Recent Searches
Clear

Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa Day Trip from Thessaloniki

star-4.563 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Thessaloniki, Greece
Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa Day Trip from Thessaloniki

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Tracing the footsteps of Alexander the Great and other historical Macedonian figures can be tiring work, so savvy travelers will often schedule some downtime in Thessaloniki to rejuvenate. Instead of spending that time in a hotel or local spa, this tour offers the chance to bathe in the waters at the Loutra Pozar. Pozar's naturally warm water attracts visitors from throughout Macedonia, and this tour makes it easy to visit and bathe in a single day.
  • After soaking, enjoy a visit to Edesaa, ancient capital of Macedon
  • Escape the cold and warm your bones: the pools are warm year-round
  • Don't ruin a relaxing experience at Pozar by having to drive yourself home
  • Conveniently meet your guide in downtown Thessaloniki or at your hotel
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
English-speaking tour escort
Basic travel insurance
Entry fee for the thermal baths (€3 per person)
Towel rental (€1.5 per towel)
Lunch at the restaurant
Personal expenses
Statue of Eleftherios Venizelos , Egnatia 78, Thessaloniki 546 24, Greece

Aristotelous square and Egnatia square in front of Statue of Eleftherios Venizelos at 08:00

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • You should be at the departure points 10' before the time indicated in the schedule. The bus cannot remain at designated stops, except for boarding.
  • Our trip attendant-archaeologist shall wear clothing with the Ammon Express marking so that he/she will be recognisable easily
  • Don’t forget your swimwear and a towel/bathrobe!
  • Lockers with key are available at the area of the thermal springs so that you can store your personal belongings
  • You can rent a towel from the area. The cost is 1,50€/towel
  • There are numerous changing rooms with hairdresser for your personal care.
  • Pregnant women are not allowed to enter the hot springs
  • Be provided with the information folio of the Thermal Springs for all the advice regarding the sensitive social groups that are not allowed to make use of the Thermal Springs
  • Children under 15 years old must be accompanied by an adult
  • In summer season bear in mind to have sunglasses, sunscreen and a hat
  • Please be consistent with the exact appointment times specified by the Ammon Express escort, so that the excursion will remain unforgettable to all participants
  • Have a nice trip and an unforgettable experience!
  • Don’t forget to share pictures and comments from your experience!
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Ammon Express
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa Day Trip from Thessaloniki?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa Day Trip from Thessaloniki.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa Day Trip from Thessaloniki?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa Day Trip from Thessaloniki.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa Day Trip from Thessaloniki?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa Day Trip from Thessaloniki.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "You should try this relaxing experience at Pozar Thermal Baths if you have extra time in Thessaloniki (and have already done the Meteora tour)." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
63 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 63 reviews
star-5
Incredible experience!
Samantha_A
, Aug 2022
We booked a last minute trip with to the Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa and it could not have been easier. All of the details and instructions were clear and we were fully prepared for a day trip! We enjoyed the thermal baths where we got to relax and enjoy our time and then we explored Edessa and the waterfall which was breathtaking! We also had lunch in Edessa and the food was exquisite. Margarita was our guide for the day and she was fantastic! She kept us running on time, if not even early, so we could make the absolute most of our day and enjoy every moment. She gave us her recommendations, was well versed in the history of the cities we visited and places, and was kind and welcoming to all to ensure that we all had the perfect day. She even started the tour asking if anyone had any plans afterwards that they had to get to so she could make sure we returned right on time. Very considerate! 10/10 would recommend. Will definitely be taking this tour again and telling everyone I know about it!
star-4
It's a nice trip, but if...
Anna_K
, Aug 2022
It's a nice trip, but if you can rent a car and go by yourself, it will be much better. in tour information it says "The tour will have maximum of 19 travelers", in fact we went to Pozar in huge bus. So they didn't start the tour at 8:00 am, the bus was late from Pozar to Ednessa waterfalls as well (because in a big group someone will always be late). Anyway thank you for organizing this tour :)
star-4
Lovely relaxing day out
Nisha_R
, Aug 2022
Really nice day out. We were met by our tour guide Rita at the pick up point - which was easy to reach. The coach left on time. Rita was helpful and polite throughout the tour. She was very informative. Once you reach Pozar, Rita helped us with purchasing tickets for the Spa. (€9 for all 3 areas or €3 each for each pool). Spent 2 hours at Pozar before heading to Edessa. Edessa is beautiful. When you reach there it’s a brisk walk to see all the waterfalls. Very short stops between the waterfalls. We felt we were behind the group when stopping to take pictures and lost them at one point. Therefore ensure you take pictures quickly to keep up with the rest of the group. Would have been nice to spend an hour more at Edessa after lunch. Just to admire the surroundings and have time for a stroll on the streets close by. Once the waterfalls are done, you can have lunch at the recommended restaurant. The food and salad were exceptional quality. On the way back, my friend and I purchased an ice-cream. We reached the coach but I was not allowed on with my ice-cream. The coach driver said it would make a mess. (Bear in mind I am an adult not a child)! The coach driver was extremely rude and unpleasant in the manner he told me that I couldn’t eat the icecream on the coach. While my friend was allowed to eat in the coach. In the end I had to bin the ice cream! There were no signs to say no food allowed. (At the end of the tour Rita did apologise on his behalf). Have rated it 4 stars. Knocked off one due to how I was made to feel since the driver was extremely rude. Also felt rushed at the waterfalls. Otherwise taking into consideration the places itself - Edessa is lovely and worth spending more time there. Value for money is ok. Tips for travellers: You can leave stuff on the coach throughout the trip but keep valuables with you. Bottle of chilled water is offered on the coach - which is nice. There are toilet facilities on the coach but they are closed and not open for use.
star-4
Stunning day out
David_Z
, Aug 2022
The thermal baths were great. There’s two baths and then there’s a modern swimming pool. The three are terraced with the pool uppermost. The lower two enjoy a waterfall which I had fun standing under….the water is cool ( july ) but the best part is the force of the water rushing over you ( really strong). And the Edessa waterfall was also an amazing experience. It was a great day out 🥂 one star off because the guide coughed often and never bothered to wear a face mask. The driver made good time and quality of drive was excellent but a different route could have shaved off 30minutes. And lunch in Edessa should be added on to the cost of the trip to add to the enjoyment of the waterfall.
star-5
Amazing experience especially at Edessa Waterfalls
Andrea_C
, Aug 2022
This trip was absolutely amazing. Our guide gave us a warm welcome from the start and she was very attentive to everyone in our tour throughout the whole experience. The price for this tour is worthed considering the tour service and the travelling distance. I would definitely recommend that you visit the Thermal Baths and Edessa Waterfalls if you are in Thessaloniki. If there is 1 recommendation, I would say that it would be great if there could be an option for this tour to last 2 or 3 hours longer as the scenery was very beautiful and there is a lot to explore in these places.
star-5
Excellent experience
Anne_M
, Jun 2022
What a beautiful journey! Thermal baths were so relaxing... It wasn't crowded so had ample time in the pool.. Edessa is a very nice place and the waterfall is amazing. The tour leader Lazarous was helpful and gave us a lot information on Thessaloniki history as well as on the places we were going to visit.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you very much for your beautiful comments! We are very happy that you had a unique experience with us and together with Lazarus and magical natural views around! Edessa is one of the most beautiful cities in North Greece and of course Pozar's Hot Springs is an amazing place to relax and feel the river's positive vibes! We hope to see you again in the future for more great experiences. With kind regards, Mary Polatidou
star-4
Easy, Relaxing Day Trip from the City
Andrew_Y
, Jun 2022
Rita was a great guide making sure everyone got to where they needed to be and answered everyone’s questions. Plenty of comfortable changing rooms at the the Pixar bath locations. 2 out of the 3 pools are pretty shallow and the admission price is per pool and not for all of them. If you walk past the baths there is a nice hiking path along the stream. Edessa was a nice stop to see the waterfall and have lunch. Overall a nice relaxing trip.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for your kind feedback. All we, in Ammon Express, provide you with unique experiences. We will gladly provide you with our services again in the future. Kind regards, Mary Polatidou
star-5
Yannis is amazing! Lovely day, definitely recommend!
Sabena_A
, Jun 2022
Wonderful trip! We loved this tour! Yannis was an exceptional guide. Very informative, patient and always willing to answer questions. This is not your typical "stick together" 24/7 tour, which is why we loved it so much! We learned a lot along the bus ride and when we would get to a point of interest we'd be given the history and lovely stories of the area, then we'd have TONS of free time to explore on our own! Thank you Yannis for an awesome day!! PS: Great music playlist on the bus. :)
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great experience you had with us. We are very glad that our trip met your expectations. We will transfer your beautiful words to Yiannis as soon as possible. We hope to host you again in the future for more great experiences with Ammon Express. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
star-5
A Perfect Day Out
Sandralee_K
, Jun 2022
After your dip in the natural pool take a stroll through the forest to the gorge- it’s worth it! The waterfalls are a salute to the power of nature and don’t overlook the cave. Lovely to have lunch with a glorious view.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are happy that you had a wonderful time on your trip to Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa's Waterfalls. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
star-5
It was a very well spent day.
Bjrn_E
, May 2022
Our guide was a good driver, very talkative and had great historical and cultural knowledge. The baths are very relaxing and edessa is a super nice town to visit. It was a very well spent day.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your trip to Edessa and Pozar Thermal Baths with Ammon Express. We are very glad that you had such a great time with our escort and that your day was a day well spent. We really hope to have a chance to welcome you again in the future for more great experiences. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
star-5
Outstanding Trip and Guide
JeffTodd_R
, Apr 2022
Our guide George was amazing and made our trip so memorable. Everything was just perfect and highly recommend this trip.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Jeff, Greetings from Ammon Express. Thank you for your excellent review of our trip to Edessa plus Pozar. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with George and that he made your trip memorable. Once again, thank you for your excellent review and we are all looking forward to welcoming you again soon. With Best Regards, Mary Polatidou
star-5
Really nice place to relax
Elena_V
, Apr 2022
The baths are really nice, worth a visit. Our tour guide Helen was very friendly and helpful and encouraged us to try local shops and the spa. Great experience overall
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Elena, Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are glad that you enjoyed your day trip to Pozar and Edessa. Helen is indeed a very friendly and helpful escort. We will transfer to her your kind words as soon as possible. We wish to see you again in the future Best regards, Mary Polatidou
star-5
great time!
Sarah_S
, Feb 2022
So much fun, woke up early and met the tour guide got some nice information in the beginning of the ride then napped the rest of the way! once we got there it was so much fun and the tour guide was so sweet and enthusiastic 10/10 recommend!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your trip to the thermal baths of Pozar and Edessa. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Mary Polatidou
star-3
A good experience, but...
Jorge_D
, Oct 2021
The baths are in a pretty place, with warm water and it's great to relax. There was no waterfall in Edessa at that moment, and I think that people should be warned before booking, or given other attraction. I had a massage at Pozar at a discount (15e for 30 mins) and it was nice. The restaurant was average. The experience is worth it because of the relaxation it gives.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Dear Jorge, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are happy that you had a good time at Pozar. We are sorry to hear that the day of your visit there was no waterfall to see. We hope to see you again in one of your future visits to Greece.
star-4
Pozar was excellent and...
David_C
, Sep 2021
Pozar was excellent and Edessa is a beautiful place. Unfortunately the waterfalls were dry due to some maintenance. A bit disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Dear David, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you had a great time at Pozar. We are sorry you were not able to see the waterfalls. Maybe on your next trip to Greece. We would be glad to see you again in the future.
star-5
A trip well worth it
Seamus_B
, Jul 2021
The waterfall and of course the baths The guide was always helpful. The journey was pleasant and did not pass as slow as we thought.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
heven on earth
taltal
, Nov 2020
the best place ever........dont miss it!!! the guide came on time and told us a nice stories simply heven
icon Response from Host , Nov 2020
Dear taltal thanks a lot for your review! Your recommendation describes perfectly the unique experience you had with us! Indeed Pozar and Edessa is a special combination of Greek nature and culture! "Must visit" destinations as you mention and we are happy that we had the chance to show you around! Our tour escorts are "equipped" with many wonderful and interesting stories; special knowledge that always makes the difference :) . We hope to see you again in the future either in Thessaloniki or Athens!
star-4
Relaxing experience just outside Thessaloniki!
SeanRyan_A
, Feb 2020
You should try this relaxing experience at Pozar Thermal Baths if you have extra time in Thessaloniki (and have already done the Meteora tour). The trip is not that long. The only disadvantage is that the services available at the first natural thermal bath are not well organised (for example lockers not working properly) - this is obviously not the fault of the tour organiser.
star-4
Nice daily trip from the city
Max K
, Nov 2019
The trip was really good. The communication with the tour company was easy. The pick up was on time. Pozar bath is a great relaxing experience, highly recommended during the cold season. Edessa falls are impressive. Our guide was very nice and gave us lots of information. Things to improve... The company took 10 visitors in quite and old minibus. The seating during the drive was not as comfortable as I would expect. Also, the part in Edessa town wasn't really well arranged, and we had to look for a passenger who "got lost" since did not get back to the car on time. Overall, and good and recommended experience.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
It was once in life time kind of experince
Dreamer64397767136
, Oct 2019
I cannot stress how amazing this trip was. I am so glad I decided to go with Viator. What an amazing tour guide and even the owner was just as great. Helena the tour guide was impeccable. It is a must see kind of place. I have told everyone to visit back in England.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa Day Trip from Thessaloniki
Pozar Thermal Baths and Edessa Day Trip from Thessaloniki

star-4.556

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.35

star-4.5153

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.56

star-51

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$130.34

star-51

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$145.98

star-4.543

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.35

star-3.53

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$145.98

star-54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.35

star-4.511

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$67.78

star-00

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.14
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations