Recent Searches
Clear

Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC

star-3.534 Reviews
|
Washington, United States
Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Visit George Washington’s historic home and estate with a 6-hour tour of Mount Vernon from Washington, D.C. Get a glimpse of the President’s life and work as you explore an elegant mansion furnished with period antiques and Washington’s personal belongings. Browse education exhibits at the onsite museum, and visit the tomb where George and Martha Washington were buried. Learn about the legacy of slavery at Mount Vernon in the slaves’ quarters, then tour the beautifully landscaped gardens and grounds before returning to D.C.
  • 6-hour tour of Mount Vernon from D.C.
  • Explore the mansion, museum and grounds
  • Step back in time with a history tour
  • Learn about George Washington's life and presidency
  • Enjoy the personal experience of a small-group tour
  • Exclusive to Viator
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Live commentary on board from a professional guide
Transport by air-conditioned coach/minivan
Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
DVD (available to purchase)
Food and drinks

Departure Point

400 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington, DC 20001, USA

The sidewalk of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill.

Departure Time

11:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers
  • OPERATED BY all washington view llc.

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC.

Traveler Tips


  • "The time of year was perfect too, as it was not too hot or crowded." See review
  • "Pick up/drop off at our hotel was a nice treat." See review

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
34 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews
star-3
Not worth the money
HarrietToombs
, Sep 2021
We did not get our money's worth. The grounds at My Vernon were very interesting and the tour of the Mansion was good. The drivers were so so. On the return trip the driver answered his cell phone a number of times while driving. Since we sat directly behind him we observed him looking down at his phone then looking at traffic, back and forth over and over.. Dangerous. As I've looked at the reviews there are a number of people with complaints about the drivers. Why does this behavior continue? Also had to endure the tasteless political "jokes".
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Joe was a good tour...
Lisa_R
, Sep 2021
Joe was a good tour guide. Bobby was 15 minutes late. Was very rude when someone asked him a question. Told inappropriate jokes, and did not stop at the church in Old Town on the way back.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks for your honesty, we appreciate your concerns and we shall improve and make sure this never occurs again. Thanks for your business and review.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
The drivers were...
Victoria_M
, Sep 2021
The drivers were knowledgeable and provided a great tour, despite the Church being closed during the summer. Highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you,we really appreciate your business.
star-5
Good experience!
Danielle_H
, Sep 2021
This tour was a little different in that we had a wonderful driver(we were a group of 12) who gave us lots of information during our drive through Alexandria and on to MT. Vernon. Then JOE, our driver, dropped us off at Mt. Vernon and came back to pick us up later in the day. We had plenty of time at Mt. Vernon but other than the mansion the rest of the tour was self-guided. The signs and information were excellent but you definitely had to plan your visit well to see everything. Our guide of the mansion was excellent- very informative and lots of inside stories and good humor. On our way back to DC, Joe stopped in Alexandria so we could visit ChristChurch and we were fortunate enough to find a volunteer there who gave us an excellent tour. Good day!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks for your business and review.
star-5
Wonderful
Stephanie_S
, Sep 2021
Very good tour. Loved the house and the grounds were amazing. It has been a long time dream of mine to see this and now I have.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks for your review.
star-4
Beautiful grounds
john_m
, Aug 2021
The mansion tour itself was far too fast to be able to see even all the rooms. I would be hard press to recommend it
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We don’t control what happens @Mt vernon but thanks for your business and review
star-2
Very disappointed
vsmith01
, Aug 2021
We absolutely loved Mt. Vernon even though it was self guided from drop off until pick up. We basically got a ride there. The tour driver didn't stop at Christ's church like they were supposed to. I understand that they were closed, but we could have stopped so we could of seen the outside of the church and taken pics. Driver gave out more personal information than we cared to hear. The driver, as well as a passenger from Texas did not wear a mask in the van which was displeasing. Rules applied for some, but not all. Glad we got to Mt. Vernon, but won't book with this company again. Very disappointed for the price paid.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Sorry about your experience we strive to please,the driver in question has since been suspended.
star-4
Overall, it's a pretty good tour. The bus driver, Bob, was a blast!
Valerie_N
, Aug 2021
Overall, it was a very well organized tour with many beautiful things to see, but we ran short of time. Also, a rest room and refreshment stand with a few benches closer to the waiting area for the mansion tour would be a much more convenient spot.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thanks for your business and review
star-5
Mt. Vernon and Christ Church
Leticia_D
, Jul 2021
The shared historical facts were great. More is always better! It would have been nicer to go inside the Christ Church.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thanks for your review and business
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
My Vernon
Nancy_E
, Jul 2021
A another hour at Mt Vernon should be added to this excursion. Not enough time. Our driver was awesome!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thanks for your business
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC
Likely to Sell Out
Mount Vernon Day Tour from Washington DC

star-3.534

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$86.10

star-511

7 hours 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$125.00

star-51

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-4286

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$81.17

star-431

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-4.536

4 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

Explore Similar Things to Do