Recent Searches
Clear
1 day Yosemite and Giant Sequoia Tour from Groveland

1 day Yosemite and Giant Sequoia Tour from Groveland

|
Groveland, United States
Safety measures
icon7 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 9 more
Safety measures
icon7 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 9 more

Don’t worry—here are some similar options

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Safety measures
icon7 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 9 more

Overview

On this full-day tour of Yosemite from Groveland, you can spend a relaxed day inside the park without the stress of traffic jams, shuttles, or endless searching for a parking spot. After convenient hotel pickup, head straight for highlights like the giant sequoias at Tuolumne Grove, Yosemite Valley, El Capitan, and the Merced River. Listen to insightful commentary about the park in between stops where you can get out and explore Yosemite’s natural wonders.
  • Explore Yosemite without the need to drive or reserve a vehicle pass
  • Guide removes the guesswork about where to go and how to get there
  • Learn about the park’s ancient history and highlights
  • Includes round-trip transport from Groveland hotels
Saved to wishlist!
Expert Guide and Commentary
Hotel pick-up and drop-off
Gratuities
Food and Drink
Child safety seat for children under 8 years old or 4' 9" (1.4 meters) required
18930 Main St , 18930 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321, USA

Parking lot next to the Groveland Fire Department

9:45 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Access to the Sequoia Grove can be difficult during winter months, generally October through April, and other activities may be substituted at the discretion of the guide
  • During winter months, temperatures in Yosemite can vary drastically to the ones in San Francisco. Therefore, it is recommend to wear winter clothes, especially shoes or boots with rubber soles and treads
  • California law requires tour guests to bring a car safety seat for all children under 8 years and under 4' 9" (1.4 meters) in height. Any guest that does not provide their child's safety seat at the time of the tour and does not inform the tour operator may not be allowed to board the tour and will not be subject to refund.
  • As tour sizes vary, transportation is in a 13-passenger van or a 41-passenger tour bus
  • Audio links are available in Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, French, German, Korean, Chinese and Japanese. Specify language at time of booking under special requirements.
  • The Giant Sequoias Grove is located at a higher elevation and the hike is dependent on trail conditions, especially from October through May. Ice and snow might make the trail unsafe to hike. The decision of whether it is safe to go on the hike will be made on a day by day basis. Therefore, a visit cannot be guaranteed. However, while the trail might be closed, guests get to spend more time in Yosemite Valley. There you can see all the other great sights Yosemite has to offer, including El Capitan, Inspiration Point, Half Dome, Yosemite Falls and more.
  • Exact destinations & itinerary may differ due to weather, road conditions, and your guide's discretion.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 41 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Extranomical Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during 1 day Yosemite and Giant Sequoia Tour from Groveland?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by 1 day Yosemite and Giant Sequoia Tour from Groveland.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during 1 day Yosemite and Giant Sequoia Tour from Groveland?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by 1 day Yosemite and Giant Sequoia Tour from Groveland.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during 1 day Yosemite and Giant Sequoia Tour from Groveland?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by 1 day Yosemite and Giant Sequoia Tour from Groveland.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
37 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews
star-3
Park is amazing - but tour was just ‘ok’
Simon_H
, Jul 2022
Obviously the Yosemite National Park is amazing and there’s something to see round every corner. We had two days in the park - the first on this organised tour and the second making our own way in on the YART bus and using the free shuttles. Have to be honest and say that we enjoyed the day which we organised ourselves more. Joining the Extranomical Tours bus at Groveland meant we were the last people on (everyone else had got on at San Francisco) and as a result we had to take the four spare seats that were available scattered through the bus - rather than being sat together. This was disappointing since I’d messaged the operator in advance and explained we were two adults and two teenagers travelling together and it would be nice to at least be sat in pairs. We were picked up half an hour later than our scheduled time. To be fair to the company they did try and contact us with an update but the pick up location had no mobile signal so we were in the dark wondering if we’d been forgotten. The first stop at the sequoia grove was a real rush. The guide explained it was a steep slope and that an experienced walker would take an hour - but the extra 10 mins we were given as amateurs (and tourists who wanted to take their time and photos along the way) made for a rushed sprint. Photo stops at Tunnel View, El Capitan and Valley View were great and something that would have proved more challenging when seeing the parks via YARTs and the free shuttle. The tour bus felt old, cranky and, on a hot day, poorly air conditioned. It was a far less comfortable ride (at a significantly higher cost) than the public YART coaches we used the following day. The guide’s commentary was good and informative - he provided context and background to the sights we were passing.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for taking the time to review your Yosemite Park tour. We hear you on reserving seats together for our Groveland passengers and are implementing that in our procedures going forward. We're not sure we understand you comments about the Tuolumne Grove of Giant Sequoias hike. If you have time, please call our office at (415) 357-0700 so we can better understand what occurred. Travel well and come tour with us again soon.
