Recent Searches
Clear

Snowmobiling Experience on Mýrdalsjökull Glacier

star-4.517 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Vik, Iceland
Snowmobiling Experience on Mýrdalsjökull Glacier

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

If you've already done the typical sightseeing tours of South Iceland, embark on a unique adventure that will give you a brand new perspective. Journey to the ice cap of Mýrdalsjökull glacier, which covers Katla, one of Iceland’s largest volcanoes, and jump aboard a snowmobile for a thrilling experience driving around the ice cap and excellent views over South Iceland.
  • Unique glacier snowmobiling experience in South Iceland
  • Learn all about your surroundings from your guide
  • Great photo opportunities and views over South Iceland
  • Maximum group size of 15 people ensures a crowd-free experience
Saved to wishlist!
English speaking guide
Snowmobile (can take up to two persons)
Insulated cover-all
Helmet
Snowmobile balaclava face mask
Round-trip transportation from the base to the glacier
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Single supplement to have your own snowmobile for the tour
Arcanum Adventure Tours - Mýrdalsjökull Base Camp , Vik, Iceland

Please be at our location 30 minutes before the start of the tour. Our main base is Ytri-Sólheimar 1 in Mýrdalur about 25km west of Vík and about 11km east of Skógar. From Reykjavík there is about 160km and the driving time is about 2hours. From the main road is 1.2km drive by road 222 to our base.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please be at location 30 minutes before departure
  • Operates in cold weather conditions, please wear warm clothing
  • Not recommended for child aged 8 and under
  • A valid driver's license is required to drive the snowmobile
  • Most travelers can participate
  • IMPORTANT: Single riders and groups with odd numbers are required to book a single ride Snowmobile, payable on location only.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Icelandic Mountain Guides
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Snowmobiling Experience on Mýrdalsjökull Glacier?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Snowmobiling Experience on Mýrdalsjökull Glacier.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Snowmobiling Experience on Mýrdalsjökull Glacier?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Snowmobiling Experience on Mýrdalsjökull Glacier.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
17 Reviews
3 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews
star-5
Worth it
Lara_P
, Jul 2022
Great experience. Fun snowmobiling and great guide who told us about the glaciers and volcanos of the area.
star-5
Great for the whole family!
Anonymous
, Jun 2022
Fantastic views and a sunny day once we got up on the glacier!!! One thing about the weather around Vik—it can change in a matter of minutes!!!! We had rain on the rocky trip to the snowmobiling. The suits and boots provided keep you warm and dry no matter what. Everyone in our group was good and so we went pretty fast!! We also just traded drivers rather than paying extra for our own snowmobiles..
star-5
I recommend!
Sheliah_B
, Jun 2022
We had a great time. The staff did a great job! My only recommendation would be for novice snowmobilers to know that driving a snowmobile is not that easy on the first try. Falling off the snowmobile is not uncommon, and we just did not know that until we actually fell over. Lol! While we had a great time, I believe my spouse and I needed a little more experience driving the snowmobile before going up the glacier. That is not a reflection of the company or staff, but more of our lack of knowledge regarding how to operate a snowmobile. But it was an experience of a lifetime that I am grateful for!!!
star-5
A great glacier experience
Aamer_J
, Jun 2022
We had a good time. Felt very safe. The tour could have/should have been longer but we had some slower people in the group and I think the weather was coming in.
star-2
Unless it is fine weather on the glacier, I wouldn't waste your money
Stephen_H
, May 2022
I do not feel that the experience should have gone ahead since it was a total whiteout only a quarter of the way ups the glacier with virtually no visibility. We were at the back of about 6 snow mobiles and my husband is a proficient rider but the conditions were bad and we fell off, each of us in pain the following day. There was no view at the top and the winds were almost knocking us all over right next to a 400ft drop. It was much better after the fall since we were behind the guide and followed in his tracks not the tracks made my other riders which were all over the place making banks of show. Upon return, it would have been nice if the guides had checked that we were OK but nothing was said. Overall, good way to make money for an experience that people could not enjoy. Terrible.
star-4
Great trip, even with the snails
Chad_H
, May 2022
Breathtaking views and awesome experience getting to ride the snowmobiles up to view the glacier. My only feedback and reason for not giving 5 stars would be to consider choosing the line order or splitting the groups into “slow” and “not slow” lanes. Some riders seemed very very timid and drove at a snails pace meaning everyone behind had to go very slow as well. There were mult times I had to stop completely to wait for those in front to move along. This took away some of the fun and feeling of adventure, but the experience was still very cool.
star-5
Best Tour Ever!
Michael_H
, May 2022
Amazing experience, the guides are amazing and entertaining! Would love to do this all over again! A very special thank you to all the guides, they made the experience enjoyable and safe!
star-5
Do this!!!
Jill_W
, Apr 2022
Could not recommend this experience more! From beginning to end, fantastic!!! Professional staff, great equipment, incredible views… just perfect!
star-5
Epic!!!!!!!!
Sandra_S
, Apr 2022
Everything about this trip was amazing. The guides. The journey up to the snowmobiles. The weather was on our side too and riding the snowmobile was epic. Not forgetting the chance to stand on a glacier covering an active volcano. Strongly recommend. Worth every penny and ticked off several of my bucket list items in one hit 😀
star-5
Don’t miss this!
Babs_L
, Apr 2022
Lukas was our guide and did a great job. The only down part was that we wanted to go again as soon as it was over. Don’t miss this!
star-5
What a fantastic experience!
LYNN_M
, Apr 2022
What a great trip-possibly the highlight of our trip to Iceland. We had Lukas as our guide- he was great and was really informative when we stopped each time. We were so lucky with the weather-we were above the clouds and the scenery was stunning. The glacier was huge so we were able to go really fast! The equipment we were provided with was of really good quality. A great day and one we’ll never forget!
star-5
WHAT AN EXPERIENCE!
Jessica_K
, Jan 2022
WHAT AN EXPERIENCE! I like to consider myself as well travelled, and this was by far the best thing both myself and my partner have ever done. The team make you feel super safe and relaxed. They provide you with a big snow suit, helmet and also snow boots if you need them. You get so much time on the glacier driving around too, I was shocked at just how much. One guide drives in front of the group and another behind to make sure everyone is safe which was great. The views from up there and the thrill of driving/being driven around on the back are undesirable! THIS IS A MUST ON YOUR ICELAND ADVENTURE!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Very unaccommodating - down right rude
James_M
, Oct 2021
Rather than accommodate a delayed arrival with a quick jumper, helmet and goggles the operator rushed to pull out of the lot 5-minutes before the planned departure
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write to us. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to provide the experience you were expecting. We ask all our customers to be at our meeting point, 30 minutes before departure, to be fitted with the necessary gear for the tour. The tour operator needs to stay on schedule. However, delays can happen, and we should do our best to accommodate that if at all possible while departing for the tour on schedule. If that was not the case, I apologize for the inconvenience, and we will take this opportunity to improve our service.
star-5
Great fun on top of Katla
Robert_T
, Oct 2021
The snowmobile ride on the glacier was one of our favorite parts of our trip to Iceland so far. We did the 2:30 PM trip with Simion from the base camp near Vik. It was my wife & I riding one snowmobile (me driving). It started with signing in and getting geared up. They gave us snowmobile suits, gloves, a barclava, & a helmet. We used our own hiking boots. I always get a little concerned on these types of excursions because I am a 3xl American guy and I often have trouble finding gear that fits when THEY supply it, but the 2xl snowsuit actually fit quite well. Next we took the trip up to get to the snowmobiles which was quite fun-we all boarded a large all terrain bus type of vehicle and headed up to the glacial area. It was about a half hour ride and quite scenic as Simion guided the bus through some rough terrain. At the snowmobile spot, we were given a tutorial by Simion on the basic snowmobile controls (On/Off, Kill, gas, brake in addition to principles of “weight shifting” going into the turns, etc. After 5 minutes of that we were off. First part of the ride was very slushy and watery. Most of the trip was also very snowy with poor visibility due to fog and snowy-windy conditions but it was still a lot of fun. Simion was excellent as a guide, and vey good at making sure everyone had a safe enjoyable trip. I would definitely recommend the excursion and also maybe perhaps you will have better weather than we did too.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing thrilling...
Amy_O
, Oct 2021
Amazing thrilling snowmobile ride, far wilder than we expected! Lucas was our guide and he was fantastic!! Opportunity to stop halfway and take some photos / videos which are wild!
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Snowmobiling Experience on Mýrdalsjökull Glacier
Snowmobiling Experience on Mýrdalsjökull Glacier

star-4.517

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$211.00

star-5303

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.04

star-516

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$268.11

star-5128

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$98.00

star-557

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$265.01

star-4.511

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$156.00

star-532

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$249.11

star-512

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$131.00

star-521

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$265.01
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations