Recent Searches
Clear
To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. The WHO is closely monitoring the coronavirus and more information can be found here.

Walking & Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

|
Roma, Italy
To limit the spread of the coronavirus, attractions may be closed or have partial closures. Please consult government travel advisories before booking. The WHO is closely monitoring the coronavirus and more information can be found here.

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon2 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

See the famous sights of the Eternal City on an evening tour of Rome. Walk and cruise through the city by coach, admiring landmarks like the Colosseum, St. Peter’s Basilica, and Castel Sant’Angelo beautifully illuminated after dark. To enhance your experience, you may upgrade your tour when booking to include a traditional Italian dinner at a local restaurant near the Trevi Fountain.
  • Panoramic night tour of Rome
  • Great introduction to Rome's many attractions
  • See Rome's squares and monuments illuminated
  • Special stop at the Trevi Fountain – be sure to throw in a coin for good luck
  • Upgrade your tour to include a 3-course dinner in Trevi
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Hotel pickup from select hotels in central Rome (only if upgrade is selected)
Food and drinks (included only if dinner option is selected)
Gratuities
Drop-off

Departure Point

Via del Traforo, 148, 00187 Roma RM, Italy

Return Details

Via del Colosseo, 00184 Roma RM, Italy
Begin your panoramic Rome night tour at the Trevi fountain when the sun sets. From there, walk towards Piazza della Rotonda to see the Pantheon under cover of night. Then, head to Piazza Navona and Bernini’s Fountain of the Four Rivers, the last stop of the walking portion of this tour.

Board your motor coach to see more monuments, starting with Castel Sant'Angelo and continuing to St. Peter’s Square, Tiberina Island, and The Mouth of Truth.

Your final stops are Circus Maximus, Palatine Hill, and the Colosseum—eternal symbol of Rome.

From November through March, you’re dropped off at select hotels in central Rome.

Please note: From November 1 to March 31, this tour is available only in English.

Optional dinner upgrade:

When booking, you have the option to upgrade your nighttime tour to include a 3-course Italian dinner at a restaurant near the Trevi Fountain in Rome’s historical center. You’ll enjoy traditional Roman dishes before starting the tour.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Trevi Fountain
The Trevi fountain is certainly the most scenic and the most famous of Rome's fountains and is the exhibition of the Acqua Vergine, the aqueduct that Marco Vipsanio Agrippa led to Rome in 19 BC. to feed his thermal baths.
Duration: 35 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Pantheon
Dedicated to the worship of all the gods (Pan-tutti Theon-divinity), the Pantheon was built by the emperor Hadrian between 118 and 125 d.c. on the remains of a previous temple of 27 BC of which it still bears the inscription and consecrated as a Christian church in 609 with the name of Santa Maria ad Martyres. In 1870 it became the shrine of the kings of Italy, and welcomes the remains of Vittorio Emanuele II, Umberto I and Margherita di Savoia.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Bocca della Verita
The large imperial tondo of almost 2 meters in diameter was once used as a manhole cover for a cloaca. Some think it is a manhole, others, given the size, the cover of a well. It has the features of a faun inspired by a river divinity, the God Portuno, to whom a temple was probably dedicated near the same cloaca. "
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Circus Maximus
The Circus Maximus was destined for sports and athletic competitions of various types, it became famous above all for the chariot races. At peak times, it could accommodate from 250,000 to 300,000 with standing places. Recent excavations have brought to light finds that allow us to better delineate the ancient features of the circus, a myriad of small shops, stalls and taverns surrounded the racing area.
Duration: 15 hours 
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Museo Nazionale di Castel Sant'Angelo
The Mausoleum of Hadrian, usually known as Castel Sant'Angelo is a towering cylindrical building in Parco Adriano, Rome, Italy. It was initially commissioned by the Roman Emperor Hadrian as a mausoleum for himself and his family. The building was later used by the popes as a fortress and castle, and is now a museum. The structure was once the tallest building in Rome.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
St. Peter's Basilica
The Papal Basilica of St. Peter in the Vatican or simply St. Peter's Basilica (Latin: Basilica Sancti Petri), is an Italian Renaissance church in Vatican City, the papal enclave within the city of Rome.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Isola Tiberina
The Tiber Island (Italian: Isola Tiberina, Latin: Insula Tiberina) is the only island in the part of the Tiber which runs through Rome. Tiber Island is located in the southern bend of the Tiber.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Palatine Hill
The Palatine Hill which is the centremost of the Seven Hills of Rome, is one of the most ancient parts of the city and has been called "the first nucleus of the Roman Empire." It stands 40 metres above the Roman Forum, looking down upon it on one side, and upon the Circus Maximus on the other. From the time of Augustus Imperial palaces were built here.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Colosseum
The Colosseum or Coliseum also known as the Flavian Amphitheatre is an oval amphitheatre in the centre of the city of Rome, Italy.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • One piece of check-in luggage per person is permitted on this tour
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Gray Line I Love Rome by Carrani Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Walking & Panoramic Rome by Night Tour?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Walking & Panoramic Rome by Night Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Walking & Panoramic Rome by Night Tour?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Walking & Panoramic Rome by Night Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Walking & Panoramic Rome by Night Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Walking & Panoramic Rome by Night Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "I recommend everyone to take this tour, Rome is really different by night, and with this tour you will have the chance to see the hidden parts that you usually miss during the day." See review
  • "Be aware that there is quite a bit of walking." See review
  • "As with all night time tours, photography at night especially from inside the bus is a challenge at best, but we did get to stop and get off at the Colosseum for night time pics." See review

Reviews

3.0
star-3
407 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 407 reviews
star-5
1st trip to Rome
JenniferSurprise
, Oct 2019
Very friendly and informative guide. Enjoyed the tour very much. Thank you for making our first trip to Rome memorable.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Night Tour of Rome
rometrip1019
, Oct 2019
When I first booked this tour I thought it was a two hour bus tour with stops for us to get out and take pictures. However this turned out to be a 1 hour walking tour and a 1 hour bus tour. My friends and I just arrived in Rome that afternoon from New York and were exhausted after an 8 hour flight. We didn't really want to do any walking. The tour guide was good, but there was static on the radio and he was difficult to understand. It would have been so much better if we could tour from the bus.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Guest, thanks for your review and for letting us know what your experience was like. We're sorry for the little misunderstanding about the modes of the tour, but we would like to know more about it: was the description of the tour unclear? Did your voucher not have the correct information? We recently edited the content for this tour and called it by its current title 'Walking & Panoramic Rome by night Tour' in an intent to underline that it involves a certain amount of walking, too. Your feedback is much appreciated so we can improve our communication. Best regards, the Gray Line I Love Rome Team
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Night Tour of Rome
Judy V
, Oct 2019
I was extremely disappointed in this tour. I feel it was misrepresented. We did not spend much time in the bus and had a very short glimpse of St. Peter's. I would not recommend this tour or the dinner to anyone visiting Rome.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Judy, we just saw your review and would like to apologize if you felt misrepresented. Our aim is to provide great guest experience always as well as clear expectations on our tour information pages. It's never our intent to give a false representation of a tour or mention aspects of it that don't correspond to reality. We can appreciate that you didn't enjoy the tour by night fully, especially the secon part of it (the bus part), but we can't see how the tour was misrepresented. Our description text has been recently revised so it adheres to the tour's structure as much as possible. And so, please help us understand better what your expectations were and what we could have done better in order to really take advantage of your feedback. To that end, please contact us at feedbackteam@graylinerome.it so we can carry on our fruitful discussion offline. Thanks and regards, the Gray Line I Love Rome Team
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Night tour of Rome
LindaJAX2019
, Sep 2019
I was sorely disappointed. I had to call for the hotel pick up but no one told me the tour was mostly a walking tour tour. The dinner was very good. We did at last get on a bus for the short last bit of the tour however we ended at the colosseum late at night when it was closed, with nothing around and no taxis in site! I was extremely upset. If we had a hotel pick up, a hotel drop off should have been included as well. This was one trip that was not worth the money.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Dear Linda, just saw your review, so sorry if you were disappointed! We’re normally known for our exceptional attention to detail, and we regret that we missed the mark with you. We checked our product on Viator for inaccuracies only to find that its descriptions correctly say that the tour is a walking tour in its first part and a panoramic bus tour in its final part. The section 'Departures & Return' does indicate that the tour ends in the Colosseum area as well. If you saw or received different information, please let us know. You can contact us any time at feedbackteam@graylinerome.it providing your booking reference. That said, rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration and we thank you for sharing it, because it helps us monitor our reputation based on your opinions. Kind regards, the Gray Line I Love Rome Team
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Viator
lolomwila
, Aug 2019
The tour was very good,the only thing stopping it from being excellent is when theres kids 2 n 4 they need help with all that walking.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Very Dissapointed
T1489RUken
, Aug 2019
"Enjoy a traditional Italian dinner." we "enjoyed" a three course dinner at Fontana di Venere. Choice of two pastas, then choice between pork and perch. The Muslims in the group asked for vegetarian meal. I ask for chicken. Then, for dessert, it was some inedible custard, no choice. Drinks not included. I don't think anyone enjoyed the meal, and it certainly was not worth the $50 charge. Lady's room in restaurant had no seat on the toilet, had to try to squat unsupported!! Definitely NOT ACCEPTABLE. "Panoramic night tour of the city." Long walk, with the guide telling us all about the sights we would see if we were to go into the (mostly non-illuminated) buildings, the interiors of which were not included. After LONG walk, we got on bus for a 30 minute rush through Rome -- no stopping of the bus (except at traffic lights) for photo ops, no getting off the bus for photo ops. IF you happened to be on the correct side of the bus, you might have been able to see whatever sight the guide was talking about. But it was hit or miss. And only if you were on the window seat. And many of the buildings were not illuminated. Horrible tour!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Did not do tour
Xuan D
, Jul 2019
We booked for a night tour via air conditioned vehicle but when we went to check in for the tour, the guide told us this was a walking tour; so we did not do the tour. We had been walking all day for the other tour and were expecting to NOT be walking. Although I called Viator, I have yet to receive my refund from Viator
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Dear Xuan D, we are sorry you decided not to attend the tour, but we understand your reasons. Our Panoramic Rome by Night Tour is a combination of walking and sightseeing, as we indicate in the What to expect section on the Viator website: "Begin your panoramic Rome night tour at the Trevi fountain when the sun sets. From there, walk towards Piazza della Rotonda to see the Pantheon under cover of night. Then, head to Piazza Navona and Bernini’s Fountain of the Four Rivers, the last stop of the walking portion of this tour. [...]" Sorry if our description wasn't clear enough, but we can certainly use your feedback to improve our content material and wording. As far as your refund request is concerned, please send an email to guest-relation-manager@graylinerome.it with your information/booking reference. Warm regards, the Gray Line Rome Team
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Would like a refund
Meander482497
, Jul 2019
We did not do this attraction, when we arrived at our destination we found out that this was a 75 mins walking tour and a .30 mins bus tour. We had been on our feet all day in a heat wave and on the tickets it did not say that this was a mostly walking tour, it had no information on the tickets about it been a walking tour, if it had we would not have booked this.we were looking to resting our feet and seeing Rome at night. We were not the only ones to have been fooled most of the ticket holders were not at all happy about this as we were. Would like a refund for we did not take the tour and could you in future list the tour as part walking part bus so as not to disappoint anyone. Every night tour I have ever been on has been by bus and as it did not say it was part walking tour we were fooled. We booked many tours with you for our Paris and Rome trips I feel that it is not unfair to ask for a refund on this tour as it was not property advertised. Thanking you in anticipation
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Dear Guest, as you can read on the description section published on Viator for this tour, this activity is a mix of walking and sightseeing: "Begin your panoramic Rome night tour at the Trevi fountain when the sun sets. From there, walk towards Piazza della Rotonda to see the Pantheon under cover of night. Then, head to Piazza Navona and Bernini’s Fountain of the Four Rivers, the last stop of the walking portion of this tour". We will revise and rephrase our published contect so as to avoid misunderstandings in the future. That said, we are of course very sorry that you found yourself to be disappointed at the start of your tour, we aim at the best experiences always for our guests. As far as your refund request is concerned, please send an email to guest-relation-manager@graylinerome.it with your information/booking reference. Kind regards, the Gray Line Rome Reviews Team
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Not happy
Derya S
, Jun 2019
I love Roma tour guides make us walk 75 mn walk then we catch the bus there was 2 guides talking in the same time 2 different languages at ones not happy
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Dear Derya, we're sorry you didn't enjoy your experience and that the expectations weren't met. We try to curate the best experiences possible in Rome, we're mortified when we miss the mark, even if we are aware that experiences are subjective. This tour is a good balance between a walking part and a sighseeing part on board of a coach, because we designed it so and tried to convey it in the description text published on Viator. We'll certainly take your words into consideration and engage in an improvement effort thanks to your feedback. Kind regards, the Gray Line Rome Team
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Panoramic Romwe by Night
snorton_13
, Jun 2019
This was a walking and bus tour. It included a dinner which gave us the opportunity to meet other travelers. The venues were crowded even at night and this tour gave us the chance to see areas we would not have seen.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 5034ROM8

Explore Similar Things to Do