star-5
Able to see amazing views despite the fire nearby
Eilly_H
, Jul 2022
Even though there’s a fire nearby and the air quality is not too good, our driver/guide did his best to show us the park. He’s also good with helping to make sure target schedule is met. We had a good time.
star-5
Perfect tour for one day adventure!
Michael_M
, May 2022
I loved the tour and the time we were able to spend at several places. Ross was very knowledgeable, informative and funny. The only downside is he drives a little too fast! My husband and I kept getting thrown on each other at the back of the bus!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for joining our Yosemite tour from Groveland. Ross enjoyed having you. We hope you can join us on another tour during your next visit.
star-5
Trip of a lifetime
Patricia_W
, May 2022
This tour was one of our best ever! Denise was an amazing guide and provided so much information on the park and it’s history. She brought the human side alive! She was kind, gave us all the information we needed before going on our own and truly went above and beyond. Just a fabulous day!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Great to hear you had a "fabulous day"! That's our goal on every tour. Thanks and let's do another tour soon.
star-3
Disappointing Tour
Hillery_M
, May 2022
We were disappointed with the Yosemite bus tour. We started late— waited over 30 minutes for the bus to come. Our driver was difficult to understand and didn’t provide a cohesive story about the area and it’s history. We could have driven around the park in a rental car and done more, seen more and learned more.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
There was clearly some confusion about the pick up time since our GPS records show that the bus was at the location across from the Groveland Hotel within the 5 minutes of the scheduled time. You do make a good point for others that some of the story telling about Yosemite and Gold Country region is given before the Groveland stop and not repeated as we are entering the park. We will instruct our drivers in the future to do a little "sidebar" with guests that join the tour just outside the park (instead of San Francisco). Take care and travel well.
star-3
Lost time due to lateness!
Greg_W
, May 2022
Inspiration Point, Least was waiting almost an hour for someone who did not listen and kept us waiting at the Sequoia tree grove. Our guide, Gino told everyone and posted a return time so we could stay on track and get our full paid time touring. I feel that this persons selfishness cost me time and that time was paid for my wife and I. The whole busload felt the same way and felt cheated not through the fault of the driver or the tour company but I feel that the tour company had some culpability. We all felt that the driver, Gino, should have left this person and they could have been picked up by the company. I feel we should get some compensation.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
We sincerely apologize on behalf of the guest who ignored Gino's instructions and those on our tour description about the time at the sequoia grove. We were aware of the situation and instructed Gino to allow extra time in the Valley, so you still got to enjoy 5 hours in the park...I hope you did! If you are not satisfied, please contact our Guest Services office at (415) 357-0700. We will put things right.
star-5
Great intro to Yosemite
Paul_F
, May 2022
Bus driver was excellent, collected within a few mons of the time frame at Groveland, some going as they travelled from San Francisco! Informative and an excellent way to see the highlights of Yosemite. Would recommend for anyone who does not know the area.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
That is very kind of you! Thanks for joining us in Groveland and please come again soon!
star-5
Ross made a wonderful tour even better.
Linda_J
, Apr 2022
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip into Yosemite. And our guide, Ross, was one of the highlights of our tour. He obviously loves the park and shared his enthusiasm with us.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
You're right. Ross loves sharing Yosemite with visitors. What a special place. Glad you enjoyed yourself!
star-5
Great Highlight Trip!
Eunice_A
, Apr 2022
Wonderful trip. Got to see all the highlights of Yosemite in a fraction of the time it would take on our own. Love it!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks for joining us on our Yosemite National Park tour. Let us know next time you are in the city so we can go to another destination.
star-1
Was given a place to be...
Alicia_A
, Oct 2021
Was given a place to be pick up and the address wasn’t correct. Late to pick up and then beeped at us to hurry up. Driver a little aggressive with smaller cars. The AC vent was dirty. The “stops/ pass by” we’re not the same as what was promoted online. We did not get the same amount of time in these stops. Spent more time sitting on a bus than actually sightseeing/exploring. Dropped off at one stop with no idea which way to go, what was available to see. Ended up spending most of two hours lost trying to find a good direction to go.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
We are sorry to hear that the tour did not meet your expectations. Please call our guest services team so we can make good on our Satisfaction Guarantee.
star-1
AVOID THIS TOUR
Natalie_G
, Oct 2021
I will be seeking a partial refund. But I am EXTREMELY disappointed with this tour. First, I receive a text at 6:20 am that the tour bus will be 10 - 15 minutes late for our 9:45 am tour to Yosemite. Then at 10:00 am, no bus is still there. I text back the number at 10:15 am for an ETA. They said maybe 15 more minutes. 10:30 am arrives- STILL NO BUS. I then call the phone number and they said they will call the driver. Finally, at 10:45 am, an hour later, the bus shows up. And the tour guide doesn't even apologize. We came all the way from LA. Then it gets worse. She drives very fast and dangerous, probably to make up for time. Her mic doesn't work well so we couldn't hear anything she had to say. She even had the nerve to say, direct quote "I was going to talk about the trees but don't feel like yelling since the mic doesn't work, so I am not going to talk about them". She rushes each stop- only gave us 10 - 15 minutes to look at El Capitan and another location, she blamed the weather. Then we don't even stop at the last location where there is suppose to be a small lake because other people on the bus didn't want to, like hey we paid a pretty penny for the tour. I was better off driving myself so I didn't feel rushed just because she was late.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Sometimes we fall short. Your Goverland, CA pickup location is 3.5 hours from San Francisco and we encountered a bad accident on the way that delayed our tour. We are very sorry that you had to wait and that the day seemed rushed. We have already issued you a refund. Regarding fast driving, we have sensors on all of the vehicles to monitor speed and driving practices and can verify that your guide never exceeded 5 miles UNDER the limit. Nevertheless, we apologize.
star-5
Great tour with a great guide!
Zeline_D
, Sep 2021
Denise your guide was wonderful! The views were incredible. Going with a guide adds to the experience.
star-2
tour guide rude
pureza_m
, Sep 2021
sites were amazing. tour was great except the driver was so rude and disrespectful. masks were worn but only mouths were coveref ny some, so it defeatd the purpose.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Our Expedition Leaders have emphasized and enforced mask-wearing and distancing from the early days of COVID and we are as disappointed as you when someone does not comply. Thankfully, this is very rare. Thanks for the review.
star-4
Yosemite
Gretchen_K
, Sep 2021
Amazing views! Gino knew all the secret spots for the best pictures! Gino was very informative and we enjoyed all the stories he shared with us
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Gino enjoyed having you. Let us know the next time you are in SF.
star-5
Beautiful and Historical
Bob_W
, Sep 2021
Great tour guide. Loved getting the history. El Capitan was beautiful! Meadows and trees were amazing.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Yosemite in the fall is very special...changing colors, clear air, uncrowded...just great. Glad you hear you had a great time!
star-5
Denise made it a wonderful tour!
Diane_B
, Aug 2021
Denise was an absolutely wonderful driver and story teller. She took us to some gorgeous places and showed us the highlights. She was very dedicated to us having a great time. She gave us lots of advice on where to go and what to do as well. She made it a very memorable trip for us. I highly recommend her.
star-5
The greatest- I would stay at the Air B and B I Groveland again.
James-B-Bickley
, Jul 2021
Most important was the airB and B in Groveland, CA. It was so graciously prepared with many extras. The place was very clean. It was close to a beautiful Lake, with jet skies, KyateE, boat rentals etc. Loved the 8 hr Tour they picked us up in Groveland. It was awesome my whole family enjoyed it. Disappointed the Sunset hike was canceled. The Hollywood tour was also very enjoyable and fascinating . Thank you
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Good to hear that this special pickup in Groveland (just outside the Yosemite gate) worked out for you. Hope we can do it again soon.
star-5
Driver Roman is Wonderful
Doug_S
, Jul 2021
Roman was funny, informative, friendly and customer-focused. What we like about Viator is knowing that the tour will be well-done.
star-5
Great experience
Brian_C
, Jun 2021
Great tour! I would highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting to check out Yosetime Park....affordable and the driver was great
star-5
Excellent tour!
Darian_I
, May 2021
The guide was great! We saw all of the spots that we were most interested in! So glad we chose to do this tour!
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Your first time in Yosemite? What a delight that we could host you! Hope we see you again soon on another tour.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
1 day Yosemite and Giant Sequoia Tour from Groveland
1 day Yosemite and Giant Sequoia Tour from Groveland

star-437

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$129.00

star-51

5 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$139.00

star-3.510

7 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$99.00

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$125.00

star-55

6 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$250.00

star-41

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$300.00

star-00

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$300.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations