Recent Searches
Clear

Bay Fishing South Padre Island

star-4.551 Reviews
|
South Padre Island, United States
Bay Fishing South Padre Island
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Keen fishers will love the opportunity to spend half a day out on the water on a fishing tour of South Padre Island. Depending on the season and conditions you may be able to catch sand trout, whiting, shark, sheepshead, and more. Bring your own gear or use what's provided. A valid Texas Saltwater Fishing License is required.
  • Learn about the region from your local guide
  • Catch a variety of fish to take home
  • Rod, reel, tackle, and bait will be provided
  • Receive personalized attention on a small-group tour
Saved to wishlist!
Live commentary on board
Local guide
We provide everything you need to fish with; rod, reel, tackle and bait.
Gratuities
Discount Coupons Not Accepted with this Offer
Bottled water
33256 State Park Rd 100 , 33256 State Park Rd 100, South Padre Island, TX 78597, USA

Turn right off Queen Isabella Causeway, travel 1/2 mile, turn right into Sea Ranch Marina, keep right of Sea Ranch Restaurant, Look for Captain Murphy's Fishing Charters at end of blue and white buildings. Your fishing boat will be the Hard Bottom Too.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Only Children Age 5+ Allowed and must be accompanied by an adult
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Isla Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Bay Fishing South Padre Island?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Bay Fishing South Padre Island.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Bay Fishing South Padre Island?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Bay Fishing South Padre Island.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Bay Fishing South Padre Island?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Bay Fishing South Padre Island.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
51 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews
star-2
Terrible crew
Choya_C
, Aug 2022
Terrible crew. Crew was fishing while passenger was throwing up and others complaining of feeling sick.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Unfortunately, sometimes customers do get a little seasick. The crew do continue to fish so the rest of the customers can catch their fish.
star-5
Great Experience!
Matthew_F
, Aug 2022
Staff was friendly everyone in the group caught sharks. Very positive experience would recommend to anyone for their first time.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
AWESOME!!!! Thank you for the review Matthew.
star-3
Negatives:...
William_S
, Aug 2022
Negatives: The captain was late, even though he was at the dock. We pulled away 20 minutes late. Then we came back 10 minutes early. That’s 30 minutes lost out of a 4 hour trip. There were hardly any fish caught during the trip. I know that is not their fault, but it just seemed like all of the bay fishing boats went to the same spots. We saw the same 3-4 boats the whole trip. I wish maybe they had tried a few different spots away from the other boats. Positives: The price of the trip was reasonable and the equipment was in decent condition. Rod, bait, etc. was included and all I’m working order. The crew even tried offering up some different bait to try and get some bites. The captain was pleasant and answered our questions. The best part was the deck hand Junior. He was very personable and approachable. He helped us out with all of the gear and was very engaging with the guests. He made the trip enjoyable and fun. I probably would have rated the trip much lower if it was not for him.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
We are sorry for the delayed departure and for coming in a few minutes early. (We will address this issue.) We are glad to hear that Junior made your trip pleasant and was helpful. Thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again.
star-5
South Padre Island Experience
ArmidaElena_M
, Aug 2022
The Captain keep everyone engage, very professional and friendly,great Music and all fishing gears provided it, excellent weather. My Family enjoyed it. The price was right. excellent experience Thank you
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us! Thank you for the review.
star-5
Had a great time. Even...
Patrick_T
, Aug 2022
Had a great time. Even caught a whiting. 😀 that's with not having any fishing experience whatsoever. The crew made it easy
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Oh, we're so happy you enjoyed fishing with us, and did catch a fish! That's awesome!!!
star-5
Great family experience I highly recommend.
Samantha_H
, Jul 2022
My son caught his very first fish on our trip. And my neice also caught her first catfish ever. Definitely will be going again next time we are out this way.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
That is AWESOME!!! We hope to see you again!
star-5
Great experience for fisherman of any level!
Janice_J
, Jul 2022
Great service. Israel was a helpful and patient deckhand. We all enjoyed our time. Took our catch to a local restaurant.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We definitely appreciate your recommendation. Glad you were able to enjoy your catch!
star-5
Captain Murphys fish trip
Johnny_B
, Jul 2022
6 miles out. Got to catch some red snapper. Moved back into the bay afterwards, and caught some more.
star-5
Great fishing trip
Amanda_T
, Jul 2022
Staff was absolutely amazing! Took my family ages range from 12-21 and everyone had a blast! My husband and I were super impressed on the crews knowledge and how friendly everyone was.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
VERY COOL!!! Thank you for the review.
star-4
Fishing at South Padre Island
LUIS_M
, Jul 2022
At the beginning there were not to much fishes but then there were enough even someone cought a red snapper, we able to see also dolphins that were following very close the boat too
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you Luis!!
star-1
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE PLEASE READ!
Bryant_R
, Jul 2022
If I could give this place negative stars I would! Let me start by saying I was so excited for a “bay” fishing trip with my family and it was a TOTAL let down. I’ve been sea sick before and told myself I would NEVER go off shore again and this captain took our group past the Jetty’s into deep water so I was once again sea sick and completely miserable along with many others who DID NOT sign up to go into deep water. Had I known we were going past the bay on a so called “bay” fishing trip I would of stayed on land but instead I spent 4 hours hung over the boat sick. Let’s also mention that out of everyone on that boat there was ONE… let me say that again ONE fish that was a keeper and it was a whiteing. And let’s not talk about the fact that There was a under size black drum that was caught and kept which it totally illegal. I called the office 11 times while out there speaking my frustrations to the manager and kept getting told there was nothing they could do and that it was up to the captain to take us back to land. When I asked the captain to take me and my group along with other that were sick he said he couldn’t because there were other people that would lose out on time to fish. If he would of taken a good look at the boat he would’ve noticed that 3/4 of the people on the boat were either sick or sitting there not even fishing because no one was catching anything. Overall this trip was miserable and we were given false advertisement and I would not recommend this place to ANYONE! If you choose to go on a “bay” trip with this company be sure to take lots of Dramamine and be prepared to not catch any fish.
star-5
Good boat, good crew
t42r9fq9mn
, Jul 2022
Staff was super friendly and the boat had plenty of space. Wasn’t the best day for fishing so I only caught one fish. But the staff kept mood up and the young kid with them even hung out with my little brother the whole time.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
THANK YOU for understanding that sometimes the fish just do not bite. We are glad you enjoyed your trip overall.
star-3
Not a good morning
johnhildebrand
, Jul 2022
The morning began with a trip out into the Gulf. After about an hour of rolling seas, about half of the guests, including my grandson, were seasick and throwing up over the side. Since this is advertised as a bay fishing trip, I am not sure why we began in the Gulf, especially considering the conditions. We then moved inside the jetties where conditions were much better. We never actually fished inside the bay proper. Trip ended at 11:30Am, a little early, but I think most folks just wanted to get off the boat.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
If the bite is tough inside the bay, which it is at times, our Captains do move just outside the jetties. We are sorry to hear you did get a little seasick. Our Captains do try their best to put guests on the fish.
star-5
1st time bay fishing. And...
Efrain_L
, Jul 2022
1st time bay fishing. And it was an awesome experience. I had a great time with my husband. I unfortunately caught nothing but he caught 4 fish. I enjoyed catching the sunset and seeing dolphins.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.
star-5
Thanks for the fun!
Cindy_R
, Jul 2022
Izzy was a wonderful boat guide. He was very friendly and helped our son with fishing! He had a blast.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you.
star-3
Captain was friendly just...
Tina_S
, Jul 2022
Captain was friendly just didn't catch much. They could of been more interactive. We just have caught more fish on other excursion
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
We are happy to hear your Captain was friendly.\. Unfortunately, sometimes the fish just don't bite.
star-4
Fun in the Sun
Steve_H
, Jul 2022
Great experience for the money. Good for my teen and young adult kids. Disappointed we didn’t catch any big fish. The boat was missing good areas of shade.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for your review. Sometimes the fish just don't bite.
star-5
Overall good experience
Kellie_S
, Jul 2022
Nice morning trip. Staff was great. Captain tried several spots to keep us on fish. The deckhands were really nice and good at their job. Helped everyone out on the boat and filleted our fish at the end. Captain also hopped in to help as needed. I believe we had a pretty full boat so there are people close by but not uncomfortably so. We caught a couple of fish each so not a great fishing day but that’s just how it goes sometimes especially in July. Side note: I’d recommend Taking some motion sickness meds beforehand. Overall enjoyed this trip and would try again.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you so much Kellie for taking the time to write such a great review. We are glad you had a good time, unfortunately, sometimes the bite is just not there.
star-5
Wonderful waters
Tiffany_G
, Jul 2022
EXCELLENT service and great staff helping in the boat.. definitely an excursion that has to be booked. Saw so many dolphins, lots of hammerhead sharks caught, and fish for everyone to catch!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
VERY COOL!!! Thank you Tiffany for taking the time to write such a rave review.
star-5
Ready, set, go
ShaMarick_B
, Jun 2022
This was by far the best fishing expedition I've ever had and experienced. It started off slow but after about hour 2 it picked up. We ended up catching a 4' hammerhead shark. I was shocked and amazed all at the same time what a wonderful experience
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
AWESOME!!! Thank you for the review. Hope to y’all again REEL soon!!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Bay Fishing South Padre Island
Likely to Sell Out
Bay Fishing South Padre Island

star-4.551

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-4.5386

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$17.00

star-550

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$460.00

star-4.511

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$490.00

star-4.543

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$269.00

star-53

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$179.42

star-33

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$134.57
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations