Recent Searches
Clear

Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown Guided Walking Tour

|
San Francisco, United States
26

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Take away the stress and uncertainty from booking an Alcatraz tour with this package that includes Alcatraz ferry tickets and a 90 min tour of Chinatown. Get practical tips from your guide on visiting Alcatraz then follow them through the heart of the largest Chinese community in the Western World. This is the perfect way to spend half a day in San Francisco enjoying some of its quintessential experiences with the help of a local who is on hand both to guide you and sort out logistics.
  • Experience two contrasting sides of San Francisco with a trip to Alcatraz and Chinatown
  • An audio guide provides narration for your tour of Alcatraz
  • A guide escorts you through the maze of vibrant streets that makes up the heart of Chinatown
  • Your guide provides recommendations for where to eat after the tour
Saved to wishlist!
Alcatraz Island Ticket including round trip ferry and audio guide
Guided walking tour of Chinatown
Expert local guide
Tasting and demonstration at Golden Gate Fortune Cookie Factory
Special hand-made, custom fortune cookie to go
Gratuities
Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off
1800 Montgomery St, San Francisco, CA 94111, USA

Departure Time

10:00 AM
10 Mark Ln, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA

Departure Time

10:00 AM

Departure Time

10:00 AM

Return Details

San Francisco, CA, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Alcatraz reserves the right to move ticket times up until three weeks prior to your tour. You will receive an email confirmation from us with your tour time as soon as Alcatraz confirms. Until you receive this, do not assume your tour is at the time you saw online or in your initial email confirmation.
  • In this confirmation email, you must respond with the name and birthdate of each person visiting the island. Should you fail to provide these at least 10 days prior to your tour, your reservation will be canceled.
  • This is a walking tour. Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level.
  • All travelers over the age of 18 must bring ID for their Alcatraz tour. Without ID, tickets cannot be released for you to travel to Alcatraz. 
  • Most travelers can participate
  • he Alcatraz Island portion of this tour is self-guided (audio guide included). You will not have a guide during this section of the tour
  • Upon return from Alcatraz you must make your own way to the meeting location for the Chinatown portion of the tour.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Take Walks New York by Walks

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown Guided Walking Tour?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown Guided Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown Guided Walking Tour?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown Guided Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown Guided Walking Tour?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown Guided Walking Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown Guided Walking Tour?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown Guided Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Alcatraz is everything you've seen in the films and so worth it in the price to have an audio tour." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
28 Reviews
]

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews
star-5
Great
Alberto_R
, May 2021
Eddie was amazing, and super attentive to any question my group had. 10/10. Nice meeting you! Thanks again!
icon Response from Host , May 2021
I am so glad that you had such a lovely time with Eddy!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
My guide was awesome but Alcatraz disappointed
Janette_R
, Oct 2020
I loved Leanne our guide she was awesome! Unfortunately no one from Viator explained to me that they were not allowing anyone inside the Alcatraz buildings. So my husband and I were extremely disappointed. This was my husband’s first time in California and it was his birthday gift. I hope someone will reach out to me to provide some compensation because for the amount of money I spent it was definitely Not worth it.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi Janette, We are happy to hear that LeAnne was an awesome guide but sorry your expectations of the tour itself weren't met. In the time you visited San Francisco, Alcatraz experienced last-minute closures of their interior spaces, something that happened swiftly due to COVID 19 and we did not have the opportunity to advise you of this. We understand this must have been very disappointing but in all of this, some things were out of our control. We hope you understand our own limitations on this and that your time with our guide improved your visit in some ways. Please let us know if you plan to visit again as we would love to have you with us.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Hard to get Answers
MLO
, Sep 2020
So we didn't actually go on the full tour. The 2nd half of the tour was canceled the day before. I guess our tour guide got into a car accident which is horrible. But we were not given very clear directions on what we were suppose to do. First we were told that the tour actually started at 10:00 a.m. not 9:00 a.m which is the time stated on Viator. Something they should update on the website. We get there a little before 10:00 & we are told by a security guard the 1st ferry doesn't even leave until 11:00. Something we were also not told. We tried calling the tour company but I guess they are not open on the weekends. We called Viator & they couldn't get a hold of them either. We weren't even sure we had tickets for 11:00 because we were told 10:00. We were also only given half credit which means we paid $50 each for our Alcatraz tour. If we bought tickets directly, they are $40 so we were overcharged $10 for each ticket. I emailed to ask why but they never responded. We never met with a tour guide for even a second, couldn't even talk with the tour company so have no idea what the extra $10 was for... My rating is base mostly on wrong information given & the fact they don't respond to questions. We understand that guides have lives & things happen.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Hi MLO, We are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you were expecting. Alcatraz does not confirm ticket times for their tours until (at most) 21-days prior to the date of the tour, so in order to sell this tour, we must state 9:00 am. We manage this by stating on the page you are buying our tour with "Due to Alcatraz's changing schedule, the tour operator will contact you within 10-days of your tour to confirm your ticket time." This is standard for all operators who sell tickets on Viator. As you are very much aware, at the time you visited San Francisco, we were in the midst of the global pandemic - news was changing daily and sites were being closed rapidly with little notice. For our part in any of your confusion during those unchartered time, we apologize. Please let us know if you plan to take another trip this year - we would love to have you with us.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
TERRIBLE
lholthus
, Feb 2020
Our experience was AWFUL! You ripped us off! You charged us more than double and we didn’t get any additional tickets other than Alcatraz! And you changed the itinerary from what I originally purchased! I would NEVER RECOMMEND YOUR SERVICE!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
I apologize you feel you didn't get what you paid for. Our company had every intention of fulfilling exactly what you bought - a ticket to Alcatraz, a Cable Car ticket, and a 1.5 hour walking tour. I'd like to explain so you don't feel "ripped off" by us. It took a little bit of digging around but we found the miscommunication. We try to ensure through multiple communication that all clients who purchase this understand that they are to meet the guide at the meeting point very close to Alcatraz Landing, but unfortunately, it seems you went directly to the ticket booth at Alcatraz. We are looking at how to even further make this clear. Alcatraz is the operator of the cruises but not of the tour you bought. I hope that makes sense. We, as the tour operator have all your tickets for the day but I know they did give you your Alcatraz tickets. But they wouldn't of had your Cable Car tickets - your guide was with the group just across the street at the meeting point with them! We really wished you had shown up at the meeting point and let us make your experience in San Francisco one that all visitors deserve!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent Combo Tour
Torresc15
, Nov 2019
Eddie gave us a lot of background information and tips about Alcatraz. He was helpful by walking us directly to the ticket booth to pick up the tickets. He also gave us the cable car tickets to use whenever we wanted and let us know which routes we might be interested in. Roberto met us for the 90 minute ChinaTown tour in the afternoon. He provided information about the history of the important locations in the area. He allowed us time to do some shopping at the stops along the way. I would recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you kindly for your recommendation! We're delighted to hear that Eddie and Roberto made your visit to San Francisco easy and enjoyable. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in our fair city and that you will come back again soon!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Lots of walking!!
lisaS6108AH
, Oct 2019
They need to give out itinerary We r 55-60 & felt lost. We wanted exact times & trolleys # to take. They just gave ticket & said here take picture of my map. U will find it on ur own!!!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your personal experience - we strive to create enjoyable, stress-free tours for all of our guests. We firmly believe we are giving an extensive amount of information at the meeting time for Alcatraz that allows clients to have a great day! We provide maps of the cable car lines, eating recommendations with a map and all guests are encouraged to take a picture so they have it in their phone right in the palm of their hand. We are genuinely sorry to hear that you felt it was too much walking - perhaps our product wasn't the right fit for your limitations and if that wasn't clear when you booked via Viator, we are looking to see what can be updated to make it even more clear. We are a walking tour company (We are called "Walks"!) so we do in fact, walk. But we do find all the best streets with minimal inclines and declines. Some small inclines/declines on Chinatown are unavoidable. Unfortunately, the cable cars do not have numbers and they do not depart at exact times. Our maps show clearly where to get on and off them and their line names. Since the product you purchased does not include a private tour guide for the entire day, we thought this sufficient but we are happy to see what we can do so people don't have to feel like they "have to find it on their own!!!" Moving forward, we will work hard to ensure that this situation doesn't adversely affect anyone else's tour experience. We appreciate your feedback, and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in San Francisco. All the best, The Walks Team
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great day, Fab Tour Guide!
SG2495
, Sep 2019
We came on this tour at he end of August, and it was a fabulous day out! Have been to San Fran before but never to Alcatraz, so seeing the penitentiary was very cool. I loved the added extra of the China Town tour, our guide LeAnn was brilliant! Full of knowledge, you could see her passion for her hometown!! Would definitely recommend :)
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
We too think LeAnne is brilliant and love that you could see how passionate she is about her hometown - that's the people we align ourselves with here at Walks. Thanks for taking the time to write your review and definitely come visit us in other places in the world!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Interesting and enjoyable day
Jon C
, Sep 2019
Had a great day visiting Alcatraz and Chinatown. The history was most interesting. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your day with us! We are delighted that we got to show you around these two spots of San Francisco.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Vacation
Trek32714313171
, Aug 2019
Loved the Alcatraz tour. Spent 2 1/2 hrs on the island. Had lunch at Pier 39, walked around, saw the sea lions. Met back up with the tour at 4 pm and toured Chinatown for 1 1/2 hrs. A lot of history and got to sample a fortune cookie. Then took our Trolley ride back to Fishermans Wharf. Perfect day.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Sounds like you took our advice and it worked out perfectly! Kudos to you! Thanks for spending your day in San Francisco with us.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent tour
Connector39315905818
, Jul 2019
I booked the tour of Alcatraz, China town and the cable car ticket. The tour company kept in contact with me through email telling me exactly where to meet my guide and pick up the tickets.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Love seeing this feedback and that we here at Walks made your visit enjoyable! Come back to San Francisco soon!
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 7167P38

Explore Similar Things to Do