitled to a full refund. Please send us an email with your booking number and this will be processed. Have a great day!
star-4
Tour cancelled
Holly_B
, Mar 2022
We arrived in Reykjavik on Sat 13th March and had an amazing 11 he golden circle/blue lagoon tour on Sun 14th where the tour guide told us tonight is the best chance for the lights.. we then went to a bar later that night and a local quickly asked us to go outside.. there we seen the lights! They were beautiful but only there for a few seconds and a little underwhelming (I think because we were in the main centre) however still beautiful all the same and I am so grateful we got to see them. Our tour the next day Sun 15th luckily was cancelled due to horrendous rain and we got the money back within a few days :).. I think if you were lucky to go on the Sat it would have been incredible! However a local did say (sorry to post this!) if the lights are going to be there they’ll be there no matter what. Download the ‘Aurora’ app and it will tell you when and where they are most likely and get a taxi down the light house or coast on the day xx
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Holly, Thank you for your feedback! That is absolutely correct, you will see the Northern Lights from anywhere in Iceland as long as there are no clouds! Seeing the lights from the city though is comparable with seeing stars from the city. You will certainly be able to see a hand full of stars from the city but you would never be able to see the milky way from the city due to the light pollution. It´s the same with the Northern Lights. Any light pollution will affect the view on them and the less light pollution you have around you the more amazing they will look :) But still, seeing them from the city is still a million times better than not seeing them at all! And we are very glad you got to see them :) Have a wonderful day!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
unbelievable
Diana_G
, Mar 2022
Gary the guide was amazing, very nice and helpfull with our doubts He took us to a place about an hour from Reykjavik and we saw the most amazing natural show It was unbelievable
star-5
Depends on weather
Izabella_I
, Mar 2022
One of our tour guides said that seeing the Northern lights is like winning the lottery. Well, I guess we were quite lucky to see them then! Our tour guide, Artis was really helpful and she told us about Iceland a bit on the bus ride. Thank you!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Best night of my life!!
Katie_B
, Mar 2022
Travelled as a solo passenger and I couldn't have felt safer. They took us to a completely dark spot west of Reykjavik and we were treated to the biggest light show that the tour operator had ever seen. The sky danced pink, green, purple and yellows. We were so lucky and I've never experienced anything like that in my life!! A lot of other tours missed them due to being in the wrong place so i can't thank these guys enough for their expertise.
star-1
Be aware before booking and spending such amount
Abhishek_S
, Mar 2022
Check vedur.is before booking your Aurora otherwise, it's a waste of money. If it's cloudy, no matter how hard you try, you won't see the northern lights. Moreover, the organization will not inform you that it would not be possible today and refund the money to you. It's all about making money here.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hey there, Thank you for your feedback. We have an expert team working on the decision if it is possible to see the Northern Lights or not every day. We only run the tour if there is a realistic chance to see them! Of course it is always great to already check websites like vedur.is or auroraforecast.is ahead of time but unless you are an actual expert knowing how microclimates effect the mountain areas I´d recommend you to trust us in our decision making :) Of course weather is never 100% predictable but we have an extremely good quote of finding gaps and seeing the Northern Lights if we run the tours :) If the Northern Lights are not seen we offer our guests a 3 year voucher to reschedule their tour free of charge as many times until they see the lights :) We hope you got to see them on your next try! All the best!
star-5
Pure magic!
Angeliki_P
, Mar 2022
Words are not enough to describe this experience! Thanks to our driver Severin and our guide Gerri we managed to see a magnificent Aurora show which really brought tears to our eyes. Gerri has been a fountain of knowledge, extremely patient and experienced. Thanks to his perseverance we had this mind-blowing experience. Thank you very much!!!
star-5
Amazing absolutely worth it
Elizabeth_L
, Mar 2022
The trip didn't get off to the best start with a delay on picking up and transferring people BUT the guides worked hard to explain about the northern lights and seek the best place and we were lucky and rewarded. The got chocolate was so tasty and appreciated. They really helped support with photos. Brilliant tour would recommend. thank you
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
AMAZING!
Rachel_A
, Mar 2022
Great experience !! Lovley hunt for the lights - they were spectacular. Our guide Daniel had such a calming voice and explained everything so well. Best picture opportunities and great coco !!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Our Tour guide saved the day
Martin_T
, Mar 2022
This review would have been 1 at most if not for Daniel our guide. ‘Bus Travel Iceland’ pick up due between 9:30 and 10pm didn’t turn up until 10:30 and with damaged front door on bus and no WiFi. The company and Viator were useless with information / communication and assistance. Lucky we were being picked up from the hotel given the cold weather. Credit to Daniel, he provided WiFi from making Hotspot from his own phone. The knowledge and information he provided seemed far fetched but was spot on. His assistance and instruction in how to set you phone cameras and cameras was invaluable. So much so that without him I am sure we would not have got the results we did, and further more the information allowed us to get even better results on own in Reykjavik bay in the city a couple of nights later. His attention to detail was great and he couldn’t do enough. At the beginning I was ready to ask for my money back, by the end I would have given 5 stars if not for the original issues Thanks Daniel👍
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Spectacular
Andrea_C
, Mar 2022
Wow, so amazing, John was our Aurora whisperer, he spotted something in the sky not that far out of town and agreed with the bus driver to stop. He explained it looked a little underwhelming but it may change. Was he right, we had the most amazing display of dancing lights. We also had the best hot chocolate I’ve ever tasted. Thank you for an amazing night which we will never forget. Andrea and Andrea
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Next time?!
Judith_B
, Mar 2022
Unfortunately after much waiting and hoping we didn't see the lights. Guide was lovely (Joseph) and hot chocolate appreciated.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Lovely evening
Poppy_M
, Feb 2022
We Saw the northern lights with a great guide and Got yummy hot chocolate - wonderful evening - thanks
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

star-4259

3 to 4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$53.00

star-4.512

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$103.53

star-3.5476

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-4.553

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$109.00

star-4.53136

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.74

star-51

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.00

star-527

4 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$135.95

star-423

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-5259

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$125.49
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations